We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for here for 2 nights recently. We had a taxi drop us off at the hotel when we arrived in Athens. Glad we did as we were exhausted from other travels, and searching for this hotel at night, on hilly streets would have been unwelcome. Our room had a view of the city which we were a little disappointed about considering we asked for a view of the Acropolis. There is a nice terrace on level 5 where you can sit and enjoy a view of the Acropolis. Location is good - a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Acropolis entrance. Wifi is free but very unreliable. Rooms are clean and modern looking. Breakfast was ok. Definitely not bad, but might look elsewhere if ever in Athens again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaimex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Thaimex81,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the view from our rooftop terrace.
Concerning your request for a room with an Acropolis view, please accept our apologies for the disappointment this might have caused you. Whilst we try to satisfy all our guest’s requests, I am sorry that we were not able to do so on this occasion.
Thank you for bringing our attention to the WiFi issue, which we are looking into.
We hope to welcome you back again when you next visit Athens.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    303
    79
    23
    23
See reviews for
147
293
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mesilla nm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel does not honor reservations. We arrived exhausted from 24 hours of traveling to find that we (and the couple we were traveling with) had been bumped by a student group. Since our reservations had been made several months in advance, it would have been possible to notify us of the problem beforehand. They provided an alternate hotel, which I would not have chosen. Our room fronted on a very busy street full of tour buses day and night.

Hard for me to believe that this hotel is managed by Greeks - who have always been the most hospitable hosts in our travels.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nmsenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear nmsenora,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are saddened that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
The group of students who arrived, as you mentioned, on the same day as your party, was much larger than their booking and the group could not be split up due to student/staff ratio, for supervision purposes. Unfortunately, we were not able to inform you beforehand as we were not aware of the increased size of the group of students until their arrival.

The hotel we relocated you to in the area, is of higher standard and we would have expected your stay there to have been comfortable. We are very sorry this was not the case and we wish to extend a big welcome back to you to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence in Greek hospitality, when you are next in Athens.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My girlfriends and I went to Greece for a 10-day trip and Athens was our first stop. We chose the Acropolis Hill Hotel for its modern amenities and proximity to all the sightseeing. The lobby was very nicely decorated but the staff was super unpleasant and very cold. They weren't helpful with our bags and their tiny little elevator made it difficult to get a medium sized bag (or larger) to the rooms. They did not offer to help with bags either. We were bummed to learn that we requested rooms on the higher flower with a view, but didn't get them "because there was a glitch with their system." Yeah right. It seemed like the guy really just didn't care. The rooms were modern, but super, super, super tiny and ours wasn't cleaned. We oped the door to find trash in the can and an unmade bed. Not a great first impression. The pool area seems nice and peaceful, although it doesn't seem to get much sun. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but the real treat is their rooftop terrace. The panoramic views of Athens are gorgeous from up there. So gorgeous that it almost makes up for the crappy service. Also, the place was super quiet in May/2013 when we went. If you're loud or traveling with friends/kids/big group, you may feel like you're disturbing everyone. You could hear a pin drop after 9pm. Could also have just been because it wasn't yet high season.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast on the rooftop terrace -- it's STUNNING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManWifeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ManWifeDog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Acropolis Hill.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the breathtaking view from the rooftop terrace! However, we were particularly concerned to read your comments with regards to our staff, since we usually receive positive feedback. We apologize sincerely for the service deficiencies you experienced and any inconvenience caused.

I would like to apologize once again for the disappointments you encountered during your stay and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel in a good part of the city. Close to the acropolis and the touristy Plaka area. The metro station Fix is about 400 metres downhill, easy to pull cases downhill but not nice uphill. Our room was small enough but comfortable. I found the bed very nice and slept excellently here. Good stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryOR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I recently stayed here with friends during a 10 day tour of Greece. Of all the hotels, this was my least favorite. The elevator is extremely small and you'd be hard-pressed to get two people and two large rolling bags inside (the staff did not offer to bring them up for us). Once inside our room, we discovered it hadn't been cleaned and had to request that someone come up and take care of it. (Did I mention you can't get two big bags past the door without moving the bed?). Pros: The hotel is otherwise clean, the breakfast buffet is good, the location is ideal and the separate bathroom/shower set-up is helpful. Cons: The rooms are drab, the staff is not friendly (one gentleman actually shushed me when I attempted to ask a question because he apparently could only focus his attention on one of us at a time), and there are no beverage/ice options other than the main bar. If you're all about close proximity, then definitely book. If you're looking for hands-on attention and a more luxurious experience this isn't it.

Room Tip: Even if you're only traveling with two people, definitely book a triple. The rooms are so small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear skrecke,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you found the location ideal and the design of the bathrooms practical.
We would like to apologize for the receptionist’s oversight who in his attempt to do a quick check in, offered you a room that was not yet ready, which of course is unacceptable.
As for the matter of the size of the lift, unfortunately this is an issue relating to the Construction Regulations of renovated buildings which is not something that can be altered.
We apologize again for the shortfall in service and any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We had to go to another hotel at 1am because they over booked the hotel. We didn't get notified until we called to let them know we will be arriving very late. Receptionist was bit rude. I say bit because I'm not sure if it was language problem. I wanted to make sure we get as we were getting when we booked this hotel. Free wifi wasn't on the other hotel. He was keep on saying " please cooperate with me and sign the paper" it was very offensive. We were happy with the other hotel at the end but that doesn't make this right. We booked the hotel about a month ago! How did we not get notified and how did we get pushed out of reservation?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Koreanineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact we had to accommodate you in another hotel and for any inconvenience that may have caused you.

Unfortunately we were unable to accommodate you due to a serious error with our reservation system. We are very sorry we were not able to contact you in advance and that the communication with our staff was not entirely satisfactory.

Every effort was made to ensure the alternative accommodation found was of a similar or better standard than we offer at the Acropolis Hill and we are glad you were happy with the services and facilities it offered.

We extend our apologies again we very much hope we shall be afforded the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I must say, we did have a good stay here. The hotel is away from the busy center and touristy neighborhoods, but close to everything. I just wish the staff was more helpful and maybe even smiled once to twice. There was some confusion with my reservation. I'll blame that on Hotels.com.

It's the little things that would help Acropolis Hill be a better hotel. For a short stay in Athens(2 nights is all you need) I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSeph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing