We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Wonder”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern Wonder”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this to be a good place to launch our 3 days of touring Athens. The hotel has very modern facilities, A great breakfast buffet, relaxing pool, the best views of Athens from the roof top bar and is convenient to the metro sytem. Would gladly return next time

Room Tip: Naturally ask for a room facing the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for posting your comments after your stay at the Hilton Athens.

We are pleased to note that the impression of your visit was positive and that the facilities and service rendered were to your satisfaction.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our city!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    1,197
    384
    144
    82
See reviews for
643
1,232
215
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu-Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed in August for 2 nights on vacation. It is pretty big- around 1000 rooms. Typical business hotel with all facilities needed. From our room was a very nice view on Acropolis and swimming pool downstairs. It is far from Plaka, so you need to take a taxi. If you decide to walk- it will take more than half an hour. There are some small restaurants (fast food as well) and bars around the hotel if you find hotel restaurants menu a bit costly. Very good impression from the service, everything you can expect from Hilton anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smorodina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Madame,

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay here in August and were satisfied with the service and all facilities. Your kind feedback has been communicated to my team, and we thank you for this.

Do look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visited Athens in July 2012 and although a little late for my review, it’s better than no review. The Hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from Syndagma square and minutes’ walk from Kolonaki a very trendy area of Athens. Check in was fast, prompt & friendly. The room I had was very nice, good size, spotless with a balcony and a very nice view of the main street and Athens city. Visited Milos restaurant during the evening , food was excellent a little pricey I may add, service was good. Breakfast in the main restaurant by the lobby was very good and quiet busy, service was ok. The bar on the roof I believe was the galaxy was really nice and again great views of Athens at night. Overall I was there for two nights I thoroughly enjoyed it. I just found the hotel too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for High floor rooms, Good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

We do appreciate and thank you for sending us your review.

It is a delight to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, the hotel's facilities, the friendly service, the food & beverage options. I will make sure to pass on your positive comments to our team members.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well-Located, but expensive for what it is. The Room are nice, clean, and quite comfortable with a great view from the balcony. The service though, was not the best and the phone in our room never worked. The Front Desk is a bit chaotic and all-in-all I think I would have gotten a much better deal elsewhere - The Hiltons never fail to amaze me with their taste-less breakfast buffet also - I think they hire their cooks by how pretty the food looks instead of by how good it tastes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for your input regarding your stay here in July.

We are sorry to learn that you were not quite satisfied with your visit, in particular with the service provided as well as the quality and taste of breakfast buffet. Please accept our apologies.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 4 nights in the Hilton Athens, for our leisure holiday and sightseeing of Athens. Hotel is central and all tourist attractions are in walking distance however it is mainly suitable for business travellers. The service was very good and professional from all aspects of standards only what was missing is hospitality-particular on check-in and in the Galaxy restaurant.
Exception was made in the Byzantino Restauran where the professional service we had traditional Greek hospitality from all staff but particularly from Giannis Restaurant Supervisor. We definitely would recommend this hotel and we kindly recommend to the management to increase level of hospitality in Greek traditional way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinoLapcevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to see that you and your wife enjoyed your stay here with us, the service and hotel's facilities offered. Your warm comments have been passed on to my team, in particular to our Byzantino colleagues.

In reference to the level of hospitality provided by the Galaxy restaurant and Front Desk department, appropriate action will be taken in order to correct this. Thank you for having brought it to my attention. We do value our guests' input, as this is the only way we can learn and correct all shortcomings.

Thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your visit and for recommending us to other visitors of Athens. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Athens, our first visit to this city, and certainly not our last !!
In true tradition we booked a Hilton, The Athens Hilton no less and what a great decision, great location, not too far from the centre but far enough, and the rooms to the front of the hotel must have one of the best views of the Acropolis in Athens.
This hotel will not dissapoint, we could not have been made to feel more welcome. A late arrival, 3.30am from LHR was not a problem, we were quickly checked in and upgraded to a lovely Executive floor room on level 10 with Acropolis view.

Room : Very modern, clean, comfortable with all the essential features expected at this level. Bathroom amazing, all marble, seperate shower and very spacious. Sleep quality excellent despite reading some other TA reports, absolutely no noise on level 10, so I did not have to sleep on the bathroom floor !!?

Location : The hotel has an excellent location, easily accessable from the airport by bus or metro. We had to use a private taxi transfer due to our arrival time (2.30am) and this was booked through the visit Athens web site and at only 49euro at this time very fair.

Pool Area : This hotel is fortunate to have one of the largest outdoor pools in Athens, a true Oasis, plenty sunbeds/brolley and very attentive service. Yes I agree the prices are a little high, but one is on holiday and staying in a delux 5 star hotel, so pay up and enjoy (all good for the HH points!!) We had service beyond the call of duty here from the Oasis bar team and life guards.

Spa : As a Diamond member we had complementary use of the spa, a haven for relaxation, spotlesly clean at all times and never too busy. The indoor pool with its various hydro-therapy massage treatments a real joy !!

Executive Lounge : Located on level 11, and again with that amazing view, The level of service again excellent.
Breakfast here was all that was required with excellent coffee and fresh orange juice, but rather dissapointed at no Bucks Fizz!!
With regard to the latter, happy hour as they call it was limited from 6pm to 8pm. This was the first European Hilton that we have stayed in at Executive level where there was no complimentary wine/cava served during the day. Perhaps this is a reflection of the Greek economy at the moment, but perhaps also a reflection of the room tarrif/point allocation for this property.
If I could fine only one fault, and a minor one at that, I had to ask for Lemon for my G and T each and every night of our stay(9nts). A G and T needs Ice and a slice!!

Galaxy Bar : Located on the top level 12...the place to be seen I think !! However be prepared to be moved on if you are not drinking. On our first visit we were told no outside tables available so I played my Diamond HH member card, a table was found but then I was told we would need to vacate in 30 mins!! A second visit was secured by booking a table at the Executive lounge, but again the first coment was "there is a minimum spend to book a table"....say no more.

Things to do : Hop on Hop off bus excellent, Acropolis a must (wear practical footwear), the old town some wonderful lunch stops. We did go to the beach by tram one day, rather dissapointed, better to stay at the Hilton pool !! Loads other things to do, but on our next visit !!

In conclusion, a great holiday, a great hotel with fab service and a great city.
Haste us back ....soon.

PS If you enjoy jogging like us we had a great run every morning, a litle stop start at times with the lights..only cross on green man !!!...but great then to return for a swim, what better way to start the day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive with Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salm0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Athens is indeed much appreciated and we thank you for this.

It is a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and services offered, as well as our team members' friendly attitude. All your comments have been communicated to my colleagues for their review.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and the city of Athens in the near future and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The service was excellent, friendly and effecient in all areas - check-in, bellman, restaurants, maids & pool.

The location is very convenient. It is about a 5 minute walk to most attractions. The Acropolis is a little further but an easy taxi ride.

The room was very nice, clean and comfortable, a little on the smaller side but with a very efficient use of space. The all marble bathroom was big with a separate shower and tub, but the best part about the room was the amazing view of Athens and the Acropolis. The only negative was that the mattress was not comfortable (very hard), but then again every hotel in Greece where I stayed seemed to have the same mattress.

The restaurants were all top notch, but expensive. The food was nouvelle Greek, and everything was delicious. The atmosphere and design in all of the restaurants was wonderful. Breakfast in the executive lounge was fabulous with a huge selection. Everything was beautifully prepared and the coffee was really good. The lounge also had a happy hour and snacks throughout the day, but we never made it for anything but breakfast.

Last but not least, the pool was great. It was big & nicely landscaped. It was so nice to take a little break from the Athens heat in the afternoon before heading out for the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the facilities and services offered. Your warm input has been passed on to my team!

Look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the well-known Greek hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,076 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing