We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Grande Bretagne for one night at the end of our Honeymoon. As soon as you enter the lobby you get the feeling that this Hotel is different. I have stayed at many nice hotels over the years, but this is by far my favorite. From the staff, lobby, rooms, service and ammentities it would be hard to find any place that compares. We were on the Butler Floor which made the stay that much better. I highly reccomend this hotel to any one looking for an incredible experience in the heart of Athens.

Jester

Room Tip: Butler Floor for you will have you own butler as well as a balcony with a view of Athens
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,365)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 3,365 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

family took 2 interconnecting rooms booked through Kirker end of may,outstanding service,people of Athens genuinely hospitable,despite crisis.
however the hotels restaurant with view of acropolis, and roof swimming pool with best sardines,makes this hotel simply unbeatable. there is no reason to leave the hotel except it is in athens and the ancient wonders are within walking distance-as our flight was late we were given an afternoon free room to rest, but we didn't really want to leave!they also serve the best breakfast in the world on top of breathtaking view

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdavis121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was a joy to deal with. Location was top notch, as was the look and feel of the place. I highly recommend it, and would have gladly stayed longer had time permitted. The only slight complaint I would have was that the water temperature fluctuated a bit while you were taking a shower, but the room itself more than made up for it. The turn down service was a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: Fear not - it was great! Wonderful location and beautiful hotel. Great staff too.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pashmaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Grande it was. We spent two nights there in mid-May, 2013 and loved the hotel. Our room on the third floor was huge and had an excellent view of the parliament and the Acropolis. We could watch the changing of the guards from our window but it was best seen close up.

The breakfast buffet at the restaurant on the roof was also Grande, the best we had in Greece. The free water in the room was a nice touch. My wife loved the bath products. The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms elsewhere!!!

The location was the best. We could walk to most of the sites we wanted to visit in 10 to 15 minutes. We did not do dinner there. Very expensive and there were so many excellent, less expensive alternatives that the staff did not hesitate to recommend.

The staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. If we ever get back to Athens, that is our first choice hotel. As a Starwood Preferred Guest Gold our room was a bit of an upgrade. The bucket with champagne was a nice touch. But using points and dollars to pay for the room was the best.

Room Tip: Ask for an Acropolis view. The Breakfast buffet costs 20 euros a person so if you can get it added t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

An excellent hotel in an enviable position right next to the Greek parliament. We arrived too late to eat in the restaurant although we did take the opportunity to go up to the restaurant on the top floor and savour the wonderful night time views. We even watched the changing of the guard from the top floor. We were able to have a light meal in the Winter Garden where service was impeccable and the ambience oozed old world English charm,helped by an excellent pianist playing in the background. . Our room was luxuriously equipped. Breakfast was served on the top floor in the open, with a multitude of tempting dishes,and as has been mentioned by many previous reviewers, the view of the Acropolis is second to none. Obviously it is expensive but 'you get what you pay for'

Room Tip: If you want a good room ,you have to pay the price !!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Grande Bretagne is truly an excellent hotel, from its position in the very center of Athens and the panoramic vues to Akropolis and to Lycabetus - the two landmaks of Athens - to the facilities it offers to its guests and the attention of the staff. In most places in the world, hotels with such a location, would prefer to limit to the advantages offered by the location and would do little more to keep the customers satisfied. At Grande Bretagne, the services are at the highest level and the staff is doing a perfect job, without relying too much on the wonders of Athens which may be found just in front of the hotel or at a short walking distance!
Grande Bretagne is a reference and can be a model for any hotel which claims or intends to be considered an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Take care, some rooms might have an ugly vue, to a backyard which I guess that either is surrounded...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our final 2 days of our family trip to Greece. We had 2 adjoining rooms, one for my husband and myself and the other for our 2 teenage children. The rooms were luxurious and well stocked with bath products, plenty of towels, complimentary water bottles and luxurious bath robes. My only complaint was our room smelled of fish, as it the previous guest had a fish lunch right before we checked it. It took a few phone calls , but finally housekeeping came and provided air fresher and we opened our balcony window as well. We decided to do some sightseeing and when we came back, the fishy smell was gone.

Because the comfort and beauty of this hotel, the location is superb. You are within walking distance to the Parliament bundling , the Plaka, the famous Acropolis and surrounding sights as well as the flea market area, great restaurants and shopping. We only used a cab to get to and from the airport and to go the national museum....otherwise we walked everywhere.

Another great experience we had was in the hotel's spa area. There is an indoor pool, women and men locker rooms with showers, robes, towels and slippers as well as several saunas, steam baths, foot baths and showers. After a long day of sightseeing, our family of four enjoyed all the different baths and felt refreshed and ready for final Greek dinner later that evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,702 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,842 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $342 - $906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing