We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Embassy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$193
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$154
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Athens(Athens)
$140
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$282
$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$157
$151
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$503
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New Hotel(Athens)
$423
$390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
52
104
49
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
104
49
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmegaro moussikismetro stationside streetvery comfortable double bednecessary amenitiesrooms are bigblue linean upgrademinutes walkingfree wifiby footstayed for nightssyntagma squareshort staytop floorvery nice hotelairport
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 225 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location. Quite, traffic free location with good security because of the American Ambassador's residence being next door. 5 minutes walk to two different Metro Stations, bus, or Trolly. Taverna's are close. The staff is very nice. They are the magic of this hotel. They are warm and friendly.. The rooms are a nice size. Breakfast is good and presented by a very pleasent chap. This hotel would rate higher except for the small things that are not up to snuff. For example, the temperature control thermostat in the room gives insructions on its operation but actually it is only an on/off switch for the fan. The heat or cooling is centrally controlled. We returned on a warm day and found our room to be at 31 degrees C. Trying to set the thermostat to cooling only made it worse. The front rooms get sun so they are hot while the back rooms can be very cold. If the back rooms are cold, they run the heat. You have to open the winow to cool the room a little if in the front. The floor in the room had poorly laid and well used artifical wood flooring with ends or sides of the strips of wood that stick up which can trip you, catch your foot or block moving a chair. The bath had broken tiles at the ceiling line. For two days there was no hot water. Towels are very rationed and limited. The bath smelled of sewage for our first 2 days but finally smelled better. The bath room is constantly damp even when tthe evacuation fan is run full time. The rooms allow one to hear people in adjoining rooms, people walking in rooms above your room and doors being closed. The halls could use a Hovering more often. There are other little draw backs on the same level. Back to nice items. Reception is pleasent as is the associated sitting area. The breakfast room is very nice. You are not a number here but a person, for the hotel is not large. The hotel is well supported by out of town Greeks along with non-Greeks. There is clear repeat business for the staff knows various guests. The staff makes the hotel. The staff is very nice. Because of the staff, room size and location I would return here. I can only give the hotel 3 stars because of the little failings. The staff is 5 star.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed for five nights at this hotel, near Mavili Square, between the Ampelokipi and Megaro Mousiki metro stations.

The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was modest but tasty, and the staff were uniformly helpful and pleasant. The wireless Internet functioned 95% of the time, and I was able to download data at 200KB per second.

I have also had occasion to rent the conference room for one of the days I was staying, and the staff were very helpful and informative: they were prompt to respond to my inquiry about the conference room in advance of my arrival, provided all the relevant information (no nasty surprises!), and even waived the conference room fee as I was paying for a coffee break.

I may well pick this one again on my next visit to Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is average but good value for money, rates were reasonable and in a safe area with plenty of restaurants, shops and supermarkets within walking distance. Two subway stations close by and taxis to most of the main tourist areas are only 4 to 5 euros. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious and clean but furniture is outdated and beds really need new mattresses and blankets. Bathroom is also large but quite basic and the shower inside the bathtub was kind of narrow with plastic curtains that just doesn't help.
The air conditioning was switched off for the entire hotel, the rooms were really warm as temperatures were starting to rise in Athens. The window was not large which did not help to ventilate the room and the outside noise just too much. I've asked the staff to switch on the cooling but was told that this is only done when is summer time. Despite the hotel being part of an American chain it looks like they follow the European concept of stand alone budget hotels of only switching the cooling when is officially summer and not the more common concept of switching the cooling when it's hot and guests complain about it !!
Breakfast is adequate, not a big buffet but it ticked all the boxes. No fitness center and no room service.
Overall the hotel is okay, but it's not 4 stars, more like a 3 stars place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zedaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Staff is very friendly and they try to be helpful. We did find out on our own that special week long tickets can be bought which can be used for bus, train, tram, or subway. I feel that staff should have been aware of this.
The room is clean and large enough for 2 of us. The wi-fi is very slow so uploading pictures can be very frustrating and sometimes does not connect at all. We did have a power outage one night so there was no hot water until much later in the day. Currently we have no air conditioning because, we were told, some guests are cold and it is either heat or cooling for the whole building. The bathroom is nice and large with a very good shower with plenty of water pressure (very important to me). There is only one electrical outlet accessible for charging phones, I pads etc.
The breakfast offerings are plentiful and varied. The food could be a bit hotter, cold eggs are not my favorite but I like the lemon filled donuts best anyway.
We feel safe walking everywhere with bakeries and food shops close by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Best Western Embassy Hotel and had a very relaxing stay. All of the staff were incredibly helpful & friendly. On checking in we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite (rm 72). The suite was very spacious & comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty & there was variety for everyone.
I took the directions from the website as to how to find the hotel which I think were a bit misleading but we found it eventually!
Would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Athens as it was a quiet relaxing hotel and away from the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews