We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not amazing.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very well located in the centre of Athens, and the building itself is very impressive. The room was nice but a bit small considering the price you pay. The gym is an ok size but the equipment is a bit old and shabby. Overall we had a nice experience and it was a good base from which to explore the city and to take day trips to the surrounding islands. Only 2 small things stop it getting 5 stars. The pool area was very small and overcrowded, and beware of taking any restaurant recommendations from the concierge - they twice sent us to terrible places and I can only assume that they get kick backs from the ones they chose. We found much restaurants ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarJunkie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were happy to read that overall, you had a pleasant stay and will of course take your suggestions into consideration and follow this up with the Spa Manager and the Front Office Manager. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens and prove to you that we can serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,497
    540
    132
    52
    33
See reviews for
612
1,594
139
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were very fortunate to stay here overnight in late October before joining a cruise from Athens the next day.
On entry into the hotel to the reception is very impressive. Marble floors and columns in abundence.
We were given a suite on the 7th floor, which was exquisite . All the facilities were there, including
a very large separate marble bathroom which was situated across a small hallway from the main bedroom. Unfortunately the view from the window overlooked an inner courtyard. That was the only downside of our stay.
Fine dining was to be had in the main ground floor dining room. There is a another restaurant/bar on the rooftop with fine views of the Acropolis open for dinner. Breakfast was served here, and was buffet style with various choices available.
All in all, a classic 5* hotel with the facilities and prices to match. If you wish to spoil yourself, this hotel will tick all the boxes!
Enjoyed the stay enormously, although it was only for one night. An excellent "old style" hotel with plenty of character, which has been brought up to date, without losing any of its charm.
Lancashireman.

Room Tip: If you book a suite, the check in is on Floor 6 which is separate from the downstairs ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel. Great location, excellent breakfast buffet and one of the best spa I've ever been in the basement. It has different rooms w/ different temperature that you can select and choose from. The breakfast buffet is on the top floor. They also serve dinner and has the amazing view of the Parthenon. Wi-fi is sloooowwww. Can do better for a 5 star hotel. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

One of the best hotels we've stayed in ! Impeccable service, wonderful views, fine dining ! I do not think that there are many things that can top having dinner on their roof top with a view of the Parthenon as a backdrop. These are moments that I will cherish forever , I definetely reccomend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Athens in pure luxury !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

How can a hotel that you have visited so many times over many many years make you feel it is your first visit?
This great hotel does it every time.
The excitement of arriving in this grande old majestic hotel never stops.
It is all about the people who work there and their desire to make you feel special, and always try to find
new ways to excite you.
The grande Bretagne is like a masterpiece of art, whilst beautiful and you think it could not be better,it is still a work in progress in its quest to Achieve perfection .
In my opinion it has achieved perfection, but the staff and management continue to do better, if that is possible .
Having breakfast at the roof terrace restaurant on my last morning of a two week stay, I am sad to be leaving, but happy to know that when I return in March of 2014 it will have found a way to keep on exciting me with new innovations and luxury.
This is a hotel for people who love grand old European hotels with all the modern conveniences of a hotel that only opened yesterday .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank fcworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

That is all you need to know! Our stay was amazing! Our room was facing the Parliament we saw the change of the guard from our balcony. The service was superb in every aspect, also the location and the roof restaurant, have dinner looking to Acropolis. The Spa and steam rooms was one of the best I ever been.

Room Tip: Facing the Parliament Building (Vouli)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margueth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

On arriving in Athens by air, we were met by our driver (prearranged through the hotel) and taken for the 40 minute ride to the beautiful Hotel Grande Bretagne. During our ride, we asked the driver for his recommendations for "local" restaurants we might enjoy while in the city. At the top of his list was The Old Tavern of Psaras ... so good in fact we dined there twice during our stay. Just a quick 15 walk from the hotel (perfectly safe at night) and more than worth it.

On arrival at the hotel, we were taken to the sixth-floor check-in suite, where we were met by our butler who,
after the usual formalities, escorted us to our terraced room, overlooking the Houses of Parliament . The room,
while not unusually large, was most adequate (lovely marble bath) and the terrace a decided plus for early morning sunning and taking in the crowds at late evening.

We promptly made reservations in the top floor dining room, with its open air views of the city and the
Acropolis ... good food and even more incredible vistas. Don't miss it! You will also take your buffet breakfast
there in the mornings and we suggest you avail yourselves of the breakfast option, as it is well worth the
price.

After our three night stay, which ended far too quickly, on check out our driver (the same as on
arrival) whisked us to the port city of Piraeus, a fast 40 minute ride, where we embarked on yacht Sea Dream II, for a 15 night journey to Rhodes, Oman and Mumbai ... through the Suez Canal and "Pirates Alley". Most
exciting.

Athens was lovely and the Hotel Grande Bretagne the crown jewel of our visit. You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Take the terraced rooms overlooking Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GentlemenTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,572 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,484 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing