We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Right in the heart of Plaka, a view of the Parthenon you can enjoy with a beer (you'll pay double for the same thing, but arguably a worse view, at the Royal Olympian, where I was doing business). Clean rooms, efficient staff, friendly clerks, in the middle of Plaka and in walking distance to major sites, transport areas (Syntagma Square and Acropoli metro), and a good base for wandering Athens in general. Decent breakfast. Woke up to two protest marches, but that's not the hotel's fault:) Wish the windows would have been open-able. Enjoyable stay - I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear R M,
Thank you for your review and recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased we were able to make your stay perfect, and appreciate you choosing us for your stay on business. We hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    1,098
    168
    48
    16
See reviews for
583
1,375
196
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Great location at the Acropolis. Nice rooms and very comfortable beds. Pleasant and helpful staff. However, there is a big problem, WiFi does not work on the rooms that we have tested. So if you want to have WIFI in the room, choose a different hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Battal22
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Battal22
I am glad we matched your expectations concerning location,service,comfort. In general our WiFi
is working pretty well,especially,in the common areas but as a Greek you know in many times the provider may be the reason of similar problems. I really hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again and get a better review from you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here in october for 1 week. It has a fantastic location near many of the main attractions. It is a busy area but the hotel was quiet inside. My room had a view of the Acropolis which I could see from my bed! The hotel is clean and friendly. The breakfast buffet is extensive. Service is prompt ranging from checking or making bookings, answering questions and arranging laundry, organizing transport.
You will not make the wrong decision if you stay at the Plaka, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for the room with an acropolis view - it is a smaller room probably best for solo travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are extremely happy to have earned your high rating on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for mentioning the central location, service and comfort of the Acropolis view room. Hope to see you in a future trip to Athens.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was one of a group of 16 who travelled (from Australia) to Athens to participate in the Athens Classic Marathon (Nov 13). We were all very comfortable at The Plaka and were very well looked after.. The location is great, very close to many cafes and restaurants and all the major historical sights. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and they made sure that there was plenty of choice for breakfast early on the morning of the run. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pameth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to have been able to fulfill your requests and exceed expectations. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for recommending us to everyone! We look forward to see you in the next Marathon race.
Best regards to you and the rest of the group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Plaka hotel for 2 nights in October 2013. The hotel was clean, our rooms were modern and nice, breakfast was really nice- choices of both greek food and english or american food were offered. They keep the breakfast room open all day for complimentary tea, coffee, lemon water and cookies- which was a nice touch and much appreciated. Wifi worked fine for us too. The view from the roof deck was to say the least spectacular! The desk staff was always ready to help when we needed anything. Now for the management, 2 weeks after our 2 night stay, I flew home and left my laptop at the Athens airport...security had it but I needed someone in Athens to pick it up and ship it for me. Dorina the manager was INCREDIBLY kind and gracious. She drove to the airport, got my computer, shipped it DHL and would not charge me a penny for this huge favor. Now that takes a special person and I am forever grateful to her, stay at the Plaka hotel , you will be well cared for by caring people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a ‘family room’ which is basically 2 doubles with a connecting door. It still felt a little small for the 3 of us. The complimetary wifi did not work in our rooms.

Breakfast was good, and available even in the early hours before 7am (at least the non-hot foodstuff). Another helpful touch was the lady whose job was to go around the breakfast tables and ask after guests. A TV and a fridge was not working in our rooms, and after informing her it was speedily fixed by that evening. The kitchen staff we met were also nice. Service would have scored full marks if not for the impersonal and unfriendly reception desk, don’t know why this seems to be such a problem in Athens…

We very much appreciated the complimentary water, hot beverages and biscuits that were available in the breakfast area till 5pm. The rooftop has nice views of the Acropolis and city, but I agree with other guests who feel the hotel should develop this rather bare area and improve its ambience.

Staying nearer to Monastiraki was great as it is still quite lively in late October, compared to the area nearer Syntagma Square which felt more deserted. I think the Plaka Hotel is a good choice in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s-myluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that in Plaka Hotel you had the best stay in Athens. We value you as a guest and your comments are most appreciated in order to improve.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Chose this small family hotel,in Plaka ,Athens, [My son and I , were there for 10 days] mainly because of the many positive reviews and the convenient location,within walking distance , to all the ancient sites, museums restaurants etc Easy 45 minutes travel on Metro from the aiport to Monistraki Square , and few minites walk to Hotel.. Touristy area, busy, buzzing with visitors.. Had a few days there solo, and felt safe going around the narrow little streets.. .Reception staff were so welcoming and informative.. THEY ARRANGED TWO TRIPS VIA CHATOURS TO DELPHI AND ANCIENT MYCENAE, most enjoyable days out,pleasant, knowledgeable Tour guides
The hotel lift is small , narrow, rather tiny..Luggage plus four guests there, feels like you are being hugged all the way up.. ...My single room, small, narrow., on 4th floor, was clean, well supplied daily with towels, linen and toiletries ... .Air-con worked well, Wifi, unfortunately, not so well in room but good in reception and dining area....., Small fridge for chilled drinks, extra pillows, anything in fact to enhance comfort is no trouble to the staff... The wonderful view from my window of the Acropolis, lit at night , shining bright , gazed upon until falling contentedly asleep ...Breakfast provides a reasonable choice of cereals fruits,some fresh , bread, rolls, croissants, cooked eggs bacon sausage and Greek foods.. Breakfast juices are not good quality, but there's plenty of teas and coffee , which is available all day , with biscuits too.., Katerina and Eva were particularly charming and helpful during our time there, as were the cleaning and reception staff.. Tried a few of the many local restaurants nearby, our favourite was Hermion, for good food, pleasant staff and live Greek music .. Happy to say I had a most enjoyable stay ..

Room Tip: Request a room with view and higher floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your enthusiastic comments about our location and service as well as the friendly staff. Referring to your comment on our juices we would like to share with you that we offer fresh orange juice which is the most expensive in the retail market (''olympos'') and as for the grapefruit that it is not fresh but prepared,as it is difficult to get it in Greece. We thank you for mentioning that you had the most enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again with your family.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,558 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 337 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#27 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing