We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
Ranked #117 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Pescara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with small kids on 4 Bed room. All was as expected. Good breakfast. Near to metro station, just walking about 10 minutes. Free Internet.

Cons: Small elevator and parking for the car at additional cost

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dariowool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    91
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
67
16
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Quite, traffic free location with good security because of the American Ambassador's residence being next door. 5 minutes walk to two different Metro Stations, bus, or Trolly. Taverna's are close. The staff is very nice. They are the magic of this hotel. They are warm and friendly.. The rooms are a nice size. Breakfast is good and presented by a very pleasent chap. This hotel would rate higher except for the small things that are not up to snuff. For example, the temperature control thermostat in the room gives insructions on its operation but actually it is only an on/off switch for the fan. The heat or cooling is centrally controlled. We returned on a warm day and found our room to be at 31 degrees C. Trying to set the thermostat to cooling only made it worse. The front rooms get sun so they are hot while the back rooms can be very cold. If the back rooms are cold, they run the heat. You have to open the winow to cool the room a little if in the front. The floor in the room had poorly laid and well used artifical wood flooring with ends or sides of the strips of wood that stick up which can trip you, catch your foot or block moving a chair. The bath had broken tiles at the ceiling line. For two days there was no hot water. Towels are very rationed and limited. The bath smelled of sewage for our first 2 days but finally smelled better. The bath room is constantly damp even when tthe evacuation fan is run full time. The rooms allow one to hear people in adjoining rooms, people walking in rooms above your room and doors being closed. The halls could use a Hovering more often. There are other little draw backs on the same level. Back to nice items. Reception is pleasent as is the associated sitting area. The breakfast room is very nice. You are not a number here but a person, for the hotel is not large. The hotel is well supported by out of town Greeks along with non-Greeks. There is clear repeat business for the staff knows various guests. The staff makes the hotel. The staff is very nice. Because of the staff, room size and location I would return here. I can only give the hotel 3 stars because of the little failings. The staff is 5 star.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed for five nights at this hotel, near Mavili Square, between the Ampelokipi and Megaro Mousiki metro stations.

The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was modest but tasty, and the staff were uniformly helpful and pleasant. The wireless Internet functioned 95% of the time, and I was able to download data at 200KB per second.

I have also had occasion to rent the conference room for one of the days I was staying, and the staff were very helpful and informative: they were prompt to respond to my inquiry about the conference room in advance of my arrival, provided all the relevant information (no nasty surprises!), and even waived the conference room fee as I was paying for a coffee break.

I may well pick this one again on my next visit to Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is average but good value for money, rates were reasonable and in a safe area with plenty of restaurants, shops and supermarkets within walking distance. Two subway stations close by and taxis to most of the main tourist areas are only 4 to 5 euros. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious and clean but furniture is outdated and beds really need new mattresses and blankets. Bathroom is also large but quite basic and the shower inside the bathtub was kind of narrow with plastic curtains that just doesn't help.
The air conditioning was switched off for the entire hotel, the rooms were really warm as temperatures were starting to rise in Athens. The window was not large which did not help to ventilate the room and the outside noise just too much. I've asked the staff to switch on the cooling but was told that this is only done when is summer time. Despite the hotel being part of an American chain it looks like they follow the European concept of stand alone budget hotels of only switching the cooling when is officially summer and not the more common concept of switching the cooling when it's hot and guests complain about it !!
Breakfast is adequate, not a big buffet but it ticked all the boxes. No fitness center and no room service.
Overall the hotel is okay, but it's not 4 stars, more like a 3 stars place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zedaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Staff is very friendly and they try to be helpful. We did find out on our own that special week long tickets can be bought which can be used for bus, train, tram, or subway. I feel that staff should have been aware of this.
The room is clean and large enough for 2 of us. The wi-fi is very slow so uploading pictures can be very frustrating and sometimes does not connect at all. We did have a power outage one night so there was no hot water until much later in the day. Currently we have no air conditioning because, we were told, some guests are cold and it is either heat or cooling for the whole building. The bathroom is nice and large with a very good shower with plenty of water pressure (very important to me). There is only one electrical outlet accessible for charging phones, I pads etc.
The breakfast offerings are plentiful and varied. The food could be a bit hotter, cold eggs are not my favorite but I like the lemon filled donuts best anyway.
We feel safe walking everywhere with bakeries and food shops close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Best Western Embassy Hotel and had a very relaxing stay. All of the staff were incredibly helpful & friendly. On checking in we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite (rm 72). The suite was very spacious & comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty & there was variety for everyone.
I took the directions from the website as to how to find the hotel which I think were a bit misleading but we found it eventually!
Would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Athens as it was a quiet relaxing hotel and away from the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a short business trip. Nice city hotel, with very spacious rooms and bathrooms. Plenty of amenities are provided in the room. The wi-fi (free of charge) in the room was excellent, which I used to make plenty of VOIP calls with no problem.

I was checked in by the front office manager herself, who was very friendly, as all the staff I interacted with. During breakfast in the morning she came to ask me if everything is ok, and remembered everything I mentioned and asked for the previous day. She even offered a late check-out if I needed it. I appreciated the personal approach.

The location is good, close to the city center, and next to the main road that leads to the business district in the North of Athens. It is between two metro stations both about 400m away, and the has buses and trams on the main road. Since it is one block away from the main road outside the American Embassy, it makes it very quiet, away from the traffic.

Breakfast was not very large, but had everything you needed.

Overall, I would stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul Apostolos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#47 of 326 in Athens
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stratos Vassilikos
Stratos Vassilikos
#29 of 326 in Athens
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
#232 of 326 in Athens
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airotel Alexandros
Airotel Alexandros
#85 of 326 in Athens
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
0.1 mi away
Athinais Hotel
Athinais Hotel
#64 of 326 in Athens
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
Address: 22 Timoleontos Vassou Street, Athens 115 21, Greece (Formerly AngelSuites)
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel, combining understated luxury with the comforts of a modern hotel, provides unforgettable moments of pleasure. The hotel has direct access to the Syntagma Square and the archaeological sites of Athens.It is located between two metro stations just three minutes from the stop "Ambelokipi" and five minutes from the stop "Music Hall". Within walking distance of many public transport stations, it constitutes an ideal choice since everything is easily reachable.This is a 4 Star boutique hotel that is centrally located at the foot of Lycabettus Hill, near the American Embassy, the Concert Hall as well as major private and public hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g r Louis Athens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing