We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and more”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“View and more”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had originally booked into the Hermes Hotel but were moved to the Plaka after we had a problem with the booking. I had inadvertently made reservations for one day later than when we had intended to arrive. We had quite a bit of correspondence back and forth about room costs, and on my second last email had seen my mistake and advised as such. Unfortunately, this was missed, and I didnt follow up either. Whilst dissapointing on arrivval to find out that no room was available, after a bit of tooing and frooing, we were moved to the Plaka, which could accomodate us. At first, i found this a bit disheartening, but the Team at Plaka made up for it over the next 3 days. The room was clean and comfortable, and probably represents a higher standard than 3 stars. The breakfasts were plentiful, and we worked our way thru mostly Greek food (with a little western tucker thrown in). The attention from the guys at reception and breakfast rooms couldnt be faulted. The lovely lady who ran the bar on the roof top terrace, is indeed very special, and a real people person. Spend some time relaxing and enjoying the view from here. We loved coming back for a late night drink/coffee, after being out all day, to just sit and watch the lights of the Acropolis in all its glory. If you are looking for a hotel in Athens, then price, quality, cleanliness, staff, location, and of course views, will see you putting your head down at Plaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear jimbobler,
I am sorry you had to be accommodated from our sister hotel to the Plaka.At the same time, I am glad we matched all your needs and gained your trust by recommending us. I hope we will see you on a future trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    1,234
    193
    51
    16
See reviews for
655
1,602
235
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

As others have stated the best attributes of this hotel is that it is within walking distances of the vast majority of the tourist sites in Athens. It has a huge amount of dining options of every price range within easy walking distance, and enough nearby shopping to keep even the most jaded shop-a-holic busy for weeks. There are tacky souvenier shops, fine jewelry stores, art galleries, fur salons, a wonderful flea market, major department stores and everything in between within walking distance. The rooftop bar does indeed have a fantastic view of the Acropolis, Mars Hill and the Hephaestaion. The included breakfast is very good, if you enjoy Greek breakfasts. The yoghurt and honey is outstanding. The staff is friendly and willing to answer any question and help anyway they can. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. A/C is a definite plus. Not only will they store your luggage on the day of arrival and departure, but if you are visiting nearby islands for a few days they will store luggage while you are gone so you only have to take the items you need for the islands. They offer a laundry service and will do a large bag of laundry for 9 EU. Considering the location, rooftop view, and the comfortable room the price is quite reasonable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of the best Athens has to offer, feel welcomed and comfortable, and not be one of the herd at a large tourist hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a balcony. The balconies are very small, and they have the outside portion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlersrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear travlersrj,
At Plaka Hotel we value personal service and facilities to the extent that it supports the needs of our guests and we pay attention to all little details that will offer an unforgateble experience. I thrilled that you experinced it yourself and that you returned home with a great souvenir! We really thank you for your detailed review! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great, affordable well-positioned option. Our room was spacious, quiet and comfortable, and it's only a few minutes' walk to Monastiraki. It's clean and light and the staff are keen to assist. Go up to the terrace at sunset for an ouzo and you'll have the most amazing view of the Acropolis. Drop in at Vintage Bar & Bistro across the road for a glass of Greek wine and a bite to eat. We'll stay there again if we return to Athens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear DeniseC2000,
Your promise to come back to Plaka Hotel is what we all wish and thank you for!
I hope you will keep the memory of the " amazing View" of the Acropolis for very long.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A mixed review for the Plaka Hotel as I feel it could be so much more if they just put a little more effort into it. So lets have a look at the Pro's and Con's....

The hotel itself is very easy to find and ideally located to travel around Athens, its certainly its best attribute. The main quire with the parliament buildings and tomb of the unknown soldier is a 5 to 10 minute walk away and its even less than that to visit the old Agoda. There are also a plethora of shops and places to eat right on your doorstep. If I was to return to the hotel then it would be for this reason.

Checking in was ok but we'd added an additional day at the beginning of our week's stay which meant having to go through the process of checking in and out again after we'd already done it...apparently the "system" doesn't allow the staff to use good judgement! Our room was clean but we did have to get the housekeeping staff to come and sort the beds into the double and single we'd asked for rather than three singles. If you choose this hotel then I would suggest a room higher than the first floor as we spent the week looking out of our window at air conditioning units and a brick wall (see the photo).

Internet access...if like me you needed to work while away then be aware that the internet access is pretty terrible and half the time it didn't work at all....it would have been faster to send a postcard than an email!

Staff were polite and and full of smiles, as long as they didn't have to deal with any problems or concerns. There were a couple of exceptions but for the most part I found them somewhat reluctant to deal with issues as they'd rather you said everything was brilliant. However I must comment a lady (Elsa I think) who runs the bar on the rooftop, she was great and couldn't do enough to help.

Breakfast was part and parcel of the deal and reasonably well laid out. I'd avoid the "hot" selection as most of it is processed rubbish but they have the usual cereals, breads, etc. The fruit, olives, tomatoes are great, oh and the yoghurt!!...OMG the yoghurt and honey was fantastic!

As many reviews have already said, the view from the rooftop is great and you can stay there and drink away for as long as you like. there are plenty of seats but the hotel could do with getting more cushions for their whicker seating as only half were kitted out. I can't help but think that the hotel have missed out on an opportunity here. It may be due to the licensing laws but if they got their seating sorted and offered a range of hot snacks, etc then I feel that could be a good money earner...just a random thought.

So to summarise...if you want a hotel with easy access to everything then this is your place as long as you don't expect too much from it. I would stay again but wouldn't rush to stay there.

Room Tip: Anything not on the first floor, go higher to get a better view of Athens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bansheeragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Bansheeragger,
Here at Plaka hotel we are very proud of the positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years and I am really sorry you did not feel the same way.
Naturally I am disappointed to find out that there were elements of your stay with us that you did not enjoy. Kindly note that Plaka team is particularly sensitive in terms of guest satisfaction, especially by giving full attention when it comes to problem solving.
I am surprised you had problems with wifi, while we did not receive any complains lately. We also have a computer corner for even faster service with a printer, all for free.
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travellers your impressions of your visit as we are always trying to find areas of improvement.

Checking on previous reviews you had contributed it is clear that you are not an easily satisfied client, so I hope that you will give us the opportunity of ‘gaining' you as one of our many fans should your travels bring you back to Athens.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading many positive reviews on here this hotel did not disappoint. For a three star hotel, service was exceptional to a five star standard. The hotel was located in the best area accessible to the acropolis, markets and all other wonderful things of Athens. I had a standard double room with views of the acropolis. It was a nice room, reasonable space, very comfortable and clean. The staff were willing to accommodate my early check and ensured my stay was excellent. The rooftop bar is worthy a mention for the beautiful night views of he Acropolis. I will definitely be back at this hotel next time I'm in Athens.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JKayeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JKayeee,
There is no better compliment than Plaka Hotel to be compared to a 5 star hotel's service!
Our staff always tries to offer among others what you experienced :"an early check in", and an "excellent stay" over all .
Thank you for your promise of returning. We will be thrilled to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arriving well before check-in time we got a brilliant reception at the front desk and were invited to go to the breakfast room for coffee, etc until our room was ready.

Room 511 has fantastic views of the Acropolis and well worth the extra. We found the room modern and of more than adequate size with good shower facilities.

Breakfast should suit all tastes and the view from the roof top bar is a must with marvellous views around the city.

Staff were always helpful and the hotel is well located for the various sights. Suspect it would not be easy arriving in your own car.

Only downside is the very small lift but I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Please bear in mind we had s superior room/. 511 highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 511 for views and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JOHN7107
We are very proud to have earned your “high” recommendation. Thank you. for sharing with the rest of the TripAdvisor community your "First Class " experience at the Plaka hotel. We all send you our best regards and hope seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,238 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,758 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,028 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing