We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly attentive!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just returned from a few days in Athens. The hotel was wonderful. The breakfast was nice, the room exceptionally clean and well kept. But what really made this hotel wonderful was how attentive the staff was. There was a staff member who came around every day at breakfast to ensure that the stay was pleasurable and to see if there was any way in which she could help. The small personal touches (complimentary bottle of wine, hot chocolate, tea, coffee and cookies in the restaurant during the day) and the excellence of the staff are what made our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you for your high score.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is in the very heart of Athens. All monuments are just few minutes away on foot.
We stayed two nights for sightseeing. We booked the cheapest room over the internet, but still got a nice room at 5th floor with balcony. Arriving just after 15:00 we were asked to wait 20 minutes, as the room was not ready yet.
There was not anything special on the room. The extra benefits of the hotel are: roof terrace with city view; free coffee, tea and biscuits in the breakfast room during the day and the location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but the disturbing noise comes from the other rooms. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was positive experience. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests. Hope to see you again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just returned from a few days in Athens staying at the Hotel Plaka. This was an excellent hotel . We arrived up to our room and we had a complimentary small bottle of wine , a basket of fruit and a lovely jug of iced water. Our room (611) had a brilliant view of the Acropolis. The location could not be faulted only a few minutes walk to Monastariki Square in one direction and a slightly longer walk to Syntagma Square in the other direction.
The staff were great too especially Eva who would come around at breakfast time to make sure everything is ok and to give expert travel advice for the guests. She informed us of any strikes that were happening so we could make the most of our days and avoid any delays , she also helped point out the interesting sights on a map and gave us directions on how to reach them.
The breakfast was superb too a nice start to the day , the Greek yoghurt with honey was especially good. There was also free coffee , tea , hot chocolate and biscuits up to 17.30 every day which was great to have.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and would also love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phildel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful pictures! We are delighted to read your comment and we are very glad you were satisfied with our hotel! We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff.
We really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Hotel is situated very close to Athens center and also at the foot of Acropolis in Plaka area, the most famous tourist district in the City. Excellent value for money, breathtaking view to the Sacred Rock of Acropolis especially during summer period. The roof-garden is a must from Spring till October. The tender Elsa, very polite, excellent english speaker, a perfect host.

Room Tip: all rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APOSTOLOS-RAPHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Our location is indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel. Thank you so much for the positive comments about the staff.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights & were happy that we chose this place. We booked a triple room. The double bed was quite good. However, the extra bed was very short & uncomfortable. The buffet breakfast was quite lavish with local delicacies. This place offers complementary hot drinks in the later afternoon.
There is a kind of a restaurant at the top that offers the views of Acropolis but that got a very limited menu with a few drinks.

The hotel is centrally located. One can walk to many attractions from this place. Many good restaurants are nearby.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MaxDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
Referring to your comment on the triple room, as per our description , the 3rd bed is made for a teenager (smaller size bed) For 3-4 adults we recommend the family room with two bathrooms and interconnecting door.
Our roof terrace bar, does not have a restaurant. As you mentioned, there are plenty of restaurants in the area with a great choice, that will offer to travellers a great experience of eating out in Athens.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Kind receptionist, breakfast included with many options. Clean and cosy rooms, tasteful decor. Best of all you are so close to the acropolis and the museums. The hotel's location provides access to many nice restaurants near by and is also very close to the flee market.
Recommended for all!
Happy Travels 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such kind reviews especially from guests who stayed for a long period as you. Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts in offering the outmost to our valuable guests.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

wonderful little hotel with pleasant rooms and nice view to Acropolis. The location is perfect. The breakfast included everything one needs. The staff is friendly. What else one needs? The only bad experience we had while in Athens was the location of a car from ANSA company. Avoid it at all cost. But the hotel made our trip better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and high score.
As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As for your bad car rental experience to tell you the truth we haven't heard of this company.
Kind regards and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,439 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $66 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing