We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plaka Hotel, Worst Hotel I've ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plaka Hotel, Worst Hotel I've ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

What a huge mistake booking this awful hotel. The room we were given on the 6th floor was extremely tiny. Small double bed with a very old lumpy spring mattress which was extremely uncomfortable. Small mouldy bathroom as well. We were kept awake till around 1;30am by constant banging and scraping of chairs coming from the Rooftop bar above us. Combined with constant scratching (I'm sure the bed had bedbugs) We couldn;t wait to get out of this grotty old hotel. I honestly recommend you don't stay here.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything was terrible
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank bimberoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,186
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
633
1,520
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

Great location, rooms are small but clean,front desk were helpful.
Not bad value

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Nelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

Stayed there only 2 nights. Trip Advisor was used to make the decision as well as some of the pictures on Trip Advisor. Some of the other hotels in Athens had some horrible comments written about it. We went with Plaka because of some of the positive reviews. The front desk staff were very nice. They promptly had taxis waiting for us when we requested them. They even kept their wake up call times. Complimentary breakfast was more than satisfactory. Their terrace had a great view of the Acropolis and good service for the drinks. I think they're worth the money we paid them.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Weird labeling of floors - Like first floor wasn't the lobby
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

This was my second time in Athens, & opted for a hotel in a better location vs. a luxury hotel. I am so glad I did. The rooms were clean and functional, like most European hotels. The view from the room & rooftop was awesome. Could see the entire Parthenon perched above on the Acropolis. JUST like the postcards. But the best part was the location. Perfect. In the middle of the Plaka. Just go out the front door, turn left & take about 20 steps & there you are. Lots of shops & restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

My husband & I stayed 2 nights at the Plaka on 25 & 26 June 2007 and again on 3 July 2007 (after returning from the Greek Islands). We found the location excellent. Just had to catch the train at the airport and go to Monastiraki station (about 40 minutes or so). From there it is about 5 minutes walking to the Plaka Hotel (and is no problem at all after you have done it once).
The Hotel is in the centre of the Plaka area and a short walk to great restaurants and endless shops. The Acropolis is magical from the roof top of the hotel bar. We actually had an amazing view of the Acropolis from our room (511 but I guess 411, 311 etc would have similar views).
Our room was clean, comfy .... not luxuious..but had all the creature comforts we needed including the very welcome air conditioning.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the Hotel minded one of our suitcases (at no charge) while we visited the Greek Islands.
The breakfasts were not "American " style, but were more than adequate. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lift was small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flyingfoxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

This hotel was a refreshing stay compared to several other places in Europe. The location was incredible- just down the street from Monistraki and you can see The Acropolis from the roftop. The breakfast is pretty good and the staff are resonably polite. I definitely reccomend staying here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fsb1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

Clean hotel right in the heart of the action that is the "Plaka"! Near everything. The Acropolis, museums, Parliament, National Cathederal, shopping, night life, restaurants, etc, etc. Hotel is neat and clean. Small rooms and really small bathrooms, but we found that to be somewhat typical of cities in Greece. Breakfast was very good. Rooftop terrace has a very romantic view of Athens and the Acropolis. Nice little bar there too. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a superb location and is willing to pay for that, since the rooms are pretty ordinary. Front desk was helpful too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small bathrooms, really hard beds.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing