We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is.........” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location is.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

everything and this hotel has it....minutes from any of 2 dozen excellent restaurants, just up the street from Souvlaki Row, minutes from the Flea market or the Agora etc etc. The entrance to the Acropolis or the museum is about a 15 minute walk at best .

The hotel rooms are small but thats typical of Europe but are well maintained and clean. They also have great showers. Our room had a partial view of the Acropolis which is neat to see in the middle of the night. The roof top terrace is a great place to watch the sunset or the Acropolis lighting up with a glass of wine in hand.

Overall a great spot

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koiman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your complimentary comments on Plaka hotel. We are delighted to read that we met all your expectations and for your high score. We really hope to see you or your friends soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    1,169
    179
    49
    16
See reviews for
622
1,487
220
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I arrived in the morning after getting off a cruise ship. The hotel was happy to store my luggage for me til my room was ready, which was fast. At 10 am I was settling in. The room was very comfortable, clean, new, functional, euro-stylish, nice linens, small fridge, good lighting, cool plumbing fixtures, window in the shower and more. But the real kicker was that I was given a room with a full on VIEW of the Acropolis!! I had not requested this, thinking it would be impossible to get. I was so blown away by this view I woke up every hour just to marvel at it. Also, the breakfast room is open all day til 5:30pm with free coffee. And an Espresso/Cappucino machine!! Complimentary. Heaven. The breakfast was really good, too. Rooftop terrace with 180 view of all Athens, good for sunning or star watching. Location is superb. Easy walking to all the sights, restaurants, shops, metro.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Acropolis. Mine was 510.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy when we read such positive reviews from our honorable clientele.
Our "super service , superb location and splendid view" are the main impressions that our guests experience. We thank you for sharing them on TA and hope you will come back.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Plaka Hotel in the heart of the Plaka in Athens for two nights in mid-October. The hotel location cannot be beat, right in the middle of it all, short walk to the Agora, the Plaka shops, and perhaps best of all, a short jaunt to the fabulous "souvlaki row" for a quick meal. Plaka was the best deal we could find in that location that would take accommodate our family of three (we have a teenage son) in one room. The room was a squeeze to be sure but it offered a great, unobstructed view of the Acropolis, wonderful in the day and night. Moreover, you could go to the rooftop for a drink, relaxing soft music and fabulous sunset and evening views of the floodlit Acropolis. The breakfast was included in the tariff and very good, and there was a nice coffee machine that served mocha cappuccino and the like. The staff was friendly and professional. All in, a very good experience and we recommend the hotel for all, including small families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HighPlaneDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Plaka hotel is a family friendly hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned the great location makes it so easy and safe for children to easily walk to sites, museums, attractions, restaurants and Ermou pedestrian shopping street. Thank you for submitting a very nice sunset picture.
Best regards to all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

In the heart of the city, literally next door to Monastiraki station, market and numerous restaurants/cafes. Great view of Acropolis from roof top.
Rooms are a bit small but adequate.
24 h coffee and biscuits is a nice feature.

Room Tip: Ask for inter-connecting double rooms if going with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your high score and for providing such nice pictures. I am glad that you were satisfied with the service and the location of the hotel. Hope to see,you and your lovely family,
back soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff was helpful, the room clean but small, the view of the Acropolis incredible. However, my room was on the top floor or 6th level. It was under the rooftop patio which was open until 1am each night. Avoid the top floor if you like to sleep.

Room Tip: Location was great, close to Acropolis, restaurants, shopping and public transporation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwiseSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. Our roof bar usually closes at 11:30 pm. It is unfortunate that you haven't asked at the front desk and given us the chance to change your room if you have found it inconvenient. Should you decide to come back please contact us for a better accommodation.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is incredibly centrally located....within walking distance to almost every major site and those that are a little off the map can be easily accessed by bus or metro. I have to add that although it was busy and noisy on street level when we arrived, we didn't hear a thing in our room.
The views from the rooftop terrace is absolutely breathtaking! We arrived late in the evening (the terrace was closed), but the view from our room faced directly towards the Acropolis. The room was extremely comfortable and quite roomie for being located in the heart of Athens. I cannot say enough about the staff, from the reception desk to those that served in the breakfast lounge - they were all incredibly friendly, and were always willing to answer or assist with any query! The breakfast buffet was more than I had expected. There was enough to satisfy the average north american traveller, but you cannot forget the yogurt and honey, absolutely delicious! As was their little greek savoury pastries (I'm not much of a sweets person...so I didn't try the sugary items).
We were told that for late arrivals, there would be a surcharge to our taxi fare, ....but our taxi driver didn't add an extra euro on ....therefore, the standard fixed rate of 35euro was all that we were charged from the airport.
You really do not need the hop on/hop off bus if you are staying at the Plaka hotel as everything is within easy walking distance, unless you are heading towards Piraeus. If you are in Athens on a Sunday, I would strongly advise you to check out the changing of the guard - in all its pomp and ceremony at 11:00 a.m.!

Room Tip: ask for (at the very least) partial Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unitednationsofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that after having so long trip to come to Athens we matched your expectations in all matters. We loved your tittle. Thank you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Plaka Hotel for 2 nights during the last week of September and it was really a very good experience for us. It is situated in a central location and the bonus was that the Acropolis was just a short walk away. The view of the acropolis from the rooftop bar of the hotel is superb. The staff too were courteous and offered their help wherever possible. It is also very close to Monastiriki Square where you can do some shopping. Overall a very good place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank addy1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
How nice to read that you returned back home with a nice memory of your stay with us. It is true that the view from the roof bar is superb. Thank you again for your positive review.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing