We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Grande Bretagne in Athens, after a relaxing week in Crete. We were welcomed into an elegant, palatial hotel by a friendly hotel staff. The lobby was absolutely stunning and beautifully decorated. Our rooms were gorgeous. We were travelling with our grown children, so we had two junior suites. Both rooms had a comfortable living room with a desk, couch and television, spacious bedroom with another television, great closet space, and a full marble bathroom complete with shower and tub. We decided to dine at the Roof Garden restaurant at the hotel. Meal was expensive, but good, however the vista was exceptional. We had an unobstructed view of the Acropolis lit up in the night sky. It was magical.
This hotel is in a very nice location, close to the Parliament buildings and within walking distance to the Acropolis, Parthenon, Constitution Square and Plaka. As a side note, my daughter left her sweater and Kobo reader in the room. We realized when we were at the airport. The hotel promptly sent it to us at home by courier and items were waiting for us when we got back. We were very impressed with their professionalism, honesty and service. Kudos to Grande Bretagne. We would definitely return to Grande Bretagne.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanmaria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,361)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,195 - 2,201 of 3,362 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was the perfect hotel for our first visit to Athens and for our honeymoon. It is opulently decorated with finished that dictate luxury. The staff was courteous and accommodating, and upon learning we were newlyweds, upgraded us to a room with butler service! Given the hotels location we were able to walk to all the places to see in Athens and had the most amazing view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant. The food and experience there was just as amazing as the hotel. Would stay again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The six floor offers butler service and small terraces (I think it is the only floor that has this)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenSeeker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is one of those hotels where when you arrive, they look at you as you don't belong there! The funny thing is that we did belong there and had booked four rooms for our post cruise family vacation. So, I can give input from eight members of our family.

The women who checked us in was very impatient and acted as though we were bothering her. The rooms had been booked through our cruise travel agent, so thank goodness we had our payment vouchers as she tried to charge us for the rooms we had been paid for four months earlier.

The rooms were nice. Unfortunately, while we had paid the same exorbitant amount for the four rooms, our daughter and her friend were placed in a much smaller room with a flooding shower. When they told housekeeping about the problem with the shower, they were told it was a "construction problem!"

The grand finale was when my son and his fiance took the hotel arranged taxi to the airport. They left 2 1/2 hour early and almost missed their flight as half way to the airport their taxi driver got a call saying he had picked up the wrong couple. Although they begged him to just take them to the airport, he turned around and left them in a remote part of town to fend for themselves and find another taxi! Not quite what you expect from a 5 Star Hotel! The next day I discussed this problem with the Concierge as we had booked two more taxi to the airport for the following day. I was basically told that this was not their fault with not apology what so ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. This is certainly not the kind of experience we aim to offer our guests and would greatly appreciate it if you could provide us with some more information on info.gb@starwoodhotels.com to the attention of the General Manager, as it would help us investigate further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Imagine an exhausting day of travel abroad and arriving at your hotel where you enter through scent misted doors on a 90 degree day. You're immediately greeted with ice tea and ushered to a beautiful, spcaious room. The rooftop retsaurant has a stunning view of the Acropolis and unbelieveable food. Welcome to the Grand Bretagne! What more could one ask for?

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be a bad room in the hotel! Very quiet rooms. Air conditioning works well...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoniTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Grande Bretagne pre-cruise. Once you walk into the lobby, you realize why it is part of the luxury collection of hotels. A luxurious hotel, beautifully appointed! Staff is most helpful and always with a smile. We had a room with a balcony overlooking Syntagma Square and the Parliament - a great view! The Rooftop Garden Restaurant is definitely the place for a delicious breakfast or dinner or drink with breathtaking views of the Acropolis. The hotel really knows how to treat its guests, with luxury but definitely not pretentiously. Your stay at the Grande Bretagne will be a special one - do not hesitate to splurge!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bear003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during the first few days of our honeymoon and from the moment we walked in, we felt the luxury and comfort from the staff. Our room was beautiful and overlooked Parliament and the bustling streets of Athens. We were able to enjoy our complimentary bottle of champagne (a surprise from the manager) and a few other drinks while overlooking the city each night.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel was immaculate. Our room was cleaned at least twice a day and the concierge was quick to respond to our requests. The complimentary breakfast buffet (served on the top floor of the hotel) was fabulous. Everything was fresh and we were able to see the Acropolis from our table each morning while we dined. The pool area was also very nice.

We also took part in high tea, served in the hotel's main dining area off of the lobby. As a first timer, it was exquisite! Versace china and delicious finger sandwiches. What a treat!

The only negative thing I might add is that the concierge was not really able to recommend any good "non tourist" restaurants for us. He seemed to want to keep us and our business in the hotel so we had to explore on our own to find a good place to dine. And, the spa was closed for repairs, but that wasn't something we were interested in anyway.

If we ever go back to Athens, we'll most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the Parliament - you get a front row seat to see the changing of the gu...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My breakfast view of the Parthenon from the hotel restaurant is something I will never forget. My whole family was in awe at the incredible views of Athens. The restaurant is on the top (8th) floor. The location of the Grande Bretagne (GB) is unbeatable. Watch the guards change at the tomb of the unknown soldier in front of Parliament. This occurs at the top of every hour. The hotel has a very high standard of furnishings and excellent service. Food in the restaurant is fantastic and catered to western tastes with a greek twist. The hotel has a great pool on the roof and is kid friendly. The gym is decent. Free Wifi is OK and works in the lobby. There is a higher data rate available in room for a fee. I will be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly facing Syntagma square. The higher you are on this side the more likely you...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,700 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $338 - $913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing