We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodations were tops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Accommodations were tops”
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We followed the advise of fellow tripadvisors and were extremely happy with the Deluxe nonsmoking room with an Acropolis view which included a good breakfast buffet.

We were surprised for our honeymoon with a bottle of cheap champagne and strawberries; a nice touch.

Although we arrived around 11am (before normal check-in time), we were able to check-in.

The spa was an interesting experience. We tried the couples suite, which included use of the facilities (which seemed eerily empty), a mud bath (you coat your significant other in mud), followed by hot steam, a warm shower, and then a couples massage. Unfortunately, the hot steam wasn't turned on, so we could not be sure of the true experience, although the application of COLD mud to each other was not as pleasant as originally envisioned. The staff were gracious and offered a free facial massage as compensation for a less than ideal experience. Beware the spa provides you with paper-like 'underwear' for use under your robes, which becomes see-through when wet, a discouragement to modest folk who may have been interested in taking a dip in the pool.

The rooftop restaurant food was good, although not great (by picky New York standards); the view of the acropolis was particularly wonderful (its height made it an even better view than the view from our room). A Friday night in October, the restaurant wasn't crowded and we had no problem with smokers.

Enjoying a mid-day drink at the 7th floor pool was quite pleasant, although mixed drinks were quite pricey (16 euro).

For a brief period, security was heightened and we had to walk through metal detectors when entering the hotel, apparently as a result of a high-profile politician staying in the hotel. This was a minor nuisance.

The location of the Grande Bretagne is great, close to Parliament (we watched the guards perform certain routines from our balcony), a nearby park, Plaka which is a local marketplace full of shops and various eateries, and the Acropolis.

We were happy with a walking tour of the Acropolis booked through Truegreece, which was shorter and less strenuous than anticipated (approx. 3 hours, tour guide meets you at the hotel lobby and takes you by bus up to the Acropolis).

The presence of lazing stray dogs everywhere is a strange experience, but they seem healthy enough.

  • Liked — Hotel room is extremely clean, marble bathroom is gorgeous.
  • Disliked — The hotel is pricey, but you get your money's worth.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Bear729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,441
    526
    129
    52
    33
See reviews for
584
1,564
138
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We stayed at the Grand Bretagne for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. I suggested the hotel to our travel agent after reading reviews on tripadvisor. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready yet. Which we figured would happen. They offered us complimentary drinks at the bar while we waited. They did upgrade us to a suite with an acropolis view, but when I asked if it was 1 king bed , they realized that that the room had 2 twins...so we downgraded our view to get a larger bed.
That was the only real glitch. The service was excellent,the place is beautiful and clean. We didnt find it noisy at all but then again we were facing the courtyard -the hotel is on the corner of a large and busy street.
The ONLY thing that made us feel alittle out of place is that we were the youngest people there by about 30 years or so! Perhaps because the summer season was about over? I dont know but we definitely did not get the young vibe except for the staff!
All in all the food was good, the service was good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — beautiful,clean rooms...great service
  • Disliked — age difference among other travelers
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The Grande Bretagne is a beautiful hotel. It lives up to its name in that it is grand and luxurious. The staff is helpful and not stuffy. Our room was beautiful and had the best bathroom of the 7 hotels we stayed in on our trip. The room wasn't particularly huge, but it was nice-sized and well-appointed. The rooftop restaurant (with Acropolis views) is very good. The breakfast was also very good. There is a rooftop pool as well. The location is good being right across from Syntagma Square and a 10-15 minute walk to the Plaka district and about 20-30 minutes to the Acropolis. The only issue we had with the hotel is that when we checked in it took them more than an hour to bring us our bags which was very frustrating--it took two calls and my going down to the front desk to get them brought up. Apparently a big group came in right after us, but that is not my issue. We wasted an hour sitting in our room when we could have been out and about.

  • Liked — The luxuriousness of the hotel
  • Disliked — The wait for our bags to be brought up to our room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hendry1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

This hotel is simply spectacular. We stayed in a lovely room with great amenities. I simply love the Molton Brown products in the bath. The rooftop pool was spectacular, it was a great place to people watch. I stayed with my partner and it was gay heaven! Very friendly staff and the bar is ideal for seeing the Acropolis at night. The brunch was spectacular......the people were super friendly!
PS,
( we are gay decorators so we know what we are talking about)

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank texasguy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at the Grande Bretagne for five night in early May in advance of our Silverseas Cruise. The hotel is in a great location for walking around Athens, particularly to the Plaka. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was elegant. The breakfast buffet, included in the cost of our room, was generous, fresh, varied and delicious. Our luggage was several days delayed (lost in Heathrow!) and we were able to buy a few items at good prices at the Attica Department store nearby, using a discount coupon provided by the concierge. We purchased a tour to Sunion through the concierge and were very pleased we made the trip. We would highly recommend the Grande Bretagne to any visitor to Athens. SSeasCruiser

  • Liked — Location, breakfast buffet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Hotel is ok renewed classic luxury (a beat fake)
If you don't get a suite on the top floor i guess, rooms are small, not so pretty at all, have noisy air conditionning and don't even think about open the window even more noisy.I don't really understand what luxury hotel means for so many reviews i read(as i'm really use to travel in real luxury hotel ,ex: Arts in Barcelona).Grande-Bretagne staff is also a lot of attitude to custommers not really what i call elegant!
When we arrived wanted to have lunch on the roof restaurant but we were told we couldn't be seating outside because it was too hot!! The food was ok but really not worth the price. The only good thing about this hotel is the location
I booked a superior room at 400€ a night and it's not worth it at all
We didn't even stay one night and mooved to the Hilton where for less you have a room on the executive floor with view on the acropolis a little terrasse, an amazing bar on the top floor with an incredible view and nice and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Guitoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We spent two nights at the Grande Bretagne and we were very pleased with the location of the hotel, shopping and sites were a easy walk away and the metro stop even has an exit to the steps of the hotel so the location couldn't be better. The lobby and public areas of the hotel were beautiful and well maintained. We had a massage in the hotel's spa and were very pleased with the quality of the treatment and the spa staff but the rest of the hotel staff seemed annoyed and interrupted when asked anything. A hotel of this level should have a courteous and helpful concierge staff. We always found they were busy working on something else and whatever requests we had were so far below their perceived level of importance that the answers were useless. We had friends staying at other hotels in Athens and used their concierges at their hotels to recommend restaurants rather than bothering our own at the Grande Bretagne. Our room was large, especially for a European hotel and comfortable. The turndown service was hit-and miss but the room was always clean.

  • Liked — Quality of rooms
  • Disliked — Inattentive staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Drifterbytrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,460 reviews
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,514 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Vas. Georgiou A' 1 | Constitution Square, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of the famed Acropolis and Parthenon, regal Constitution Square and the Parliament, lush Lycabettus Hill, or the original Olympic Stadium, the Hotel Grande Bretagne offers unrivaled perspectives of Athens' mythical history. Each of the 320 guest rooms offers enchanting views of the hotel courtyard or a spellbinding panorama of the city's timeless landmarks, while the exquisite interiors pay homage to Greek culture with intricate moldings and classic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing