We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just The Best”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only stayed one Night But this Hotel is Super, Well located nead Pedestrian street great for Shopping, Nice Restaurant Near the hotel.
Very close to the Parthenon and a Super Great View from the Hotel Roof at Night!
I dream come true see Athens at Night.
Room is very good, nice Bathroom.

Room Tip: Great Rooms very Confy bed. The breakfast is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mt19580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful picture! We are delighted to read your title and we are very glad you were satisfied with our hotel!
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,728 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our family Holiday to Europe saw us stay in Athens for two nights at the Plaka. We were able to walk to many attractions and experience all that the area had to offer. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast presentation was top notch. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop in the evening was amazing. They had a laundry service that was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for mentioning the good value you got from our laundry service.
Kind regards to all your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we started our trip in Athens at the Plaka hotel right in the middle of the "Old Town" , everything is within walking distance , the Acropolis and all the old attractions. the "flee markets" are a must to see if you are there on a Sunday, a real eye opener. The main attraction of the Plaka is the Rooftop Bar and Garden where you will get the best sunset show as the Acropolis lights up in the evening sky. Michael the desk Manager is very helpful and always accommodating, as is the rest of the staff. This was the best place to start our Greek Odessey, five starsa

Room Tip: great location, great people WIFI every floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been to Greece over a dozen times, and every time I stay in Athens, we always stay at the Plaka hotel.

You can take the train form the airport to Monesteriki station and the hotel is only a few blocks through the "Plaka" itself. The Plaka is the central area in Athens where you find all the best shopping, open air restaurants and sits at the foothill of the Acropolis.

To the left of the hotel is Ermu(sp) St. which is some of Athen's best shopping!

They have a great breakfast, the rooms are small but the roof top bar view of Athens is the BEST in the city!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyEco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is a great pleasure and satisfaction to have repeated clients like you.
Refining to your comment on the room size, you may try next time to book a superior room that has a balcony and is of bigger size than the standard room.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

In the Monastiraki area as opposed to the Plaka. Stayed here for several nights in late May and a separate night in early June. Good location for the Acropolis, the Agora, and Rick Steves' Athens City Walk. The Acropolis is about a 15-minute walk. Rooms were nice but plain. Small, European-style bathroom. Front desk staff was helpful. Wifi was free but virtually not accessible on the fifth floor (had better luck on the sixth). Roof bar has a wonderful view of the Acropolis. Nice breakfast (came with the room). Didn't use the subway. The city has flat rates to and from the airport and to and from the harbor, but make sure you know what the cabbie's going to charge you before you get in the taxi. Also count out what you give them. Several enjoyable restaurants in the area. Nothing fancy but met our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Plaka hotel for your stay in Athens. We are glad Rick Steves recommendation worked well for your walking tour, as the hotel is so centraly located.
Best regards to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

a wonderful hotel in the best location you can imagine. The best view of the Acropolis at day and night and a great pub at the roof... Clean and spacious rooms and excellent breakfast. And above all the most welcoming staff that have the will to help and give good tips about the city/ L'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dikla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your warm comments about your stay in our hotel.
It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about our staff as they aim to make every guests’ stay memorable. I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto them and that their service is duly recognized.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We can't say enough wonderful things about Hotel Plaka. We stayed here 2 nights. Stelios is a fantastic host, and Eva in Guest Relations was delightful. She arranged a great guide, Lily Emmanouil, to take us on a tour of the Acropolis.

When we arrived in our room, they sent up a tray with ice water, a small bottle of wine, and a plate of baklava. Delightful!

The rooftop balcony view is absolutely stunning! That alone is worth the price, but throw in a huge breakfast, clean bright rooms (with soundproof patio terrace doors!), delightful service, and you cannot beat it. We will definitely stay here again if we ever get to come back. Well worth your money!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TricDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience of the Acropolis view, as well as the breakfast, the cleanliness and most importantly the friendliness of our staff. The licensed guides we recommend are professional and I am glad you were satisfied as well.
Thank you again for your high score.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $66 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing