We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

This is a great tourist class hotel! We were so pleased with our experience. One fellow at the front desk is a little gruff at first, but he seems to warm up after a day. The other staff were veryvery helpful, especially as we were leaving and needed a 4:00 AM wake up call, a taxi, and a little coffee and breakfast (they actually opened the dining buffet for a few visitors who were leaving early).

The rooms and bathrooms are positively spotless. Beds a little harder than we spoiled Americans are used to, but they're comfortable. The candid photos on Trip Advisor are very accurate.

The continental breakfast includes scrambled eggs and little boiled sausages along with the usual cereals, cold meat, cheese, jams, fruit, and coffe/tea/juice. You can really load up and be ready to go until lunch (which is around 3 PM for Greeks).

The location is excellent. We were gleefully congratulating ourselves on finding a hotel so centrally located to the Acropois and the other sights we wanted to see. It's a vibrant area. Even after visiting some of the more posh sections of the city, such as Kolonaki and Syntagma Square, we were glad we chose to stay in Plaka. The swankier areas look exactly like other swanky areas of other European cities, but Plaka is full of life, shops, music, small winding streets, Roman ruins, and great Greek food.

Our experience was also very consistent. We stayed at the Plaka Hotel two times during our trip: when we first arrived in Athens (for 3 nights) and when we returned from Crete on our way back to the States (for 2 nights). Both times we enjoyed the same great experience. We're already planning another trip back to Greece and the Plaka Hotel is where we'll stay when in Athens!

San Diego, California

  • Liked — cleanliness and it felt very comfortable
  • Disliked — honestly, I would have liked some tomatoes at breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank merrie_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,186
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
633
1,520
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Plaka hotel is situated in the Plaka area. It is a few minutes walk to Monastiraki-square where is a flee market and a metro station. To Syndagma it's not even a ten minutes walk. Plaka hotel is close to everything and therefore is perfect for a trip to Athens.

The triple room is quite small with no extra room to hang out. Our room was clean and had a wonderful view of the Acropolis. Try to get a room on that side of the hotel, because there is no view at all on the other side. Also room facing Acropolis is very quiet.

Breakfast is very basic with bread, cereals and so on. Nothing special, but gets your day started.

There are great pita-places near Plaka hotel, so you won't go hungry.

I would definetely recommend Plaka hotel to everyone, for it's location.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tessuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

This boutique hotel had the perfect location for our vacation. We walked to the Parthenon, Athens flea market, Ancient Agora, National Archeological Museum, Benaki Museum, Hadrian's Arch, restaurants. We did not use a rental car and only used a taxi to and from the airport. We had two adjoining rooms for our family of 4, 2 parents, 2 teenagers. The bathrooms are tiny! The breakfast at the hotel was very convenient. We did not use the small lounge open at all times because we were so busy sightseeing. The roof garden has an amazing view of the Acropolis, which is lit at night and appears almost magical. The front desk was very helpful with restaurant suggestions within walking distance and arranging 2 taxis upon checkout(our luggage was too big for the small trunk of 1 taxi). Their taxis cost less than the one we got ourselves when we first got to the airport. We would definitely stay here again. Only negative was the tiny bathrooms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NCTravMorrisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburb NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Hotel Plaka, as well as the nearby Cathedral, are located between Syntagma and Monastiraki metro stations (these are your reference points to walk around). From there, all the major attractions are within a walking distance.
The hotel is refreshed and modern, rooms are spacious and clean, breakfasts are tasty, and the staff is very polite and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised with this 3-star hotel.
Before our trip, I worried about their bathrooms because of Frommer’s room information note indicating “67 units (38 with shower only)”. No bathrooms in the other half? Don’t worry, you won’t go dirty to bed since there are also bathtubs (though small) fitted with those hand-held telephone-showers.
Some 15 rooms from 2nd up to the 6th floor in the back have a view of the Acropolis and they are also quieter than the street side. Ask for rooms with 10 and 11 (e.g. 610) as you’ll have a partial view from rooms with 12 (see my photo from the Acropolis).

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank bkw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

Excellent hotel in every way. The hotel was very clean, and the breakfast was huge. I'd already made my booking but rang the night before my arrival to ask if they could ensure my triple room had a view of the Acropolis. They couldn't promise me anything over the phone but when I got to Athens I had a room with THE VIEW!!!! Out of this world.!! The staff were very helpful. Yes the hotel can be a bit noisy but that's just the stray dogs that roam around Athens so not alot the hotel can do about that. The hotel was so central (right in the heart of Plaka district) that I didn't need to catch a metro once, just walked everywhere. As our flight left quite late at night and we had to be out of the room by 12.00 we were able to leave our baggage in their baggageroom (at no extra cost) and to our surprise they have a lounge where we could help ourselves to coffe, tea, biscuits, and use the bathroom facilities. Excellent hotel, would highly recommend and if ever I'm in Athens again I'll be staying there.

  • Liked — View, cleanliness, breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank absolutelyfabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2007

Oh my gosh!!! This is the best location to stay if traveling to Athens! My room had a view of the Acropolis, air conditioning, free breakfast, and cheap laundry (8 EUR for a huge bag), all for 70 EUR a night!!!! Granted I didn't need the airconditioning because it was Jan, but for those of you going in summer...that will be important. (For those of you going in winter...beware...you can't turn off the heat. So if you like to sleep in dry sheets you will be forced to open a window.) Don't get me wrong...I will stay there again when I return to Athens because the area, called Plaka, is the place to be. Not only are you surrounded by the ancient Greek ruins, there are numerous restaurants, shops, day trip travel opportunities, and night entertainment within four blocks!!!
Pros: Everything you go to Athens to see is footsteps away!! Safe, clean rooms. Good cheap laundry service. Helpful staff.
Cons: Unable to control heat (winter), can be noisy at night on the street.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Trusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

I was in Athens for 2 days and this hotel was fantastic especially for the short time i was there. Central to all the attractions, walked to everything within 15mins. Location is fantastic, bars, restuarants, shops and markets all surround the hotel. Had a view of the Acropolis from my belcony. Room was just as shown on the website, only disappointing thing was the bathroom - the shower nozzel had to be held and shower doors didn't close. Breakfast was great - croisants, bread, sausages, egg, cereal, fruit, jam, cheese and cold meat., coffee, tea..kept me going the whole day. Receiption staff were very helpful, organising tours and area info etc.
The metro is just around the corner and if coming from the airport its the last stop - Monastraki, only costs EUR 6 single from airport. Metro is easy to use too although, if staying in Plaka hotel you can just walk everywhere.
Definately recommend doing a 1 day cruise to the 3 Islands - Aegina, Hydra and Poras - was beautiful. Personally you can do the ruins in Athens within a day.
I'd stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everyone...no regrets.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NooTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing