We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rick Steves Says Best In The Morning And He Is Right!”
Review of Parthenon

Parthenon
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.67*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Athens, Acropolis and Cape Sounion with Lunch
More Info
$107.56*
and up
Private Tour: Half day Athens Sightseeing and Acropolis Museum
More Info
$231.86*
and up
Athens Private 5 hours Walking Tour
Ranked #3 of 358 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The majestic ruins of an ancient Greek building, known for its dignified white marble columns and perfect sense of proportion.
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Rick Steves Says Best In The Morning And He Is Right!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The NCL Spirit Southern Europe * Eastern Mediterranean Cruise
October 26-Nov 6, 2013
Venice > Athens > Istanbul > Western Italy > Barcelona

Our best resources for our self-excursions into ports were Rick Steve’s Mediterranean Cruise Ports, Rick Steve’s Pocket Athens, the Rick Steve’s Free Audio Tours iPhone app and multiple posts to Cruise Critic by Puablo who did the same cruise that we did 4 months earlier.

We wanted to be in the first group off the ship to “beat feet down the street” to get to the metro and to the Acropolis when it opened at 8 a.m. to beat the crowds because Rick Steve said that the best time to be at the Acropolis is before the tour buses disgorge throngs of tourists at 10 a.m. He was dead-on correct! Holy cow!

During our day, we listened to Rick Steves free audio tour app to guide us through the Acropolis. We also visited the Ancient Agora (and its excellent museum) the Roman Agora, Hadrians Arch, Hadrians Library, the Temple of Zeuss, the flea market, Ermou Street, the Platka, Souvalki Row (twice!) and a heap of cool churches all guided by Rick Steves books and audio.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,275
    2,099
    503
    94
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Its nice”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I bougt my tickets from the The Temple of Olympian Zeus , Athens, Greece, it cost you 12 euro to visit most of the sites and its goof for four days. I did the The Temple of Olympian Zeus , Athens, Greece and the acropolis, you can go to seven places using the same tickets.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kateríni, Pieria, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see monument for all travellers”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

One of the most exciting places to visit - historically speaking it was the heart of Ancient Athens. You can also take a bird's eye view of the whole contemporary Athens.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The size cannot really be explained, to walk inside it is amazing, its a little bit out of central Athens, but worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmilyPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Acropolis tour”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nota was an excellent guide for the ancient Agora and Acropolis in Athens. She was able to bring the places to life and really give me a sense of what the people and culture were like long ago. Also how advanced they were and what we've learned from them. I would highly recommend her!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parthenon also viewed

 

Been to Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing