We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Originally we were not impressed but first impressions improved as time went on. Well decorated and maintained, rooms a bit on the small side and in many ways lacking in service etiquette (usually only one concierge, I was a long time at reception for check in and no bell-hop to show us to the room). A good hotel in the most central location, but the best in Athens? Doesn't say much for Athens.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vegaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,353
    513
    123
    51
    32
See reviews for
560
1,516
135
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We always stay at the GB when we come to Athens. Why would you go anywhere else? This hotel is an icon of how Greeks can provide EXCELLENT service to a world traveller. This year we were lucky enough to come twice. Nothing is a problem when you stay at the GB. the rooftop restaurant for breakfast, dinner and drinks has an ethereal view that I never get tired of. The hotel has a great gym, sauna, downstairs pool and rooftop pool bar. An amazingly good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seventh floor have direct access to the rooftop pool area and are only one floor below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

a bit more expensive than a regular hotel but it is not any hotel. this is the hotel!!aristocratic decoration great story behind and the most formal service i have ever seen. it is a good choice if you travel for bussiness and pleasure cause you are close to everything exist in the center. the best sleep of my life in this huge bed!!! this hotel its not for everybody but if you want to feel like a king the go for it!

Room Tip: junior suite its a good choice if you want something different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

For our first visit to Athens we decided to stay at what is widely viewed as the best hotel in the city.

After staying at many similar classic luxury hotels, I have to say that this hotel is ok and is a safe option, but it does lack some finishing touches that would make it truly great.

The spa is good, but not incredible, the rooftop restaurant has a great view of the Acropolis, but the menu is limited and was the same for lunch and dinner.

Service was patchy, especially the front desk on checking in, but the waiting staff in the restaurant in the evening, especially Panagoulis (sorry if I have spelt his name wrong), were excellent and we were even treated to an 'experimental' cocktail!

He even passed our names to his friend at Matsuhisa and we were greeted by him when we sat down at our table the next night, he had even passed him details of the wine we had ordered, the previous night! Brilliant!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Passportstamp967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I never thought when I booked the most recommended hotel in Athens (and the most expensive) for the last day of our honeymoon, we would have the worst experience of our lives, even for a less rated hotel. It is really shocking that they were able to do everything wrong in less than 24 hours. 1st: we waited almost half an hour at the line to check in, 2nd: they struggled for another half an hour to FIND us a good room although we had booked 6 months before ("Please sir you have to be patient because our team is very busy today" ???), 3rd: finally we went to the room and when just entering, the first thing that I smelt was fresh coffee - the room wasn't cleaned!, 4th: the front desk team was rude all the time! But we had a wonderful experience at the neighboring NJV Plaza before going to the islands - we recommend it! And we will never stay (or recommend) Grand Bretagne again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thaliadiniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were truly saddened by your negative experience and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. This is certainly not the Luxury Collection service that we aim to offer our guests and rest assured we will be sharing your comments with our management and associates. Hopefully on you next visit to Athens you will give us the opportunity to measure up to your expectations and welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm sure this hotel was lovely back in the day. Upon our arrival the front desk informed us that our room was not ready and we should go to the 6th floor to check in. On the 6th floor was a small room with a woman at a desk and 3 parties waiting to be checked in. We sat there for 10 minutes only to be told our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. So we went to the beautiful rooftop restaurant but were told they were getting ready for lunch so we should go back to the lobby. We would have gone to another hotel at that point but were exhausted from the overnight flight so we put up with the extremely unwelcoming welcome to Greece. Our room turned out to be ok, it was small and the shower drain was clogged. The best part of this hotel was the rooftop restaurant where we had a lovely dinner. We would not go back to the hotel or to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing you comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced upon arrival, however check-in is at 2pm and although we try our best to assist our guests this is not always possible. You were asked to go to the 6th floor because you were allocated a room on our Butler Floor, giving you the option of using our Butler for any assistance required. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens and prove to you that we can serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at rage Grande Bretagne for two nights before a 6 ay cruise. It's in a great location and very close to the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. The rooms are on the smaller side and there really isn't a lot of storage for those that like to unpack completely. The service has been excellent and the food was very good. Our room had a balcony overlooking Constitution Square. As this Is the first trip to Athens, we are very pleased with the hotel selection and location. We would return again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrTEastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing