We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel in an ideal spot”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small Hotel in an ideal spot”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great little hotel close to Monastiraki, Syntagma, Ermou st (shopping strip) and the Plaka area of course, with views from a roof top terrace that are fantastic. The staff were very good especially because the first room that my parents were allocated was a bit small. Once we aired our concerns they told us they would relocate them to a larger room on the second night (as the hotel was full) which they did very promptly the next morning. The breakfast room is lovely and the food was very good and offered local specialties such as 'Halva and Bougatsa' which we loved, being of Greek origin. Dorina was a great host giving us a map and advising of some of the things we may like to do do whilst in Athens.
The lobby and lift are small but the hotel makes up for this with other features, like the most comfortable beds on our whole trip! The double glazing on the windows was great to keep out traffic noise. If you're expecting a large foyer with cafe and bar areas do not stay here, but I would be happy to recommend this to anyone looking for a good location, clean modern rooms, great breakfast and a breath taking view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with your parents in our hotel. It was a great pleasure meeting you and be able to give some helful advise for a better stay.
I am glad you experienced our last year's renovation, including the good window isolation, our new comfortable beds and bathrooms.

I thank you for recommending us on TA and for your exceptional picture from our roof top!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    1,196
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
636
1,546
225
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St-Bruno-de-Montarville
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is very well located, close to the most sought-after sites in Athens, and a 2-minute walk to the Metro, with spacious rooms, modern amenities and a wonderful self-serve restaurant for breakfast and refreshments throughout the day. The views from its rooftop terrace are to die for, and the price is right.

My only complaint is that you must pay for internet access - this is the only hotel we stayed at in Greece that charged for internet.

We chose to take a taxi back to the airport - and I'm glad we did. Unfortunately, the driver charged 40 Euros when the meter showed 28 Euros. Given this was the only negative experience of our 3-week trip, I wrote it off to experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal-area
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and service, as well as our very central location.

Concerning your comment on the taxi price, by law there is a fixed price from central Athens to the airport of 35 Euros plus 3 Euros for the telephone appointment. I do not know why the meter was showing less, but still the price is fixed and is announced at the airport taxi terminal for all tourists to be aware.

Best regards and thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

we went to Athens for the first time last week, and stayed in this hotel---excellent location, wonderful views, complimentary wine on arrival and great breakfast selection
the rooftop patio and bar are fabulous to sit and admire the Acropolis at day or night and the other sites of the city
Dorina Stathopoulou, GM and owner assisted us greatly due to some medical problems we encountered which was so very helpful and appreciated.
we will go back to this hotel or their sister hotel, the Hermes which is just 2 blocks away and also excellent
Marguerite and Dennis

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of the Acropolis---amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Margueritte L,

Thank you for your time to share your experience of both our hotels on TA.
I am pleased I was able to assist you and offer you a pleasent stay though you were experiencing difficult time.

We all look forward seeing you again soon.

Best wishes and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Recommended to us by a friend, we stayed at the Plaka. We were extremely happy with the service, accommodation, excellent location and cost. We were overjoyed by the opportunity to return to the hotel restaurant during the day and refresh ourselves with a self-serve free tea or coffee in air conditioned comfort. This is one of the best 3 star restaurants we have ever stayed in; one I have no hesitation to recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking up to the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction.

We thank you for your time to share these comments on Trip Advisor, and mentioning how happy you were with the service, the value and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Plaka hotel twice on our recent trip to Greece.
The hotel is very central, the rooms are adequate and clean and the bathrooms newly refurbished.
Plaka hotel has the most central location to all the incredible sights that Athens has to offer and only a two minute walk from the Metro which takes your straight to the aiport of port. The hotel also has the most beautiful views of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar.
On our second stay we were given a room that doubles up as an interleding rooms for families - this was very noisy and soundproofing could be improved.
The lift is also very small but this was not a problem for us as we were happy to use the stair.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candicepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel during your recent visit to Athens.

Our location is indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel.

We are pleased you liked our renovated bathrooms and the view from roof top. We are sorry we were not able to offer a similar room on your second stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you decide to come back in order to assist you the best possible way.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Athens on several occaisons but this was our first stay at Plaka Hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations.

My husband and I were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and we were suprised by the bottle of wine and fresh fruit waiting for us in our room. Thank you to Dorina and her staff for that extra touch. .

The location of the hotel is a convenient location for visiting Athens. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was varied and fresh (especially enjoyed the coffee).
We would definitely return and look forward to our next trip to Greece.

Chris & Laurie T
Montreal Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauriet447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens.
Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to know that our high standards of service and facilities enabled you to have an enjoyable and memorable anniversary.

Thank you again.
We all look forward seeing you soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is worth it just for the view of the Acropolis from the roof top terrace. Great place to sit on the comfy lounges to watch the sun set and Acropolis light up.

It however has more to offer; modern clean rooms, and a fantastic location close to the bus and train stations. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments.

It is great to read that you liked the modern and renovated rooms. We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic location, next to direct metro line to the airport and port as well as next to old and modern city with sites, shops and restaurants.

Both submitted pictures are great and thank you for your time to share them on TA.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing