We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from 3 days at the Hotel Plaka. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, it is in a tourist area but also frequented by the local community, giving it an amazing mixture of cafes, shops etc. it is also close to a couple of metro stations and the hop on hop off bus. Taxis are always available outside the hotel.
We were so impressed with Eva in the front office. Every morning as we ate breakfast, Eva would visit each table and give tips and directions. As she speaks five languages, she was able to converse easily with all the guests. The next morning she would follow up to see how our previous day had been. The breakfast provided was a wonderful array of hot and cold dishes, plenty of fresh fruit too. The rooftop bar was a great place to see the The Acropolis day or night.
We felt that we had good value for money and it was a great 3 days at the end of our cruise.
Thank you Eva for making our stay so special........every hotel needs an Eva.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DuncanLadyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear DuncanLadyCanada
I am so pleased that you feel that the hotel is worth the exceptionally high rating that it has on the site and thank you for taking the time to post a review for us also. It is by such lovely reviews that we maintain our high ranking and it also motivates us to work even harder to stay at the top. I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff, and location.
We wish you all the best for a happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    1,169
    179
    49
    16
See reviews for
622
1,487
220
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Pros:
Great location -- close to the Acropolis, the market, and two metro stations
Helpful staff -- every single member of the staff I interacted with went out of their way to make sure everything was going well with my visit and make me feel welcome
Great view -- the view from the roof of the Acropolis is to die for
Price -- rate was great for all that was included

Cons:
Internet -- wifi signal was too weak
Temperature -- room was a bit too warm at night

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear S C
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the lovely compliments. It is rewarding to hear that the quality and attentiveness of the service was exceptional and I have passed your kind words to all the team. Regarding to your comment about WiFi I would like to let you know that this matter is under consideration and as for the heat of your room, that our hotel provides a central heating system.
On behalf of the entire team we would like to wish you a happy new year and we will be looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

My mother, my wife and I spent 4 days at the Plaka in mid-November and really enjoyed our stay. This was my first time to Athens, and to be honest I do not think I'll be going back. Other European cities have so much more to offer. In any event, if you do decide you must go to Athens then I would recommend this hotel. It is nothing fancy, but is very fairly priced, the staff is friendly and the location is EXCELLENT. I am not a shopping junkie, but my wife and mother are, and we were right in the middle of shopping central. You are also approx. 4 blocks away from the Hop-On double decker (the 2 day pass is well worth it).

If you have the energy, you can actually walk to the Acropolis via the back alleys, right from the hotel. While we only attempted this coming down (we took the tour bus to the top), it only took about 15 mins. It was a very enjoyable walk.

The rooms were clean, the breakfast was ample and it has an elevator. There is a roof-top terrace which also has a bar, but the view is stunning. I have seen the pictures here, but they don't do it justice. Every night around 5:30 we would go to the small shop next door (literally) and we bought some spices, olive oil and a bottle of wine (the store keeper even opened the bottle for us). A bakery was a block away for some bread, and we bought a little glass plate at the market for one euro. We would then sit on roof-top terrace and have our own little Happy Hour (for under 10 euro for all three). And then we would go out for a late dinner around 9. Just perfect.

While I ejoyed the hotel, I think it really is only three stars...but I would have no issue staying here again, as well as recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis...but if you dont get one, don't worry because the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Sean J
Such amazing pictures!!! Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site following your stay and for your recommendation, it is so rewarding to hear that your expectations were exceeded. We do work incredibly hard to ensure that each and every guest goes away feeling that they have been well looked after.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have just returned from a long week end in Athens and would very much recommend this hotel. It is amazingly central and minutes away from a direct train line to the airport. All sights can be reached by walking except possibly the harbour which is a bit of way along a not so nice road. This meant that we could easily pop back throughout the day as we were never far away.The hotel also has the most amazing roof terrace view. Breakfast offers an amazing choice, much better than a lot of more expensive hotels we have stayed in. I can't imagine how somebody might not find something to eat. We particularly liked that it offered some greek things like greek yoghurt and honey instead of the usual little pots. What is a nice touch as well is that there is tea, coffee, water jugs and really nice biscuits left out throughout the day for residents.Our room was not big but nice and comfortable, offering everything we need.I would honestly think that it would be difficult to find a nicer and better situated hotel in Athens.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Penelope365
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent travel experience with the TripAdvisor community. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests by providing excellent customer service and clean and comfortable room accommodations. Also, our easily accessible, central location makes for the perfect starting point for exploring our great city. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Our best wishes for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Plaka Hotel has everything that a 3 stars hotel should have to be considered in such a position: staff is friendly (most of them even speak Spanish), breakfast is very good, rooms are comfortable and big and, a must, location is the best one to choose in Athens. Located close to mostly everything you will need for a nice stay in Athens. As a minus (perhaps I was in the wrong room), wifi is really poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio_Odw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Patricio_Odw
As a much-valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide and I am therefore delighted that we have met your expectations, and made your stay with us a memorable one. We wish you a happy new year and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future . Thank you!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

For my first visit, this hotel was ideally situated and the staff were gracious and wonderful. My room had a wonderful view of the Acropolis and it was ideally located for exploring the Plaka area. I had a single room and it had a double bed that was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and the afternoon tea was what was needed after exploring Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibraryTraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear LibraryTraveler41
We are thrilled that you were happy with your room and found it to be comfortable and that the hotel had all the amenities you needed during your time with us especially your relaxing afternoon tea! We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future trip.
Thank you for staying with us. We wish you a beautiful new year 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Athens.

This is an excellent, clean 3 star hotel with a very professional and friendly staff and a hard to beat location, at a very affordable price (under 70 € per night including breakfast - early booking).

The hotel is located in the Plaka (old town) district and is a 2-3 minute walk away from the souvenir shops, modern fashion stores (Zara, H&M...), cafés and restaurants. Also a short 10-15 minute walk from the main tourist attractions such as the Acropolis.

The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. The room (we had a nice corner room on the fifth floor, room 509) was simple, but clean, large and quiet. Only gripe about the room was that the water from the shower would leak on the bathroom floor and we had to put a few towels on the floor to stop the water from leaking when taking a shower. Also, the free wifi would only work next to the door, and could not be used from within the room, but it's free and worked everywhere else in the hotel.

Breakfast was great. Nothing fancy, but it was perfect for us. Scrambled eggs, bacon, cheeses, yogurts, juice, coffee, pastries, salads and more!

The hotel staff was very friendly and did everything possible to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

We will definitely return to this hotel whenever in Athens.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor (5-6) if you are a light sleeper, we had a nice quiet corner room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear ayalm
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of your 3 nights on TA. We are situated in a 10-15 minute walk from the main tourist attractions such as the Acropolis and some of Athen's most famous stores nearby. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and that the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. We apologize for the WiFi as for unexpected reason the line was slow but it has been taking care. We were delighted to have you as a guest and we look forward to serving you in the future once again! Regards to your lovely wife as well.
Have a terrific 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing