We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Construction in progress, but amazing nonetheless” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parthenon

Parthenon
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.57*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Athens, Acropolis and Cape Sounion with Lunch
Ranked #3 of 342 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The majestic ruins of an ancient Greek building, known for its dignified white marble columns and perfect sense of proportion.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Construction in progress, but amazing nonetheless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Parthenon is the crown jewel of the Acropolis; its history is breathtaking and the fact that it is still standing is amazing in itself. The view from the top is a 360 panoramic of Athens, the ocean, the mountains. Wear shoes with good traction, because the marble can be slippery for sandles and similar shoes!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,425
    1,900
    452
    87
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Parthenon was inspiring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our hotel, Athen's Gate, offered an excellent view of the Parthenon. We visited it on our first full day in Athens. The temperature was very hot, but we moved through at our own pace. It's experience we won't soon forget.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Green53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beauty and History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had always wanted to visit the Parthenon, The Acropolis, and to see the temples on the mountain top. The work being done was distracting, but the history and beauty were there. Had a wonderful guide from Shore Excursions Group, Ltd, and she told us of the everyday life of Athenians, the responsibilities of a citizen of Athens, and the life of ancient Greece. Fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Parthenon, Athens, Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Any person visiting Athens must save at least half a day to visit the Parthenon. This magnificent art piece and living history museum is the proof of the greatness of ancient Greeks. You need to go to the top to feel the superiority of the construction and the view of Athens.
By June of 2012, and I believe it will take a long time to be concluded, there are many workers and lots of equipment, what makes impossible clear pictures of the monument alone. Another problem is that the way up is very difficult and almost impossible for elder people and wheel chairs.
To complement this visit I suggest people to go to the Parthenon Museum, down the hill to better understand the history and the construction of the monument.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewtonSViannaJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Rick Steves Says Best In The Morning And He Is Right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The NCL Spirit Southern Europe * Eastern Mediterranean Cruise
October 26-Nov 6, 2013
Venice > Athens > Istanbul > Western Italy > Barcelona

Our best resources for our self-excursions into ports were Rick Steve’s Mediterranean Cruise Ports, Rick Steve’s Pocket Athens, the Rick Steve’s Free Audio Tours iPhone app and multiple posts to Cruise Critic by Puablo who did the same cruise that we did 4 months earlier.

We wanted to be in the first group off the ship to “beat feet down the street” to get to the metro and to the Acropolis when it opened at 8 a.m. to beat the crowds because Rick Steve said that the best time to be at the Acropolis is before the tour buses disgorge throngs of tourists at 10 a.m. He was dead-on correct! Holy cow!

During our day, we listened to Rick Steves free audio tour app to guide us through the Acropolis. We also visited the Ancient Agora (and its excellent museum) the Roman Agora, Hadrians Arch, Hadrians Library, the Temple of Zeuss, the flea market, Ermou Street, the Platka, Souvalki Row (twice!) and a heap of cool churches all guided by Rick Steves books and audio.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parthenon also viewed

 

Been to Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing