We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most likely the best in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most likely the best in Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Location is more or less unbeatable, next to the parliament, very close to the pedestrian street to walk to Plaka, museums also nearby, also around the corner is the "most luxurious" department store Attica - but don't think Harrods.
Lovely hotel with lots of history. If you don't mind spending the money, go for the Acropolis view room, you will be rewarded with the fascinating and breathtaking view of HISTORY! If you suffer from jet lag, wake up at the hour during the night, peep outside and you will still see the parliament's guards marching and changing shift.
Hotel foods are actually quite good; we had room service from Winter Garden, pleased with the Greek items.
Staff overall professional and courtesy, but formal and not exactly friendly. The only problem with the staffing was one of the butlers named Mina - very rushed when helping us, unfriendly, argued with guest, faked smiles, and ignored Do Not Disturb sign, walking into our Grand Deluxe Suite, the shocking thing was that, she had not even been summoned. Another butler that we had, he was great, very polite, and I am sorry that I don't remember his name!
Our suite was nice, not huge, but enough room for two, lovely bathroom with Molton Brown amenities. Noise should not be a problem as windows are at least "double-layered", and I could not hear any noise from the street from the fifth floor. If you don't wish to have the Acropolis-facing view, then you could enjoy the view from the rooftop restaurant.
Concierge very helpful in making reservations for you.
A lot grander than King George next door. If you choose GB when you visit Athens, you should not be disappointed. I cannot comment on the entry level rooms though.
Stayed there for four nights, enjoyed it overall.

Room Tip: As mentioned, an Acropolis-facing room is worth the extra; also a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theBunBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were overjoyed to read about your positive impression of the hotel and Athens. Regarding the incident you experienced, we train and remind all our staff to be helpful and courteous and I regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,358
    513
    123
    51
    32
See reviews for
561
1,519
135
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you want to spoil yourself this would be a good choice. Centrally located in Athens means is location is perfect to visit the historical sites of Athens on foot. I would recommend you ask for a room with a view of the square, rather than an internally facing room which has no view, and isn't well lit by natural light.

The restaurant that serves breakfast on the top floor affords magically views of the Acropolis and viewing this at night is spectacular.

The rooms aren't large but nicely appointed, and the beds are really comfortable. There are however no tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: Externally facing room with views of the square and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great Hotel in the very center of touristic Athens. Offers classic palace style rooms decorated accordingly. The view from the rooftop is amazing.Our room overlooked the inside of the hotel and was very quiet. But there was no much light inside.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the inside of the hotel and was very quiet. But there was no much light inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontreplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for three nights in this hotel during September. It is a wonderful stately old hotel opened in 1878. It is situated in one corner of the main Syntagma Square just across the road from the Parliament building. Our room, although the cheapest on offer, was a good size and very comfortable. Service throughout the hotel was excellent and the hotel was ideally positioned for exploring Athens.

Other than the excellent breakfasts, we had two meals in the hotel. On our first evening there was a large protest in the square so the hotel was completely closed up with metal shutters down over all the doors and windows. (After manoeuvring through the crowds we managed to get back into the hotel via a small door in the adjacent hotel and then round the back area and through the kitchen/housekeeping quarter.) We had not booked a meal but they fitted us in willingly and we had a very enjoyable, though expensive, meal in the restaurant, overlooking the square and the protest! The views of the Acropolis from the restaurant are magnificent and the Parthenon was beautifully illuminated at night. It was worth the money just for these views alone. Even if you do not wish to pay for an expensive meal it would be worth coming for just a drink (the bar is joined onto the restaurant) and to gaze at the Parthenon.

Our other meal was an excellent and reasonable priced meal by the pool. The pool is on the same level as the restaurant and has equally stunning view of the Acropolis and the Parliament building. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a few days of luxury in the centre of Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriscris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Grande Bretagne tired and stressed, and left rested and refreshed. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of a 10 day trip to Greece. The food was excellent, the views from the hotel pool and the main restaurant are inspiring, and spa was delightful. We had fun just sitting in the atrium and bar, enjoying the ambiance of this great dame. It was extremely hot while we were in town, but the hotel was delightfully cool--fabulous A/C. The location was just perfect, right in the middle of things, a close walk to Plaka and the Acropolis, and museums. Loved this hotel, and would definitely stay again. I look forward to returning!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank palena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after recently staying at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It is truly a motivation for us, when we are able to relax and refresh our guests. This is after all the essence of a hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I really can't say much about this hotel because we stayed one night ... got in late and flew out early the next morning to Santorini. The rooms were classic and nice, as were the bathrooms. The rooms and bathroom did feel old and outdated though, but were still elegant and clean, which is all that matters in the end. I felt the price tag was a bit much for what you were getting. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and overall it was a great pitstop before we flew out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was hard to find anything to complain about at the Grande Bretagne: perhaps a bit too ornate, or took itself a little too seriously. But the service was fine, location is great and room quite comfortable. We had Classic Suite #740. Considered upgrading, but the room was very nice and really there was no need. 740 is a long walk from the elevator, but that was a plus for us, as we prefer quieter, more out of the way locations. We had lunch at the pool bar; the pork souvlaki was some of the best I've had. We had dinner at the roof garden and were very satisfied with the presentation, service and taste. The buffet breakfast at the roof garden was also excellent. Check in and check out was efficient. For good shopping and restaurants, go right outside of the door and take the street that leaves from the middle of the square (Ermou). Lots of nice stuff down there in the Plaka.

Room Tip: Classic Suite #740 was very nice. Considered upgrading, but the room was very nice and really there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odd_Meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing