We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious views from the rooftop terrace!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Glorious views from the rooftop terrace!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only had one day in Athens before our cruise, so needed to stay near the historic sites in order to see them in such a brief time. The staff were extremely accommodating and helped us get oriented on several occasions. The hotel has many turns in the corridors and it is easy to get turned around in it. The room was comfortable but rather small. Very nice linens and bathroom, although the toilet, sink, and tub/shower were all in one room.

Room Tip: upgrade from standard for a more comfortable size room. Try to get a room facing Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvin2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,489
    537
    132
    52
    33
See reviews for
608
1,589
139
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited this hotel during a weekend stay in Athens. Perfect luxory and extremly service minded staff. The rooftop restaurant with a view over Acropolis is stunning, almost not real. If you are going to Athens this is the only place to stay. A word of warning though. The standard rooms are quite small so upgrade for a larger room and ask for a view to the outside of the hotel not over the courtyard.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room and ask for a view to the outside of the hotel not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianOls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We enjoyed reading your kind comments and look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all, the Grande Bretagne is a gorgeous luxurious hotel (as is its restaurant and bar.)
We stayed there for three nights and loved each one.
Often the staff at such a luxury hotel can be condescending. This was not at all the case with the GB. The staff from the front desk to the waiters to housekeeping, to the roof top bar and restaurant were sincerely friendly, helpful, warm and kind. Their graciousness added to the loveliness of our experience. The hostess in the rooftop restaurant, Virginia, was especially helpful to us our last night in Athens finding us a nice table and taking our picture. The bartender in the roof top bar, our first night there, made us feel welcome after a long day of travel.
We had to catch an early ferry to Mykonos on the morning of our last day so the restaurant gave us a tasty boxed breakfast since the restaurant was not yet open.
We would have loved staying at such a beautiful hotel. But the kind gracious staff made us feel welcome and relaxed on our first nights in Greece.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freebird05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a room with a great view of Parliament for the changing of the guard from a nice sized balcony. Our room was beautiful, service couldn't have been better and we were in a great location for Plaka, strolling through the narrow streets.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were in Athens a couple of nights before leaving on a cruise and booked at the Grande Bretagne. As it turned out our cruise line, Seabourn, had recommended it as well. We booked one of the interior rooms for budget reasons, but because we went thru Frosch Travel, an upgrade was ours if available. We got lucky and got a room on the butlers floor with a terrace overlooking the Parliament building.

The secret attraction here is the incredible covered but open rooftop restsurant/bar with its incredible view of the Acropolis.

Room Tip: Book with Frosch Travel for possible upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Incredible levels of service and attention in this truly luxury hotel. This hotel is by far the most luxury and the very best from all other hotels in Athens. Great rooms and attention to detal by all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMichalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at GB September for 3 nights. Wonderful location, service and food delicious. Arranged an airport transfer with the hotel, and would advise anyone to do the same. Our room was facing the courtyard, so very quiet, absolutely no outside noise. Dined for breakfast and dinner, views unbelievable, and food superb. A friend had recommended this hotel, and we will do the same. Stay here and enjoy the facilities and location to all Athens has to offer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,024 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,479 reviews
Hilton Athens
#21 of 326 in Athens
3,560 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing