We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Murtoa, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location in Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Plaka Hotel is in an ideal location in Athens from which to visit many of the attractions. The Roof Top Bar has a great view of the Acropolis and the city. The hotel is very close to the bars and restaurants of which there are plenty of in the Plaka area. The room was very comfortable and had a window which would open for fresh air. The breakfast was excellent and a great service was that you could access free tea/coffee and biscuits from the breakfast room all day -this was great when returning from a tour or a walk. The only downside was that as the surrounding streets are one way and narrow and if catching a tour bus it was necessary to walk 400 metres up Mitropoloeus Street to catch the bus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear David G,
I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Thank you. We all hope you will stay with us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,186
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
633
1,520
223
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was the final leg of what felt like a very long holiday!
The rooms are clean, modern, with really nice bathrooms. Service was pretty good and the buffet breakfasts weren't too bad either. Wifi was available in most of the rooms, however the best service was in the corridors!

Situated in down town Greece, a short walk away from everything. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sarah M,
We are so pleased that you ended your long holiday with a good memory from Plaka Hotel.
We thank you for your review and mention of the renovated bathrooms. Mostly we appreciate your recommendation as a Senior Contributor!
We hope you will come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
319 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been staying at the Plaka hotel for years and we are always happy to be back there! The staff are friendly helpful and cheerful. Breakfast is included in the price and there is a good choice from the buffet. The roof terrace has views to die for!! The girl running the roof top bar remembered us and it was our first visit for 3 years. The hotel is in an excellent position and with in walking distance of Sintagma square and parliament and 2 metro stations. There's a new grocery shop next door. Lots of different tavernas are nearby and tourist shops of all sorts. Tea and Coffee are free all day in the dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Acropolis view or with a view of the small church in Ermou
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear John_Jane_Carver,
An excellent review from a "Top Contributor" and a satisfied repeated client, is what all hoteliers dream of! I personally and all my team are grateful and are looking forward to your next stay at the Plaka Hotel. Cheers to you from Elsa who remembers all clients who enjoy the spectacular View with her refreshing cocktails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Plaka Hotel is situated in down town Athens and is a great place to explore the city from. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff are friendly and helpful . We particularly would like to thanks the lady who went by the title of Public Relations person. Every morning at breakfast (which was very good ) she would come round to your table and ask what you may be doing for the day . She would offer advice and suggestions to help you with your plans .
A highlight of the hotel is the rooftop bar and lounge area which give you stunning views of the Acropolis .
Yes the Plaka Hotel is a good choice for your stay in Athens

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidb0962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear David0962_12,
Thank you for recommending Plaka Hotel for its great location, friendly staf and "stunning" views of the Acropolis.
We shall share your comments with the rest of our staff.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent position and good amenities. The view from the roof is amazing. And wonderful Aircon. We were actually too cold in the night and had to turn it off! if you get there by metro make sure you have a map as it is about 200 metres from Monisteraki.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Flyboy192,
Your "first rate" review was extremely energetic and we are all thankful!
I agree with your notice, that though Plaka Hotel is located on central street,Mitropoleos, it is helpful to print directions from the site of the hotel.
Thank you for your high score. We look forward seeing soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was another great friendly hotel we experienced in Athens while on honeymoon in Europe. The staff at reception were lovely and the hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a bar on the rooftop of the hotel which boasted an amazing view of the acropolis and had very comfortable chairs and couches and tables to enjoy a drink while taking in the view. Very happy with his hotel and it's amazing location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Debbie M,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Plaka hotel and that we matched your expectations! Hope to see you for your anniversaries too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

could no be in a better spot .Right next door is a shop selling beer, wine, groceries etc. Short walk and you are in shops, restaurants in all directions. Bathroom was good and the room had a fridge. Great rooftop bar. Excellent buffet breakfast. I would stay here again and would have rated it excellent but for one small thing and that was the internet connection was very very slow. If you are able use the stairs as the lift is tiny and takes ages. Enjoy Athens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear 2012Kim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review and mentioning all the positive things Plaka Hotels has to offer. We always value our guests' opinion since we believe they are a great tool to be used towards improvement. Your comments were shared with technicians and was fixed. Hope to see you again on a future trip.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing