We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Plaka”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Plaka”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed there last year in July for one night. Had to book last minute so not a lot of research done. Felt like we hit the jackpot as it was a great hotel, fantastic location, staff were very, very helpful. I made a mistake when booking online and staff were fantastic in fixing my mistake.
Loved the terrace with view and breakfast was awesome. It does not look like something I would normally stay in, just a modern building, but it makes up for it in the easy access to metro, and the surrounding area is lovely. Get lost in the narrow lanes that lead up to the Parthenon, with many ancient sites along the way.

Very good stay and having done a bit more research for the next trip in May I can't find anything better in that price range and location. Look forward to seeing you then

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read that your stay with us was like a jackpot!
We look forward to seeing you next May. Please contact us before booking in order to offer you a room of your preference.

We wish you all the best for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,765
    1,220
    189
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,581
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has a perfect location for anyone visiting Athens. Within a couple of minutes walk you can be in the centre of Plaka, Monastaraki Square/Metro Station, Psiri or the Flea Market, even Syntagma Square is only a 5 min walk away. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent with a wide choice and not usually cleared away untill after 11.00 a.m. ideal for a lazy start to the day. Free coffee and biscuits all day is a nice touch. The room was kept spotlessly clean, and large enough to move around, not cramped at all. Although I was there in mid December it was very warm in the room, in fact I had to open the window a little to cool down. If you go in winter try to find the heating system??
What can I say about the roof terrace, the views from here are spectacular. Probably the best view of the Acropolis in Athens, not only this, you have a 360 degree view of the whole of Athens for many miles..This must be the perfect place to sit and have a drink from Spring to Autumn, however in December it was too cold to sit outside and enjoy the view in the evening when the bar was open. I felt the bar should have been moved down to the breakfast room earlier, as there was nowhere in the hotel to sit and have a drink and a chat when the weather was cold or wet.This was my only niggle during a lovely stay.The lift is a little small but perfectly functional if you are prepared to wait a little as it is the only lift for 7 floors.The WiFi is free for the first hour, then I paid 8 euros for 24 hours of Internet time, I thought this to be very reasonable for a 1 week stay. I will definately stay here again on my next visit to Athens, hopefully soon. There was absolutely no problem from traffic noise. Only 40 metres away is a very special traditional (not touristy) Kafeneon called Kapni Kareas where you can eat real Greek food, listen to real Rembetika songs and live music every afternoon and evening. Special thanks to Tonia and Michalis for all there help.

Room Tip: Tip for smokers, rooms to the back with a view to the Acropolis don't have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and high score!
We wish you all the best for the New Year and hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very good location... This hotel is situated in the heart of Athens, Plaka. The rooms are not very large, but are clean. We stayed on the 6th floor near the roof top. The view from our balcony was overlooking the street below and the shops across the street... average. Although, the roof top has a FANTASTIC view of the Parthenon. Breakfast is fantastic! Buffet breakfast with great variety... as well as the traditional greek foods including olives, tomato, bread, yoghurt and oregano + olive oil. Home-made jams aswell.

One negative.... We booked online and we asked whether our payment had been recieved. The manager at reception told us we had not paid and still needed to pay, pretending to look through information and booking papers. When we checked our credit card statement, we noticed that we had in fact paid, and when we confronted the manager he once again pretended to flick through booking statements and agreed that we had paid. He clearly did know that we had paid from the beginning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review.
I would appreciate very much if you could send me further details about your stay in order to find out this very rare mistake that you are mentioning.

Happy New year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hi everybody,
I must admit I´m not a frequent "online-rater", but if something is outstandingly good (or bad) I force myself to rate it. In this case it´s amazingly good. I went to Athens with my girlfriend for 4 days. We just got back yesterday and it was really an unforgettable trip. Part of it, because the Hotel was just perfect! Right in the heart of Athens, with everything just the way it should be (service, cleanliness, food and extras like the view on the acropolis and the rooftop-terrace with an beautiful view over the city). And all that for a more then reasonable (not to say cheap) price!
I can just say: I travel a lot, but this Hotel and its staff left me stunned, with a need to recommend it to everyone and more than willing to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you for your wonderful title and high score.
Pleased contact us before booking next time in order to offer you a room of your preference.
Thank you again and best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Reviews from TripAdvisor were very helpful in choosing this hotel. The hotel is small with a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean though basic. Location is excellent. Plaka is the area to stay in Acropolis area. Nice breakfast dining room. Staff was very helpful with information concerning restaurants, taxis, etc. Several nice restaurants close by. Will stay there again as price right and room comfortable.

Room Tip: Stayed on higher floor just below rooftop seating area with small bar. Left window open and therefor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to know that our high standards of service and facilities enabled you to have an enjoyable and memorable stay.
We also thank you for your exceptional picture!

Our best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Plaka hotel has everything required when travelling for business or for tourism: comfortable, prime location, variety and quality of breakfast and an exquisite attention by the personnel (my special thanks to Tonia in the reception desk for her assistance and comments about places, transports and any information I was interested in).
Wifi internet connection is free for the first hour. The fee of 2 euros per extra hour seems comparatively affordable since the connection was fast enough and highly reliable.
Relaxing with a cup of coffee in the bar located in the roof, just in front of the Acropolis, within the falling sun, is an unforgettable experience .

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room with the window in front of the Acropolis: the night view is really won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.Thank you for title. We are very pleased you thought that our hotel was of good value and for recommneding it.

We wish you all the best for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is our second stay at the hotel. I absolutely love this hotel. Our room on the 6th floor has an amazing view of the parthenon which adds to the greatness of the hotel.

I am visiting Athens often and i don't have reasons to look at any other hotels.

Last and most important the hotel staff always goes the extra step to accommodate you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yianniscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
How nice to read that you second experience wuth us was a very positive one !
If you are planning to come back please contact us, in order to offer you a room of your prefference.

Warm wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,206 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 327 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 327 in Athens
3,720 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 327 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing