We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Almost”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel has great location, rooms with decent sizes, an amazing rooftop deck with direct views of the acropolis, good breakfast, an amazing concierge named Eva, a young trainee lady who was sweet as sugar, but yet it lacked any kind of heart beating within it. I believe the men who worked behind the desk could use a course in how to smile, how to say good morning and know its morning. They were all nice enough, they just lacked a pulse and a personality. Had anyone of them demonstrated anything like caring, the hotel would be closer to a 5. Would I stay there again. In a heartbeat if not blackballed

Room Tip: Ask for an acropolis view or a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear denverchucko
It is true that we do our best to keep our clients happy, therefore I am disappointed we had heard of you that we lacked any kind of heart beating within it. Our staff is well experienced in providing every possible solution to our guests and make them feel like home away from home! I will discuss this matter with them in order to improve..We're happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact us directly next time you wish to book and stay with us!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,765
    1,220
    189
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,581
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I spent several months planning a family trip to Greece. In January 2014 I finalized our itinerary and paid in full for all our overnight accommodations. We were confirmed at The Plaka for 3 nights. 24 hours before we left on our trip The Plaka informed me that they overbooked and they took it upon themselves to relocate us. I'm sure we were not the most recent reservation on their books. They placed us in a less desirable location and the rooms were less expensive than the rate I paid for The Plaka. They did not refund any of my money. Overall we had a wonderful trip but I just wanted others, who are researching and planning, to be aware of this Hotel's practices.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank suepevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Suepevo,
I checked our records and in January we received a request from your tour operator. We were already booked and unfortunately we couldn't confirm your reservation They requested again in March, to double check if there was any cancellation, but still we were full.
I have already sent in private message (through TA) all the correspondence with them to prove you that it isn't either our practice to over book, neither of our responsibility the fact you were booked to another hotel. Also we never sent a letter prior to your arrival about the change.We did not have any idea until you brought the matter on TripAdvisor. I understand how much time you have put in until you decide which hotel to book and your disappointment, but as you can see for yourself, our hotel never confirmed the reservation.
If you still believe that any of the above is different from what I am disrcibing please send me an email to : plaka@athenshotelsgroup.com .
Waiting for your reply.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We finished of every night sitting on the terrace admiring the view with a freshly prepared drink in hand. Rooms were very clean. Location is awesome. Staff were all helpful. Happy to arrange a large taxi booking for our group. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear paulie316
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with the travel community. Our goal is to ensure complete satisfaction and I am very happy that we accomplished this during your time with us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver,bc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

After much research and debating and still not being sure where to stay on our first visit in Athens...we are very happy with our choice of the Plaka Hotel. The location is excellent for walking to attractions, shopping, and eating out with many choices. The staff is helpful and knowledgable. The room very clean and well set up though the washroom somewhat small. The breakfast more than adequate and staff accomadates late/early arrivals and departures. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher on main entrance side with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Dram
Thank you for your high recommendation and favorable review. I am delighted that the staff was able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel met our expectations. The room was smallish but impeccably clean. The bathroom was also small but the shower was good-sized and modern, with good water pressure. Breakfasts are included and the offerings range from breads to hard boiled eggs to meats and cheeses, olives, etc. There were always hot offerings too - eggs and bacon or, surprisingly, beans and franks. There were always some tasty desserts offered as well! Also, the concierge was available at breakfast to answer questions and give you recommendations or check on schedules for us.
Our room opened onto the main road and it was definitely noisy with the windows open. Church bells ring at all hours and on the plaza just one block over, a guitarist sang and played until the wee hours. Car horns, alarms, etc, but that's what you get when you are at a hotel that is so very well situated as the Plaka. The view from the top floor patio is unparalleled.

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms are sort of small. Our corner room had windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear marthajean
I would like to thank you for providing such a detailed feedback in regards to your stay. It’s good to know that overall you enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the location of the hotel. Our goal is to exceed the expectation of each guest that enters our doors and I am delighted that we accomplished this goal during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipsi, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Plaka Hotel, as we usually stay at their sister hotel, the Hermes, just up the road. We had a two day business trip in April, but the Hermes was fully booked for the dates that we required, so they found us a room at the Plaka instead. We love the Hermes, having stayed there on numerous occasions over the years, so we were rather disappointed to have to go elsewhere. However, the moment we arrived at the Plaka, where there was such a friendly greeting at reception, we realised that it was going to be just as good as the Hermes. We had a room at the front, but weren't troubled by noise at all. It was extremely clean, well maintained and the staff were helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the all-day free coffee and biscuits was much appreciated, especially when returning to the hotel after a long day running around the city. I can say that we were extremely impressed with the Plaka and would happily stay there again. I give both the Plaka and Hermes 5 stars.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank lipsotina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear lipsotina
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for your positive review on both of our hotels. It is so nice knowing that you loved your stay in Plaka Hotel such as at Hermes Hotel. We are most grateful for your recommendation and do hope we can welcome you back in the future..
Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Plaka hotel for three nights around Christmas time (2013). It is located very centrally - walking distance from some key metro stations, close to a lot of places of historical interest, in the centre of the shopping district - both high street shopping as well as more traditional goods and very close to a wide range of excellent restaurants of all price ranges.

The room itself was very comfortable - we had one with a balcony which overlooked the street. The beds and bathrooms are well sized with spacious cupboards. We had read a few reviews about the smelly drain in the toilet (which we understand is not a hotel issue but a city sanitation problem) and were a bit concerned, but if you keep the drain covered with the dustbin or toilet brush, its not a problem at all.

The rooftop view is stunning (although we were there in winter and the restaurant was closed) - we just enjoyed the solitary view of the lit up acropolis and city.

The breakfast spread has a large range of things to choose from and the bar and reception staff were very freindly and helped us make travel decisions aboit islands close to Athens.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel (especially because we staryed at the Acropolis Museum Hotel for a few days and that is not a mark on this one)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony jus to give you that extra sense of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sowmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sowmyaa
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am simply thrilled that we were able to create such a memorable stay for you and we look forward to your return. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,205 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 327 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 327 in Athens
3,720 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 327 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing