We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a view stupid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I returned to this hotel and must have lost my mind on the way. I did not call and insist on a room with a view. Instead I looked at the court yard I could have been anywhere there was no feel for the city just a room ~ big mistake. My last visit was wonderful with views of the ancient sites a balcony and the look and feel of everything that is good about Athens. I tried to change at check in to a smaller room with a view but with little success. Nice enough hotel but with a view a fabulous hotel. Otherwise staff were helpful and nice but the gimmicky butler was more of a hindrance than a help.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Grande Bretagne for three nights at a suite overlooking Syntagma Square with a view of the Acropolis.
Pros:
• Superb service across the board (pre-arrival guest services, butlers, housekeeping, staff at the spa) that is very proactive and detail-oriented. They anticipate your needs without you having to ask. For example, our butler arranged for us to have breakfast boxes the day of our early morning flight as we were going to miss breakfast.
• Complimentary breakfast in the rooftop restaurant provides astounding views of the Acropolis
• Hotel location is very convenient and a short and easy walk to all major sites and great eateries
• Our room was stately and classical, but also got good sunlight and the use of mirrors lent a lightness to it (I’ve stayed in other hotels where stately meant old, drab, dark and depressing)
• Complimentary access to the gym and the spa pool. Robes and slippers provided for use in the locker room.
No cons, except to say that the hotel is indeed very $$$$
Additional comments: Staying in a room that overlooks Syntagma Square and the sound from all the activity keeps you feeling like you are still ‘part of the action’ even when you are in your hotel room (perhaps napping to get over jetlag!). If budget is a concern, I’d recommend forgoing the view of the Acropolis as you’ll have other opportunities to see/explore the Acropolis, and there are lots of restaurants that offer great views while you dine. It was a true treat, however, to be able to peer out of our hotel room or walk onto our terrace and see the Acropolis at any time of the day, especially in the moonlight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShuliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Look no further than Hotel Grande Bretagne for sheer opulence, luxury, superb service and heavenly comfort. This hotel is a jewel. Our room was fit for royalty and we were able to observe the changing of the guard, across the street, from our very own private balcony. The food is excellent, whether enjoyed in one of the hotel's 5 star restaurants or in the comfort and privacy of your room. Staying in this hotel is an experience unto itself. Don't miss out!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank TheWorldAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your lovely comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Let me just start off by saying that you shouldn't even bother to read this post and should just rush to book as many nights as you can in this wonderful hotel.

The service is impeccable. The ambiance is phenomenal. The value is incredible.

My wife and I just stayed here for our honeymoon. Our pre-arrival specialist Maro did everything to make this trip memorable. He got us confirmed for a 10am arrival time (our flight landed at 8am) and junior suite. When we got there they also confirmed 4pm late checkout because our flight departed late (Granted I do have SPG Gold status, so this might have helped).

The hotel itself is exquisite it seems to be known as the nicest hotel in Athens by all of the locals. The spa was incredible with many different sauna and steam rooms. If there was one fault that I was able to find in the hotel then it would be the temperature of the pool/hot tub. I found the water to be a little chilly for my taste and I like a hot tub to be nice and HOT! But for most people this might not be an issue.

The Alexander Cigar Lounge (located on the first floor of the hotel) was also extremely nice and I would definitely recommend a trip there when in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARCP23312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Everything about our stay was top-notch. Our room was wonderful, our meals at the rooftop restaurant were perfect and above all, the STAFF could not have been more helpful. After a long cruise we booked a few days to unwind and everything exceeded our expectations. Words just dont seem to express how the staff took perfect care of us. From booking a tour of Athens to printing up boarding passes and arranging transportation to the airport, everything was handled effortlessly!
I highly reccomend this FIRST CLASS property!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poor lady maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Little one can add to the comments made by others. Everything about the hotel was very special. If one was to single out anything, it has to be the roof top restaurant. Watching the sunset was a real experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayeswater27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked this hotel through Oceania Cruise for one night before the cruise. Not that we got a discount price but seemed like all the cruise passengers were on the third floor. Our room was very small. I cannot imagine a princess standing there with her gown. She'd have to stand on the bed in order to accommodate a gown with any volume. The bathroom was spacious though. Do try to point the shower head in the right direction before you turn on water.

While the food at the rooftop restaurant was un memorable, the view of Acropolis was spectacular. The container in which the yogurt came in was very useful too. With the view and OK food the price was worth it.

As pointed out by other reviews, the location can't be beat. And if you are used to step-by-step Google map directions, you better bring them. Hotel staff's direction can be quite vague.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are small. Try other floors, maybe they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 285 in Athens
3,310 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 285 in Athens
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 285 in Athens
1,757 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,493 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $340 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing