We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

apsolutely fantastic.
we recoment it. it worths every penny!!!!!the location is perfect, service is great, rooms
are luxurius and the view fantastic. we had a personal budler!!!!
you really feel like royialty when staying in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofi689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 3,464 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the top of the tops.
A grand, majestic, classy, elegant hotel- the best throughout Greece.
Just in the heart of Athens its list includes an endless number of world stars and leaders : From Winston Churchill to Elizabeth Taylor and Barbara Streisand. It is a part of the Greek contemporary history.
A pure classy elegance throughout : from the rooms, the suites, the bars, the restaurants, the doormen, the staff, the management, everything.
The roof top restaurant with an exclusive view on the Acropolis is second to no one as the food and the service are just magnificent.
Grant yourself a weekend there if you want to feel absolutely special !!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor and above with a view on the Constitution Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DINOS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel lacks nothing. The location is great as it is walking distance to the Plaka and across from the House of Parliament. So many world leaders have stayed here that there is a sense of history as you walk through the hotel. Parliament was in session and we were able to see many of the government dignitaries. Dining on the roof, even in the heat of the summer, with the exquisite view of the Acropolis was only topped by the elegance of Alexander's Bar in the lobby. You are made to feel special and as elegant as your surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grande Bretagne for two evenings, and we absolutely loved our visit. This was our first time at the hotel, so I can't comment on the condition before its renovation, but I can assure you that it is in pristine condition now. The property has a great energy to it that you can feel as soon as you step foot in the beautiful lobby.

The service was exceptional. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a larger suite and we experienced flawless service for our entire visit. Our room overlooked the Parliament, and we enjoyed watching the changing of the guards from our balcony. It's also a short walk to the Acropolis. We did not experience any noise issues with our room.

In addition to the level of service, overall design and location, the other standout for us was the amazing rooftop restaurant. The restaurant is worth a visit alone! The view of the Acropolis at night literally took our breathe away, and dining under the stars in eyesight of one of the world's greatest architectural achievements was very special.

If your travels take you to Greece, spend an evening in Athens at the Grand Bretagne!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jao1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Hotel Grande Bretagne is the “Grande Dame” of all hotels in Greece, a Starwood Luxury Collection property. You know the type: you walk into the lobby and suddenly you’re transported back in time to a more refined era, when ladies and gentlemen still dressed for dinner, and cocktails were always served with potato chips, nuts, and olives. While the restaurant may be more casual now, you’ll still get the chips, nuts, and olives! And speaking of restaurants, nothing, and I do mean nothing, surpasses the view of the Acropolis, be it day or night, from the hotel’s rooftop bar and restaurant! And the location simply cannot be beat: central Athens right next to Parliament on Constitution Square, about a 5 minute walk to the Plaka district, and another 15 minutes to the base of the Acropolis.

The hotel has been recently renovated, and quite frankly, it was due for an extreme makeover. So no more complaints about carpeting, bathroom fixtures, etc. In a word, the Grande Bretagne is back in pristine condition, and has never looked better! Children are always welcome.

This would be a perfect hotel for a pre or post hotel stay before or after a cruise into or out of Piraeus.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may have an Acropolis view, with a supplement. Interior rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cairo_Luvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Grande Bretagne hotel is a very beautiful hotel in central Athens across the House of Parliament. We walked there to see the impressive changing of the guards. The restaurant in the Roof garden has a huge variety of excellent food and the views are amazing. We had dinner and could not take our eyes of the wonderful Parthenon on the Acropolis with flood lights on it looked like a jewel. Breakfast is excellent with very good quality of food. Room was clean and spacious with exquisite deco, the only negative thing it was a bit noisy. Service was very good although a bit pushing at the reception in trying to sell sell us a private tour.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stopped here for 1 night pre-cruising. Excellent position
,ideal for getting out and about to see the local sights. Rooms are well fitted out with hair dryer, iron and board, shoe shine kit, lovely toiletries, mini bar etc. the check in was efficient and relatively quick, despite the large numbers checking in. Refreshing drinks offered whilst waiting to check in. Cases waiting in the room for us when we arrived, and collected the next morning ready for departure to the cruise terminal.
Breakfast in the morning provided a good selection of cereals, fruits, fruit juices, cooked breakfast toasts and breads and an endless supply of tea/ coffee. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend
Others to stay here. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on a high floor which gave excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RELAXEDEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,931 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#18 of 282 in Athens
3,805 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,739 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $318 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing