We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Acropolis
from $14.62
More Info
from $32.61
More Info
from $41.49
More Info
from $55.09
More Info
Reviews (34,285)
Filter reviews
34,285 results
Traveler rating
25,349
6,721
1,653
357
205
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25,349
6,721
1,653
357
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bring water bucket list ticket office worth the climb avoid the crowds amazing site wear comfortable shoes awe inspiring take your time visit athens bottle of water ancient history hill ruins temple scaffolding marble
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 34,285 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The cradle of the world. Worth going miles. We learnt a lot of the history of the world in general and Greece in particular.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank viraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Must go place in Athens, great view, you could spend 2-3 hours walking around, imagining the great Greek empire. I go in the morning, very hot sun already, suggest not to go 1-3pm or you may get burnt.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank junniew2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just like the Parthenon, it is worth the climb. On hot days. Go early or late. Bring water. You can buy ahead or at the gate. It will take 30-60 to get up there. Pretty easy for most ages as just some small inclines and steps. The views are gorgeous. There might be some construction material but you should be able to get some good photos

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Akash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You really cant come to Athens without "doing" the Acropolis can you. Not recommended for those with severe mobility issues due to the terrain but they have made good provision for the less well mobile guests.
Not cheap at 20 Euro per person. Do get there as early as you possibly can. It opens at 8:00 am. Firstly, there is little or no Shade up there and the Sun can be extremely fierce around Midday. Also, from about 10:30 onwards a huge convoy of tour buses start arriving from the Port bringing in hundreds of Tourists from the Cruise Ships and it really does get very hectic indeed

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This site is without a doubt a must see during your visit in Athens. It lives and breathes the history that was made here and we were in awe seeing the temples. We missed the raising of the flag by an inch but saw the military parade going down which was great as well.
However we were disappointed by the rudeness of the staff at the entrance as well as the lack of info for what is the biggest must do in Athens. At the ticket office we showed our student ID's for free entrance as stated on the website to be promptly told that my international student card (ISIC) was not accepted... In other places staff accepted it or were very apologetic and agreed to let me in if I could show some other proof like a document from my school. Had to pay the normal entrance fee of € 20 instead as this ISIC is the only proof we get in our college and was treated very rude.
The lack of info signs and lack of audioguide for what is Athens biggest attraction just made the impression that this is a milk cow for the Greek state more obvious. Luckily we downloaded the free Rick Steves audioguide beforehand on our smartphones which gave us the info we needed. Still I'd rather have some good info for the price they ask...

Tip: Go at 8am when the acropolis opens and take the 2nd entrance (close to the acropoli metro stop on the right after following the first signs for the acropolis). There are almost no lines there and going early will give you a glimpse of the ceremony the army does every morning. After that the acropolis gets very crowded

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank 318maximev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews