We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good (a lot), the bad (very little), and the ugly (read on).”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,435 helpful votes
“The good (a lot), the bad (very little), and the ugly (read on).”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We ended our trip at the Grand Bretagne with a four night stay in a deluxe room.

The good: Great location, service was by and large up to the standards of a deluxe historic hotel with very few missteps. Check-in was rather efficient. Concierge services were excellent. The GB Rooftop Garden was sublime; we ate there for breakfast each morning and had maybe half a dozen meals there throughout our stay. Nice outdoor pool with attached bar. Room was a bit on the smaller side but clean and functional with good amenities.

The bad: Probably not the most exclusive place I’ve been to; there were quite a bit of cruise-ship tourists who frequent here in large groups so if you like peace and quiet or a more formal atmosphere you may want a smaller hotel. Similar to the Ritz Paris, the Grand Bretagne has a bit of a built-in clientele and a whiff of the “you are privileged to stay here” attitude instead of the “we are privileged to have you” outlook. Turndown services missed once. No tour of the facilities on check-in.

The ugly: The “ugly” was provided outside by the anarchists and protestors as we arrived the day after the internationally-publicized riots. They unfortunately smashed the marble steps in front of the hotel and in general caused quite a bit of mayhem in the Square during our stay especially in the evenings. The response of the hotel staff to all of this was something I will remember for quite some time: calm, cool, collected, and very protective of their guests. They made it very apparent to us that our safety was their priority and I never felt intimidated for a moment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,493
    538
    132
    52
    33
See reviews for
611
1,590
139
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Between reviews from Tripadvisor or Tablethotels.com (of which I pride of being a member of), I chose to listen to other Tripadvisor members. Much to my disappointment though, because while I pride myself in making the right choices for a hotel stay, this is one hotel that I probably made a tad bit mistake. Alright, so the rooms were elegant and the marbled bathroom had some sense of class in the gold and steel handles. The beds were a good sleep in, and they tuck you in with some Valhorna chocolates on the side. But I think they need to get their carpets changed as it already smelled musty and old. Breakfast was excellent, and the view overlooking the Parthenon on the roof garden restaurant and bar was a sight to behold. The location was great as it was a 15 sec walk to the subway, a few steps away is Plaka, a few blocks away was Kolonaki and the Parliament is right in your footsteps. The recent taxi strike, however, made traveling a bit further disappointingly tiring in the heat of a Greek Summer. But that's a different story altogether.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The staff at this hotel is hands-down amazing. During the protests, they coordinated perfectly our stay and took all the necessary and appropriate actions to ensure our safety while ensuring a grand experience. Everyone was gracious and helpful. Thanks GB for a great stay at your hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpresnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We try our very best to make our guests’ stay a unique experience and reviews such as yours truly mean a lot to us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

In spite of the protests in Syntagma Square, the excellent staff made us feel both safe and comfortable.
This is a truly superb hotel with the very best of staff in a splendid location.
Of particular note are the breakfasts and dinners at the rooftop restaurant. The dinner we had during our stay was exceptional and the view breathtaking (as always).
Do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I wasnt lucky enough to stay at this fabulous hotel, but I did have High Tea there with friends. The lobby, restrooms and Wintergarden are beautifully renovated, befitting a famed Grand hotel. Although the scones were a bit dry, the rest of the food was World class. The sandwiches extremely tasty and the Pastry Chef deserves a pat on the back for his fabulous cakes- one even had Goldleaf on it. The service is first class and they even offered to pack up our left-over cakes and scones (I have never been offered this anywhere else in the World). We accepted!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityhotelsightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Highly recommended luxury hotel - upgraded our room to suite which overlooked Syntagma Square and the Acropolis. We were able to watch the changing of the guards outside the parliament as well as all the protesters. Hotel is in easy walking distance to main sights and plenty of restaurants and stores in vicinity. Have stayed at this hotel before and would stay again- it will never disappoint! The breakfast was superb - great selection.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Superb hotel.Rooms lovely and very well furnished.A real gem with lovely antiques,decor and furnishings.Butler service very good. Breakfast served on roof top with an amazing view.Service from all staff, front of house to Spa first class. Great Thai massage organized despite late in bound flight from London.

Will be back.

Well done

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 04-03-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,026 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,481 reviews
Hilton Athens
#21 of 326 in Athens
3,563 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing