We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old fashioned style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the kind of establishment you could imagine staying in as part of your Grand Tour about 100 years ago. Big and plush about sums it up. Perhaps not the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in but big enough! Large bed and large bathroom. Excellent housekeeping ( our room was made up whilst we were at breakfast).
Breakfast is taken on the rooftop restaurant. Both breakfast and the views over Athens are just something else. Most anything you could wish for both visually and culturally. We didn't eat dinner there so have no comment on that aspect.
The hotel is next to the Greek parliament and many of the hotels clientele reflect this.
I got the impression that the staff genuinely care about their guests.
Top end so not cheap. I reckon it's worth it though. We got a special deal - stay 3 nights and the fourth was free.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard. No view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,269
    487
    117
    51
    31
See reviews for
537
1,471
132
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The rooms in the hotel were beautiful. From the rooftop restaurant you have the most wonderful view of the acropolis. The Hotel is centrally located in the city and the service was excellent. You are near all the great shopping.The food I ate in the hotel was excellent and the staff was very helpful. The only problem I had when I was there is that the wifi was not working in the rooms only the lobby.I dont know if this is a persistant problem or not

Room Tip: ask for a high floor facing the front of the hotel so you have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilana5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had the best stay. A lovely room overlooking the Acropolis, comfy bed and great staff.

Walked the city, including right up to the Acropolis. No one around - the city seemed quiet, maybe the season has finished?

Make sure you visit the railway station next to the hotel. When they dug out the underground station for the olympics, they discovered old streets, graves etc. They have this glass wall running the length of the station where you can see the profile of the soils... there are graves (With the skeleton) pipework, foundations and more. An original museum...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JandAonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Grande Bretagne, Athens
Constitution Square, Athens,105 64, Greece
Phone: (30)(210) 3330 000Contact Us Announcements Visit Our Site 11:39 AM

Upon entering the revolving doors of the Hotel Grande Bretagne, you enter an exquisite, classically decorated entry. The decor is real, unlike some hotels that attempt to appear real with cheap imitations. Some of the guests, tourists like myself, even look a bit out of place in the truly beautiful hotel.

Service was exceptional, each member of the staff, from bell hop, to reception, and concierge were all very professional, friendly and had what i felt to be a level of pride in their work.

Enough cannot be said about the quality and decor of our room.

Our room was spacious with plenty of space between a king size bed, desk, large closets, and a modern entertainment center.

Our view was nothing special, and we weren't able to figure out the door lock in order to access the balcony, though it may have been locked for guest safety.

The bathroom was wonderfully appointed with a large tub and separate shower and stocked with towels, robes and supply of luxury spa washes, shampoo and conditioners. There was also a grooming kit and blow dryer and weigh scale.

Everything was perfect at Hotel Grande Bretagne, and our experience as a whole is exactly what we hope to expect whenever we stay at a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel.

Warning: My wife and I almost didn't come, we almost chose to avoid Athens completely during our trip to Greece. Ongoing problems with the national economy and civil unrest had resulted in numerous protests right on Constitution Square, this is right outside the hotel's front door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

With temperatures soaring to 31C even though it was middle of October, the 7th floor poolside sun terrace and bar at the Hotel Grande Bretagne was perfection and welcome relief from the cold of Zurich. The bar served excellent lunchtime food from the restaurant kitchen, and in the evening one could avail oneself to a splendid view of lit up Acropolis at the 8th floor bar, or if dining at the rooftop restaurant. Service was excellent, rooms super clean, and staff splendid. I happened to be there during all the protests and demonstrations and the hotel was worthy of special services in getting me out of the hotel and to the airport on one of their own cars when the city came to a standstill, as did the whole of its transport system. The restaurant is expensive, but with excellent service, interesting Greek wines opened on the night, decanted from large magnums or jeroboams with theatrical flair by the sommelier - I had a great time! As to the spa and indoor pool area, some of the best I have ever enjoyed anywhere, with Amethyst Cave, herbal saunas particular highlights, all in wonderfully lit up, mosaic-ed and perfectly serviced surrounds. Massage using ESPA products a must and great value at 50E. Can't wait to be back to this splendid hotel, excellently located to Sygmata metro station just outside the hotels door which is one metro stop away from the Acropolis, and the surrounds of Old Town Athens.

Room Tip: The rooms with view onto Parliament House look fab, but take in a lot of noise from major rounds sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

It is probably one of the best hotels in the world. From service to elegant rooms, amazing breakfast and the best views of Athens. Rooms are not simply decorated to look expensive - they are expensive. Dont forget to have at least one dinner at the roof garden. Simply delicious worthing every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George75_UCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The name includes the description of a grand place.  I stayed here 44 years ago as a wide eyed teenager.  Now I have stayed as a wide eyed adult.  This is not an overdone hotel.  It is in perfect taste from the entry by a wide revolving door, well selected decor, to crisp bed linens and fluffy towels.
The final bill included the taxi to the airport which  made leaving very easy without having to get more Euros exchanged.
 The Spa is incredible.  A  most beautiful facility. With an amethyst shower.
The dining on the roof with Greek wine, lovely wait staff, delicious food for breakfast and dinner, and the view of the Acropolis could not have been improved

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyOne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#6 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing