We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is my second review of this hotel having visited some time ago. I am pleased to reiterate the Grande Bretagne did not disappoint. The hospitality, service, fiendliness and competitiveness is nothing short of outstanding! The service on reception, (particularly Marianthi) was exceptional - all employees went out of their way to make us feel special. Also of note, The barman at the pool bar was very knowledgeable and made exceptionally good bespoke cocktails. The rooms are better than most Four Seasons. Despite the Greek situaton we would suggest bypassing the expensive hotels of London and Paris etc and come to Athens where you will genuinely feel appreciated and it will not cost the moon. My only slight quibble was that the Spa water dispenser cups and used bathing towels were not attended to, and removed from the Spa pool/aroma sauna areas for at least two hours on our Sunday night stay between 6.30 and 8.30pm - although the cleaner did arrive as we left. It was also clear the jacuzzi and aroma showers were not functioning as they should? Given the excellent reception and butler service though who is to quibble. Also despite the quibble, the Spa still is genuinely amazing and a great place to pass a few hours.

Room Tip: Rooms over the inner courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,404
    519
    128
    52
    33
See reviews for
573
1,545
136
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The lobby is jaw dropping

The view of the hill from the pool is amazing

The location is incredible

The room was a masterpiece

When they found out it was our honeymoon (pre-June 2011 but the timer thing doesn't go back farther than that), they upgraded us to a room with a nighttime view of the acropolis lit up. Even without that, I would have raved and given this 5 stars, but THAT kind of service and hospitality goes a long way to say the least!

The hotel is not cheap but if you're LOOKING to splurge and pamper yourself, this is the hotel!

STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It’s always so rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We hope to see you again for a future visit to Athens and please accept our congratulations and warmest wishes for your new life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

my boyfriend (now fiance) traveled there over the christmas and new years of 2010/2011. the hotel is utter perfection and it was the trip of a lifetime for us. even though we do a lot of international travel and stay at very nice hotels, nothing seems to compare to this. things get close but we always end up saying "remember the bretagne?" the location....right in the middle of syntagma square, perpedicular to the parliament building with a perfect view of the acropolis off in the distance. the rooftop restaurant is heavenly. the decor is old world style and especially at christmas time, was just breathtaking. our room (junior suite) was extremely spacious with very elegant furnishings. (they upgraded us to the suite as a courtesy upon check-in so don't hestiate to at least ask!) the bed was super comfortable and bathroom spotless. bathroom was spacious as well. the walls seemed completely sound-proof as we very rarely heard noise from any other guests in the hallways. the breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully even when ordered from room service. the turndown service was better than any i'd ever had. housekeeping folded and hung-up any clothes we had lying around each and every day which was fantastic. after long days of sight-seeing, we came "home" to a neat and tidy room which always felt good. now onto the hotel staff and their butler service. each one (they are on a rotating schedule) was professional, knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile to accommodate virtually any request we had. they arranged drivers for us to do sightseeing tours. they recommended restaurants and were always spot-on. they always gave us pointers on how to stay safe in the city and which areas we probably shouldn't go to. alwasy felt like they were looking out for us and took responsibility for our safety and well-being. on the morning of our departure, they pulled us aside and let us know that our flight had been cancelled and had already checked to make sure they could accommodate us for another night. if they didn't pro-actively check on guests' flight status, we would've paid for a cab all the way to the airport only to realize we were stuck and would've had to come all the way back. i would recommend this hotel moreso than any other i've ever stayed at. taking everything into consideration, you simply cannot get much better than this. ENJOY!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mskutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were only able to say one night in Athens after a cruise and we are so happy we chose HGB! Our room was available when we arrived, 7th floor. Beautiful balcony and view of Parliament and the Acropolis. A stunning terrace restaurant with more views. It's almost surreal as you're sitting there. Our dinner and breakfast was excellent. The sommelier recommended some Greek wine that we truly enjoyed. All was so easy and luxurious. Must stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed there for our honeymoon, and there could not be a better hotel of all the places i've been around the world. Service was impeccable, design was nice and the view from the rooftop was amazing. It's pricey, but it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osubuckeye415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

What a beautiful old fashion style hotel. From the elegant lobby to the high ceiling rooms with marble bathrooms, very modern thru out but not loosing the charm of an old world hotel. Not to mention the view from the roof garden...amazing! Dinner on the roof garden was wonderful, service excellent, including the buffet breakfast, strawberries were the ripest I have ever had! Staff was warm and friendly. Concierge very helpful...our new spot when cruising in and out of Athens, you must stay here!

Room Tip: court yard is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napafoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camaiore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

It was my first time in Athens and a friend suggested "Grande Bretagne" hotel. I am really glad I took that advice! The hotel stands right in front of the greek Parliament and only a shot walk away from the Acropolis. Couldn't find a better location in Athens!
As I made my reservation online I recieved an email from Alexandra, the pr of the hotel that asked me if I needed any assistance with transportation, restaurants reservations etc.
She organized a car transfer for us and it was nice to find a chauffer with a sign with my name waiting for us at the airport.
As we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the bell boys who took our luggage and sent it straight to our room
The lady at the check in desk was very kind and helpful
We got a room on the 6th floor. Rooms on the 6th floor have got a nice balcony with one table and two chairs and we loved spending some time there especially at night
Breakfast is on the 8th floor on a wonderful half covered terrace which has got the best view of the Parthenon u could get in town.
Food is delicious and service perfect
In the afternoon after having walked all day we relaxed by the outdoor pool on the 7th floor, which is not too big but very very nice. The pool bar serves beautiful greek dishes and the stuff are super nice
The pool closes at 6pm so then we moved down to level -1 by the indoor pool and spa
What can I say.... the spa is amazing! And free for the hotel guests
Steam bath, dry sauna, and many other facilities, plus a big indoor pool and jacuzzi
If I ever go back to Athens again I will definetly stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flippo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing