We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for the price, Great location”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price, Great location”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We only stayed two nights at the Plaka after a visit to the Greek Islands, as our flight home was out of Athens. The hotel was really centrally located and the rooftop bar had an amazing view of the Acropolis. If you are a student traveling with an ISIC card, you are entitled to receive one free drink from the rooftop bar, which is nice considering they are 7 euro! Wireless internet is also available for a cheap rate. The rooms were cute and clean. The bathroom was small but did the trick. Free breakfast buffet in the morning was also a nice addition to our stay. A Starbucks is right around the corner from the hotel, and beyond that is a wonderful touristy area to shop and eat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deebenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
I thank you for all details and comments on Plaka hotel.
I am gald to know that you enjoyed your stay and the view from the roof top!
Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    1,196
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
636
1,546
225
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Since arriving to this very nice hotel the hostess receives you with a smile and a very professional and warm attitude. It is an impecable , clean, hotel. My room had an overwhelming view of the Acropolis, ibreakfats was simply delicious , the service of all the personnel was the very best.
This Hotel on the terrace has a magnificent view of the Acropolis in the morning it is beautiful in the morning and at night all iluminated , WOW!!!!
Plaka hotel is very conveniently located , the museum, the Acropolis, is walking distance, and all the beauty of Plaka.
I recommend this Hotel to all my firends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasha62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
I thank you very much for your candid review and high score!
Hope to see you again on a future trip.
Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
g.manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Very nice hotel, perfectly situated, close to Plaka, Monastiraki and Syntagma. Dead easy to find, even if its your first time in Athens. Recently refurbished, the rooms are clean and the roof garden was being completed when I was there (May 2010). The staff are very helpful at any time of the night or day. The hotel was on the full side, which is always a good sign, and is good value for money. I would unhesitatingly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive review on Plaka Hotel and I am please we offered you a pleasant stay!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The hotel is very well situated for sight-seeing in Athens and easily reached from the airport by bus or metro.
We were pleasantly greeted on arrival and reception staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about where to go and what to see.
Our room was excellent and breakfast served in a very pleasant restaurant.
The roof top bar area offered a wonderful view of the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john504167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your review and for your high score!
We are working out what we can do best for the internet charge.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We picked hotel based on other reviews and facilities. In particular having a roof terrace that you could see Acropolis from. Terrace closed whole time we were there and lots of buidling drilling noise during day - so no siesta possible.

Room a bit variable - resonable facilites in bedroom but things like bathroom floor tilles cracked, shower screen leaky.

Would have appriciated if hotel had warned us in advance that this was happening.

Would consider staying again - but would check that renovations are complete.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We knew the hotel from a former stay, but it improved a lot. Clean and spacious rooms, nice shower, tasty breakfast and devoted and very polite personnel.
At the reception we got a lot of help : phonecalls, roadmaps to find the embassy after the loss of our wallet, etc...
We enjoyed our stay from March 29th till April 8th 2010 and hope to go back next year or the year after.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich_claes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your positive review on Plaka Hotel and I am pleased we offered you a pleasant stay though you.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards

Dorina Stathopoulou
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

The location of this hotel is great - right in the middle of everything. BUT ... the bed in the room was broken and barely holding together. The bathroom was tiny and don't drop the soap in the shower - you'd have to step outside the shower to retrieve it! (and I'm a size 10). We found the staff to be abrupt and totally unhelpful. Will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajangirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing