We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love that rooftop terrace.”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love that rooftop terrace.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

There is no "GOOD" button so I am going with the very good. It was better than average though...
Anyway, we spent our first two nights at the Plaka. We had room 501. It is small, and the bathroom REALLY small. I knew all this ahead of time from reading previous reviews. And yes, that shower stall is itty bitty, and even though I knew that, it did not prepare me for the reality! If you drop your soap or shampoo, if you are as tall as I am, the only way to retrieve it is to open the door so you can bend down and get it! Or hit your head on the wall.
This room is right by the stairs and elevator. We were woken up at midnight by people going to their rooms. This went on for over two hours. We couldn't figure it out as the rooftop closed at 11:30, and I couldn't believe people would be using the stairs to go up to the fifth floor. We were extremely tired after traveling from the west coast of Canada, but after two plus hours of listening to peoples' shoes clacking on the stairs, and their talking, we just couldn't get back to sleep. The second night was much quieter, thank goodness! Avoid any rooms ending with the numbers one or two, as they are right by the elevator and stairs.
The breakfast was indeed wonderful. Our second morning, we were being picked up at 6 in the morning for a transfer to the ferry, so we didn't get the deluxe breakfast choices, but at least there were some baked goods and coffee to tide us over. It was dark though, as they only had a few lights on, and it can be an adventure trying to find things.
Beds are hard, and again, I knew this up front from reading reviews. It wasn't the hardest bed we were to sleep on during this holiday though!
We sat upstairs on the terrace both nights, but just had a drink one of the nights. And yes, the view is wonderful. Try to get up there before dark and watch the lights come on. The colours do change a bit as it gets darker.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in 01 and 02 as they are right by the stairs and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0an123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing our hotel for your two nights stay in Athens.

It is a pity you did not ask us to try and find for you a room with a bigger bathroom. I am sorry about the noise on the first night. I think that it was a single incident, as we do not receive complains of that kind and on the second night you were fine.
I am pleased our beds were not hard for you. Concerning your comment on your early departure breakfast, I will check with the night shift about it.
Thank you again for your comments that will help us improve. I always hope that clients mention them while they are still here, so we can offer them a very positive experience.

If you decide to come again in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly before booking and do my very best for you stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    1,234
    193
    51
    16
See reviews for
655
1,603
235
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Plaka before boarding our cruise ship from Athens. The hotel was excellent value and is in a great location in the heart of the Plaka District, very close to all the tourist sites. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent, food was fresh and constantly restocked. There was lots of variety with hot foods, cold meats and cheeses, bread, muffins, cereals, juices, yoghurt and even a Greek specialty each day. There was a lovely staff member (Eva) at breakfast everyday going from table to table to help with questions and suggestions about things to do in Athens, directions etc. We found this service very useful and have never seen it in a hotel before. The roof top terrace had fabulous views of the Acropolis. We loved the free tea, coffee, iced water and biscuits available all day in the breakfast room. It was great to go there for a break during the day to get out of the heat and hustle and bustle outside in a lovely air conditioned athmosphere. Good place to meet other hotel guests and share tips about places to go etc. We found a great restaurant in the square across from the front door of the hotel, Karyatis, and would highly recommend it. The food was excellent, traditional Greek food at a good price, had the best Mousaka and Greek salad. We enjoyed it so much we went back the second night of our stay. Agis looked after us superbly. Would also recommend a massage at Doctor Fish around the corner from the hotel, it was sensational. We were ripped off by the taxi driver who took us from the airport to the hotel. We saw the hotel's warning on their booking confirmation about the fixed price for taxis from the airport to the city but were taken in by the taxi driver saying that this did not include an airport charge and tolls. So eventhough we referred to the fixed charge of 35 Euros we still ended up paying 45 Euros. We did however take his number and the hotel helped us to report the driver to the police. So beware as it seems that this is common practice with taxi drivers trying to rip off tourists. Nonetheless we throughly enjoyed our time in Athens and put this down to our great choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

How lovely to read that you have put Plaka hotel to your great choice of hotels!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience about our breakfast, service, very central location and view on Tripadvisor, that will be helpful to others readers.

Best regards to all your family and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at the Plaka Hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel is very conveniently located to all major attractions and the room was comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. We arrived at night and when we went to our room and opened the drapes, we were met with an absolutely amazing view of the Acropolis! In addition there was a tray of fruit and wine, compliments of the hotel. The staff was helpful and quickly responded to my requests (iron, ironing board). The breakfast buffet has a multitude of offerings and the guest advisors are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful with recommendations of places to go and things to do. All in all, our stay at the Plaka was a lovely one and I do not hesitate giving the hotel my recommendation for a place to stay while in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phylmokap424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel after your recent positive experience.
We are very happy you enjoyed your room and that we were able to mach all your expectations.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had picked this hotel off tripadvisor, What a great choice . Was every thing it promised to be. We had tried to book room with Acropolis views but could not get one, this proved to be a plus our room 208 was larger with balcony , nicely appointed quiet and spacious, The buffet breakfast was more than adequate. The Hotel is in a great location. The best view of the Acropolis is from the roof top bar and is ideal spot to have a drink at sunset Elsa is delightful she is the manager of the rooftop bar. Eva one of the duty managers was incredibly helpful. This Hotel was a great find and we highly recommend

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for room with aview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montagueclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am absolutely delighted that you had such a great experience at the Plaka hotel and that your choice was made after Tripadvisor's reviews. We thank you for your time to share yours, wich will be helful to future readers.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Plaka in September and it was a terrific experience. Arriving before 10 am the staff offered free coffee etc while they finished making up our room despite not normally being accepted into hotels before 2 pm. The Terrace on the roof with 360 degreed views including the Acropolis while enjoying a glass of wine is a very fond memory. The metro is 3 minutes away and all the major sites in Athens are within walking distance. A guest advisor visits every table over breakfast to help you get the most out of your day. A terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were only staying overnight before flying out to Sri Lanka however it was was also our last night in Europe together so the choice of hotel was important. I thought the Hotel Plaka was certainly ideal for location with markets, shops and of course the sights all on the doorstep. Service was professional, helpful and efficient. Rooms were clean and light filled with a very comfortable bed; smallish bathroom but clean and well appointed. Happy to return when I find myself in Athens again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your last night in Europe.
We are glad you liked the very central location and you experienced the hospitality of our friendly and well trained staff.

Thank you for submitting a very nice evening picture from our roof top.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I'm extremely surprised that this hotel is ranked no. 7 in Athens!!! It's crap!

After an amazing stay at Athens Gate Hotel for one night, we moved to Plaka Hotel for two nights (we had done these bookings in advance because we thought that Plaka's location will be better). However, it turned out to be a huge mistake which dampened our honeymoon mood.

Firstly, we reached Plaka only to be told that we have to carry our bags to our rooms by ourselves, which came as a shock.

Then, as soon as we entered our room, we got a strong bad smell. This lasted all the days.

The room looked depressing. There were two twin beds - this, despite them knowing that we were a couple. We had to call reception and they sent housekeeping to cover it and make it seem like one bed.
The blankets were of the rough type. Housekeeping covered them with a white bedsheet.

The staff at the reception is extremely arrogant (Michael is the better one of them all). They act like they are doing you a favor by giving you any info. Moreover, on our last day, there was a strike in Athens and the guy at the reception gave us a lot of wrong information.

The one plus point was that we reached very late for breakfast on the first day but the lady there was very helpful and she served us a really good breakfast.

However, on our first night we went to restaurant to get hot water to drink and noticed that the cucumber, olives etc were cut and kept open overnight in readiness for breakfast the next day. Not my idea of fresh and healthy food.

They do not give you water to drink, you have to go to the restaurant in the middle of the night if you need some. There is no room service for food.

The roof top - yes you can see the Acropolis very well but even other hotels have the same view but with a better roof top. This roof top is shabby and has nothing to eat except for peanuts and cheap looking glasses for their drinks.

Frankly, we found Athens Gate to be a stone's throw away from the Acropolis, the Museum, the Zeus temple and to the bus tours (stop A2). Its also only a 10 min walk into Plaka. Plaka Hotel only gives you easy access to a few slouvaki places and shops, but its not worth it.

We really really regret shifting hotels and staying at Plaka. Its crap! The rating should be lowered. I have no idea what those certificates on their walls are for!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LavsHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that we did not match your expectations. I thank you for giving me the opportunity to specify that you are comparing two different category hotels. In my opinion it is not fair to compare us with the other hotel as we have a big difference on price too.

Concerning your comments on our location as per our name we are in the heart of Plaka area, May be you did not have the opportunity to visit the Ancient Agora which is just three books away, or the Roman market, the Hadrian's Library and the Temple of Winds which are just on our door step. As for the Acropolis is just 10 min walk and the Acropolis museum 15 min.

We are pleased you mentioned our really good late breakfast. As our aim is to offer the good service to our clients, you noticed that we are offering all night long breakfast, for those who are having an early departure. This is why you have seen some of the delicacies late at night. Of course this is refilled and fresh, that's how you experienced yourself next morning a good quality breakfast.

As per our description in our site, we do not have a restaurant on the roof top. It is a pity you were expecting things we do not advertise. We believe that Plaka area has many different interesting restaurants and tavernas that are part of an experience when travelling in Athens.

As we always want to improve, we are considering all reviews, either negative or positive and we thank you for yours.

I remain at your disposal.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,762 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing