We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel for its Location, comfort and staff.”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Plaka Hotel, Athens, is very well located. Close to Quality shops,resteraunts and historical sites.Our room was very quiet and clean. The beds and pollows were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The rooftop bar and patio was a great place to relax and view the sunset and the Acropolis.The breakfast was nice, with a good variety of hot and cold food. The managment and staff were very friendly and helpfull. We also took advantage of the hotels laundry service, which was very good value.
Overall I think the Plaka Hotel was very good value for the price we paid and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicmarineservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2010

Dear family,
I thank you for your positive review and your high score. I am so pleased that you had such a confortable stay in our hotel and hope to see you again some time in the future.

Best regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,344)
There are newer reviews for Plaka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,270 - 2,276 of 3,345 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Hotel Plaka is located, not surprisingly, in the Plaka, which is the mostly pedestrian area north and west of the Acropolis. The attractions near the Acropolis are within reasonable walking distance for an active tourist. The hotel is 7 stories tall, with roof garden/bar which provides a wonderful view of the Acropolis. The roof is not open before 8:00 am, but if you ask the desk clerk you might be able to get up there early if you want to take some sunrise photos. After a tiring day of being a tourist, it was great to lounge on the roof, watch the sun set, and see the lights come on around the Acropolis.

The hotel has recently been remodeled. The rooms small but clean and comfortable. The showers are great. The air conditioning is efficient and quiet. Each room has a safe. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you make an early reservation you can request a room with a view of the Acropolis.

The breakfast buffet is free and consists of fruit, cheeses, cereals, breads, coldcuts, scrambled eggs, and a couple other hot items. Not wonderful, but perfectly acceptable.

The only negative I have to report is that the wi-fi is not free. It costs 1 euro for 15 minutes, with lower rates for longer periods.

This is a good hotel for active tourists who want a decent home base from which to launch their explorations of Athens. If you just want to lounge around the hotel all day, you should look for one with more amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drefson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2010

Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel was very nice experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. Hope to see you again. Best regards.
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here for three nights in September. The hotel has recently been refurbished. The rooms are clean and fresh as are the bathrooms. The breakfast room is modern and inviting. The range of breakfast items available is one of the largest we have ever seen. The manageress on our first morning went around to each guest checking as how things are going and offering advice as to where and how to go. We have never struck this service before. There is a great rooftop terrace which has a bar open at night. Spectacular views of the Acropolis.Wi fi is not free but available at a very modest cost.
Keep in mind the Plaka area is THE Tourist area of Athens. The streets are packed and traffic in a gridlock. Having said this you are here to see and all sights are within walking distance. Hard to see how you could go wrong

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in Plaka hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful as well to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on a future visit to Athens.
Best regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Very centrally located, the hotel, recently renovated, has very nice and spacious rooms with a stunning view on the Acropolis.
The top-floor Terrasse is absolutely stunning with a wonderful view on the Acropolis. The kind of place where one would want time to stop.
The generously served breakfast buffet is served in a nice room with lots of windows and space.
The staff is very helpful.
Walking out of the hotel you're in the centre of Plaka with all its cultural and shopping attractions.
Will certainly go back. Can highly recommend it for single, family, but also business trips.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

Dear guest,
I thank you very much for your review and your high score!
I really hope to see you again on your next trip to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Plaka Hotel is located in the Plaka section of Athens. The best feature of this hotel is that is within easy walking distance of the major archaeological attractions and many eating establishments. The staff is friendly and courteous. Rooms are small but comfortable. Breakfast is included and is excellent. The rooftop garden/bar is a great place to view the Acropolis at night before or after going out to dinner.

Unless you are familiar with Athens and the Plaka in particular, I would not recommend taking the metro from the airport to the hotel. Emerging from the metro into Monastiraki Square and trying to find the hotel on the myriad of streets leading away from the square would be daunting for the first time visitor.

Also, getting a room with an Acropolis view is unlikely. I estimate that less than a quarter of the rooms have a view of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnlikes2walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We chose this hotel for its location close to Monastiraki Station, which was an easy 5 minute walk away. We asked for a room with an Acropolis view and when we drew back the curtains on arrival - wow, what a great view we had. The room was very comfortable, had a great shower room and was spotlessly clean. There was an easily operated good-sized safe in the room. The rooftop bar (open in the evening, but accessible all day for relaxing) was a bonus and a great spot from which to see the Acropolis and whole Athens skyline by day and night. There was a wide choice at breakfast - continental with scrambled eggs and sausages as hot items.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkYorkshirelass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

Dear guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know that your stay at the Plaka hotel and the view from your window was an unforgettable experience.
I hope to see you again.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Don't let the outside of this hotel put you off. Conveniently located on metropolis in plaka, this place is 5 minutes walk to everything....Plaka shops and restaurants, Monastiraki markets and cosmopolitan lifestyle, Ermou shopping district, Syndagma sq for transportation, changing of the gaurs and the botanical gardens.

They offer a daily breakfast that has the usual continental style breakfast but with scrambled eggs, sausages and beans as well.

At breakfast, the hotel manager walked to every table, introduced herself then asked If everyone was alright with peoples stay or if they need help with information and directions. we had a requirement to change rooms and this was met with smiles and sorted within 15 minutes. The friendly staff at the couture we welcoming and always helped with transportation or eating advice.

The rooms are recently renovated and beds comfortable. The bathrooms are aged but clean and new balcony doors are fitted that are double glazed and get rid of any normal traffic noise.

One night we did have some late party noise but it is Greece and it was a Saturday night and after a long day out, it didn't wake my 6 year old, but was more just plain annoying.

The only thing I would have liked was free wifi. Wifi is an extra 8 euro per day.

All things said and done, I would definitely stay here again and again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMandOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed from the party near by, which happens once a year.
I am glad still that your young son could have a good sleep. I hope you will choose us again on a future trip to Athens.

Kind regards
Dorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,846 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,335 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,563 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $80 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing