We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BUsiness Hotel”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Rooms are better than comfortable; staff is efficient and helpful; food is good; nothing to dislike!
This is a large hotel and I stayed midweek when it seemed relatively quiet. It's in a good location, especially if you want to squeeze in a quick visit to the Acropolis site and original Olympic stadium (you can even run a lap). Breakfast provides a mighty selection of anything you could wish for - fruit, cereals, meat (hot and cold), cheeses, breads, yogurts, cooked items, traditional Greek foods and new-world specialities. Business rooms are good and dealing with staff on set-ups, connections etc. was easy. It is a pity that this hotel charges quite a lot for WIFI access - surely hotels should now be offering this free as standard!!

The hotel is about 20 minutes (not rush hour) from the airport. If you have a spare hour or two, get a taxi to the Acropolis site, spend 45 - 60 mins there and then walk down the hill towards the new Acropolis museum (you'll love his if you like walking on glass floors). After leaving the museum walk back towards the Hilton (don't worry it's an easy walk) and you will pass by the stadium where the first modern Olympic games were held in 1896. This is certainly worth a visit and well worth the 3 Euro fee. The Hilton hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the stadium.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublinfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure to pass on your positive feedback to our colleagues. Reviews such as yours motivate us to continue striving for only the very best service.

Do hope to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,330 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, ever-helpful and concerned for the quality of our part business/part holiday stay, the Athens Hilton may just have become my favourite hotel.
With a balcony view of the Acropolis, this hotel is worth every single penny, Euro or dollar.
Recommended without hesitation - an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Many thanks indeed for recommending us to other future guests/visitors.

Look forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I liked it because: The Hilton Athens is conveniently located near a metro station which provides quick and easy access to most of the sights in Athens. For when the metro is not operating (strikes) things are still within a reasonable walking distance. Relatively good value (by European standards). Great food at the Galaxy Bar/Lounge (and great view of the Acropolis as the restaurant is on top floor level). Staff (bell staff, front desk) is very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room and bed. Good size bathroom. Standard Hilton amenities. Complimentary Wi-Fi (Diamond member) was easy to setup and overall speed was good. The executive lounge offers nice views and is big enough to accommodate the morning crowd (I came in too late to experience the evening service). Staff in the executive lounge very friendly and were great at offering a few suggestions of things to do in the city with your free time! Complimentary welcome snack and half-bottle of red wine (most likely as a result of being a Diamond member or having been upgraded to Exec. Floor)

What could be improved: Nothing was really missing but I was a bit disappointed in the food offering(restaurant and snack). The food quality is top notch, but it did lack that local influence. Let's just say that you knew you where in a "US-based hotel chain". The executive lounge breakfast offered the standard variety of hot and cold items. Again, quality was top notch but the diversity of the offering was average.

Other information: The hotel offers a fixed rate pick-up/drop off service to/from the airport. although slightly more expensive than the standard metered or fixed rate from the airport, I would recommend getting the services of a reputable driver endorsed by the Hilton. If it is obvious that you are not from Greece, some of the drivers that I had to deal with were being less than honest (not enough change, attempting to overcharge...). Good (standard) treatment for Diamond members (upgrade to Executive floor, complimentary wifi)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton hotel during your recent visit to Athens.

I am happy to learn that you had a really nice stay here and you were particularly satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff, the food quality, the convenient location.

We will take into consideration your comments about the local influence in food that you missed. Thank you for having brought this to our attention.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip.

On arrival Check-In left a lot to be desired. I arrived on a coach with 30 other people and the hotel only had 3 people serving on the front desk. Took 35 mins to get checked in. Staff seemed really annoyed to have to deal with guests - a theme that carried on throughout the week.

I was very happy with my room, which was of a nice size; it had a wooden panel floor, double bed, small sofa, bathroom with bath, shower and w/c, sliding cupboard, work desk and tv, safe, kettle & coffee sachets. But the view from my room was of the main road out the front. The only downside was that the mirror in the bathroom is edged with lights that don't turn off with the rest of the other bathroom lights. The apparent solution is to pull a curtain across to block the light from the bathroom!

Also, my safe door wouldn't lock. When I asked reception about this, I was told to go to my room and report it by phone.

The in-room mini-bar prices were unbelievable e.g. tube of Pringles (Euro 13.50), 35g tube of Smarties (Euro 7.00). It was far cheaper to go outside and find one of the little street kiosks for drinks and snacks e.g. 7.50 Euro for small bottle of Evian that you could buy outside for under a Euro.

Breakfast was held in the Byzantino restaurant, a large open plan area set in a rotunda. Food on offer was very extensive and included Japanese and vegetarian, as well as both western European and American items, both hot and cold. The quality of all the dishes was very good.

The Galaxy rooftop bar is a really nice place to go for a drink (with a view of the Acropolis), but it is rather expensive!

There are great restaurants within walking distance, so you are not stuck with the expensive Hilton restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nozza_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens for your stay and for taking the time to review your experience with us.

We have noted that you were satisfied with your room and its amenities. In reference to the bathroom mirror lights, you may had not noticed that there is a switch in order to turn on/off the mirror's lights.

Regarding the service provided by our Reception team, your valuable points have been taken into consideration. Please rest assured that the relevant actions will be taken in order to make sure that the Front Desk service corresponds with the Hilton standards. As for some of our prices that you found high, these are in line with other deluxe hotels in Athens.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here on a 3 night city break. We had a room on the executive floor, which was spacious, clean and bright, with its own balcony and a great view of the Acropolis. The bed was really comfy, and there were spare pillows in the room. The facilities in the exec lounge were fantastic, and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a 15 min easy walk from Acropolis Hill, and there are plenty of nice places to eat and drink within walking ditance. The Hilton's Galaxy rooftop bar is a really nice place to go for a drink, but it is rather expensive!

Room Tip: Go for an exec room if you can, or ask for a higher floor on the Acropolis side. Make sure you reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty-Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and were satisfied with our staff, services and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned to a very cold London from sunny Athens and can't wait to visit Greece again. We stayed for 3 nights. In our view, the Hilton's greatest asset is its delightful staff who ensured that our stay was a very pleasant one. We were upgraded to a room with an Acropolis view which we appreciated and enjoyed. The room itself was modern in style which we prefer, rather than traditional like the Grande Bretagne. It was, however, tired: the wood flooring was worn and the decorative condition fair, rather than good. The white marble bathroom was fine. The breakfast was very good. We ate in the restaurant attached to the Galaxy Bar once. The food was reasonable but expensive for what it was; the service charming. We found the music in the bar loud but enjoyed ourselves nonetheless. The public spaces are good. We did not use the spa.

Room Tip: The hotel stands on a busy junction. Despite this we did not find the traffic noise in our Acropolis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StormDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest during your recent visit in Athens!

With pleasure we noted that your expectations were met and that the overall stay was an enjoyable one.

Once again thank you for having chosen to stay here! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here recently for 2 nights on a business trip. The room I was in was beautiful. It was spacious and comfortable and had the all important acropolis view.

The service was very friendly also.

I was the organiser for a conference here and did find the process a little long winded and disjointed, but everything came together in the end. I also found the business dress at breakfast rule a little pretentious. I prefer to get dressed after breakfast just in case of any spills, but didn't have this option.

I would stay again on business but would go elsewhere if it was a personal trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Athens for your stay here in January.

We are delighted to see that the general impression of your visit was positive.

The comment you make about the business dress rule at breakfast has been discussed with my colleagues. However, would sincerely like to assure you that there is no specific dress code during breakfast in our restaurants or at the Executive Lounge. If you don't agree with this, please send us some more details about your experience.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,439 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $213 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing