We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad, and The Plaka”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, and The Plaka”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A mixed review for the Plaka Hotel as I feel it could be so much more if they just put a little more effort into it. So lets have a look at the Pro's and Con's....

The hotel itself is very easy to find and ideally located to travel around Athens, its certainly its best attribute. The main quire with the parliament buildings and tomb of the unknown soldier is a 5 to 10 minute walk away and its even less than that to visit the old Agoda. There are also a plethora of shops and places to eat right on your doorstep. If I was to return to the hotel then it would be for this reason.

Checking in was ok but we'd added an additional day at the beginning of our week's stay which meant having to go through the process of checking in and out again after we'd already done it...apparently the "system" doesn't allow the staff to use good judgement! Our room was clean but we did have to get the housekeeping staff to come and sort the beds into the double and single we'd asked for rather than three singles. If you choose this hotel then I would suggest a room higher than the first floor as we spent the week looking out of our window at air conditioning units and a brick wall (see the photo).

Internet access...if like me you needed to work while away then be aware that the internet access is pretty terrible and half the time it didn't work at all....it would have been faster to send a postcard than an email!

Staff were polite and and full of smiles, as long as they didn't have to deal with any problems or concerns. There were a couple of exceptions but for the most part I found them somewhat reluctant to deal with issues as they'd rather you said everything was brilliant. However I must comment a lady (Elsa I think) who runs the bar on the rooftop, she was great and couldn't do enough to help.

Breakfast was part and parcel of the deal and reasonably well laid out. I'd avoid the "hot" selection as most of it is processed rubbish but they have the usual cereals, breads, etc. The fruit, olives, tomatoes are great, oh and the yoghurt!!...OMG the yoghurt and honey was fantastic!

As many reviews have already said, the view from the rooftop is great and you can stay there and drink away for as long as you like. there are plenty of seats but the hotel could do with getting more cushions for their whicker seating as only half were kitted out. I can't help but think that the hotel have missed out on an opportunity here. It may be due to the licensing laws but if they got their seating sorted and offered a range of hot snacks, etc then I feel that could be a good money earner...just a random thought.

So to summarise...if you want a hotel with easy access to everything then this is your place as long as you don't expect too much from it. I would stay again but wouldn't rush to stay there.

Room Tip: Anything not on the first floor, go higher to get a better view of Athens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bansheeragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Bansheeragger,
Here at Plaka hotel we are very proud of the positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years and I am really sorry you did not feel the same way.
Naturally I am disappointed to find out that there were elements of your stay with us that you did not enjoy. Kindly note that Plaka team is particularly sensitive in terms of guest satisfaction, especially by giving full attention when it comes to problem solving.
I am surprised you had problems with wifi, while we did not receive any complains lately. We also have a computer corner for even faster service with a printer, all for free.
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travellers your impressions of your visit as we are always trying to find areas of improvement.

Checking on previous reviews you had contributed it is clear that you are not an easily satisfied client, so I hope that you will give us the opportunity of ‘gaining' you as one of our many fans should your travels bring you back to Athens.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    1,234
    193
    51
    16
See reviews for
655
1,603
235
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

After reading many positive reviews on here this hotel did not disappoint. For a three star hotel, service was exceptional to a five star standard. The hotel was located in the best area accessible to the acropolis, markets and all other wonderful things of Athens. I had a standard double room with views of the acropolis. It was a nice room, reasonable space, very comfortable and clean. The staff were willing to accommodate my early check and ensured my stay was excellent. The rooftop bar is worthy a mention for the beautiful night views of he Acropolis. I will definitely be back at this hotel next time I'm in Athens.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JKayeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JKayeee,
There is no better compliment than Plaka Hotel to be compared to a 5 star hotel's service!
Our staff always tries to offer among others what you experienced :"an early check in", and an "excellent stay" over all .
Thank you for your promise of returning. We will be thrilled to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arriving well before check-in time we got a brilliant reception at the front desk and were invited to go to the breakfast room for coffee, etc until our room was ready.

Room 511 has fantastic views of the Acropolis and well worth the extra. We found the room modern and of more than adequate size with good shower facilities.

Breakfast should suit all tastes and the view from the roof top bar is a must with marvellous views around the city.

Staff were always helpful and the hotel is well located for the various sights. Suspect it would not be easy arriving in your own car.

Only downside is the very small lift but I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Please bear in mind we had s superior room/. 511 highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 511 for views and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JOHN7107
We are very proud to have earned your “high” recommendation. Thank you. for sharing with the rest of the TripAdvisor community your "First Class " experience at the Plaka hotel. We all send you our best regards and hope seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Plaka Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The views from the roof top alone are worth the stay. The hotel is literally in the heart of Plaka with great shopping around. The rooms was large, clean and comfortable. I would certainly recommend to stay at the Plaka Hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Fiona W,

I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location with great shopping on Ermou street, which is only one street away from our front door. The experience from our roof terrace of the Acropolis is as you mentioned really worth it!
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is probably pretty typical of hotels in Athens - small room, we did have a nice view of the Acropolis and Parthenon though. Bathroom was pretty small too but everything looked relatively updated. You get a free bottle of wine with fruits and danishes at check-in, that was pretty nice. Great location - right in the middle of the Plaka, which is super touristy. We were only in Athens for 1 night so we didn't want to waste time going back and forth from the hotel to the ruins, so we just stayed in the middle of it. Athens overall (nothing to do with this hotel) is very dirty and grimy, you don't need more than 1 day to see the sites IMO. (And this is coming from someone who is from Baltimore and lives right outside of DC now.) We didn't get a chance to make it to the rooftop bar, I really wish we had. Pleased with our stay here overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Christine D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sure that if you have the chance to stop over again in Athens, there will be plenty of other interesting museums and sites to visit. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel and that you will have the time to relax on our roof terrace with "exceptional" view of the Acropolis.
With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Location is excellent. You can go by foot to major attractions. Rooms are small, but clean and confortable. Breakfast is nice. The rooftop view is amazing! You can't miss it! Sometimes we had to wait a lot for the elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolCordeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear CarolCoredeiro,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful picture!
As for your comment on our room size please note that we also offer "superior" rooms which are of bigger size than the standard and with balcony.
Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

It is an unforgettable experience when you first walk to the rooftop open bar/terrace at The Plaka and gaze up at the Acropolis!It was one of our most enjoyable memories of Atehns - sitting on the roof every night, having a beer/wine, and just staring at The Acropolis.
The hotel itself is very nice - very clean, helpful reception staff, nice choices for breakfast.
The rooms are slightly to the small side, sowe were glad to have interconnecting rooms for the four of us.
The hotel is really well located - a short walk and you're in the middle of the Plaka region and flea market, and we also walked to the Acropolis, Temple of Zeuss, and first Olympic Stadium, amongst other things.
If returning to Athens we would look no further than the Plaka Hotel - a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Antony L,
I am glad to read that one of the "most enjoyable memories" of Athens is from our hotel's roof bar. Our family rooms are not very large, but they offer two bathrooms which is not common. As you experienced our primary concern is on cleanliness, customer service and a rich breakfast of very good quality. We thank you again and really hope you will come back with your family.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing