We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for the sights”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The location of the Plaka Hotel was its main drawcard for me. It is on the doorstep of all the central sights, and very close to transport and other amenities (there's an internet cafe almost next door, for example). From my room I could see the Acropolis (if I leant out the window). The room was kept clean and was very warm (great for drying winter clothes). It was not particularly well sound-proofed. The bedroom was a decent size and was more up-to-date than the bathroom, which was shabby but had a proper (albeit tiny) shower (no bath). Everything worked. Breakfast was in a lovely big room on the mezzanine overlooking the busy, interesting street. The food was nice. I would definitely return to this comfortable hotel. Best: location. Worst: I wouldn't be able to afford to stay here in summer! ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenie-esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,426 - 2,432 of 3,441 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2009

We were tired and hungry after a full day of traveling by two different ferries from Cesme, Turkey, and enduring the trip from Piraeus to downtown Athens on the Metro which was partially out of service. We stumbled upon this hotel because it was right in the Plaka, the historic centre of old Athens. The view of the Acropolis from our window was amazing. All the sites we wanted, Parthenon, Agora, National Archaeology Museum, Flea Market, were within an easy walk. Many funky tavernas close to the hotel, and the touristy shopping in the Plaka is right there!

We were delighted with the cleanliness, decor, and the service, so we booked our room. It was one of the best things we did on the trip! The staff were courteous and helpful, the room was nicely decorated, and the bathroom was just fine.

Service was great, breakfasts were generous and the choices ran the gamut from Greek to North American food.

We used the laundry service, and it our clothes came back sooner than promised, and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jetlagrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed there with several members of my family, and we reserved four rooms. The Plaka Hotel is in a great location and the view of the Acropolis is nothing short of breathtaking. Get a room in the back for the views.

It's within easy walking distance of all the central Athens highlights including Syntagma, Monastaraki, the Acropolis, and of course, the Plaka and it's wonderful restaurants. And it's within an short walk from the Monastaraki metro station that has an easy connection with the Athens airport for about 5 or 6 Euros.

The hotel is well maintained, and fills the bill nicely for a European hotel, which means that the bathroom is a bit on the tight side but not uncomfortably so, and the rooms themselves are comfortable. The breakfast is very good with hot and cold selections.

I'd stay there again without question, and so would the other members of our family with whom we traveled.

.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maturetraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Plaka Hotel for the final two nights of our annual three week trip to Europe. We were there the first week of October 2008. The location in the Plaka is excellent, the rooms was fine but nothing to get excited over, however the service was mediocre at best.

The view of the Acropolis from our room and from the hotel roof top deck was amazing.

The location is excellent and we were able to walk to all of the major historic sites.

The room was definitely showing its age, especially the small bathroom.

We found the restaurants in the immediate area of the Plaka Hotel a bit touristy as the restaurant hosts aggressively hawk tourists in from the street. We were however able to find more authentic and pleasant dining experiences within a 10 minute walk out of the main Plaka tourist streets.

While the front desk staff at the hotel was not totally rude, they certainly did not go out of their way to be pleasant, welcoming, or helpful.

It is interesting that even though the hotel was totally sold out, and there were dozens of guests coming and going from the roof deck around sunset, the hotel had the roof top bar closed for the season.

Another thing that we were less than thrilled with if the bag check system or lack of one. We arrived mid morning to drop off our bags after arriving early in Athens from a cruise. We found that they did not have a secure or organized bag storage procedure but we were welcome to try to stuff our bags in a "free for all" closet off the lobby with the dozens of other bags that were already in there.

Their pay for use wifi was also not working while we were there and they removed the charge from our account without any hassle.

We had an early morning flight out of Athens and had difficulty settling our tab due to some charge card processing equipment issues with the hotel. We verified with an international phone call to our charge card company while at the hotel desk that all was well with the credit card that we had been using for the last 3 weeks all over Europe and Egypt, that there was plenty of credit available and no security holds on the card. We were then told by the hotel desk clerk that they have these problems with their system or their bank processor from time to time. We prefer to use a Capital One Card for international travel as they do not charge the 2-3% international fee that is customary with most other major credit cards.

Anyway, We settled the tab with one of the fee cards and it all worked out.

We definitely be back to Athens within the next few years as it is a fabulous city. We will probably stay in the Plaka area but will likely try another hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank edandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

me and my family really enjoyed the hotel, just make sure you book one of the top floors so there won´t be any noise and facing the street. The location is perfect as well! I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Camile87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

When my wife and I first arrived in Monastiraki station, we didn't know how to get to the hotel as the website didn't give clear instructions, so I asked the guy in one of the kiosks for direction to Mitropoleos.

Actually we just need to go out of the center exit (the right exit is just right beside an archaeological site which later on we learned to be Hadrian's Library) and turn right on the second street. The hotel is located 2 short blocks away from there. The roads were much smaller than we thought, but the location was great.

For the first few nights we had partial view of the Acropolis, but on the last night after we were back from Santorini, we were treated with a full view of it from room 612!

The breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, cheese, cereal, croissant, cakes, toasts and canned fruits. The coffee was OK, not as nice as Italian coffee but much better than London or Paris one. The front desk staff was friendly too.

Our only complaint is that they only have 2 single beds joined into one instead of 1 big double bed. We realized that most hotels in Europe seem to have this type of bed though.

Anyway, we'll recommend this hotel because all the attractions are just few steps away, including Acropolis and Ermou Street.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

This is a great value for money hotel. Three stars but breakfast better than most four star place we stayed. The room was clean and airy with plenty of space. We had a limited view of the Acropolis but some rooms would have a full view. The bathroom small but adequate and lots of water. There is a lounge room with cold water and coffee and tea making facilities with biscuits. A computer is available at a cost in this comfortable room as well.
The best thing about this hotel is its location - you can walk everywhere. It is right in the old city and close to a metro station if you needed it. The staff are helpful. The thing that was most disappointing is that the rooftop garden was "closed" because it was out of season. Still in early November it was very warm and it would have been beautiful up there I am sure. You could see it from the top of the Acropolis. Other guests asked too.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Happy_Blot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $66 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing