We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here.
This hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk from the Acropolis and in a nice quiet neighbourhood. We had a room on the 5th floor which had a great view over the city. The room was clean and comfortable if a little on the small side, and we had a balcony to sit out on. The room and bathroom were nicely decorated and modern.
There is also a shared terrace on the 5th floor with views of the acropolis and some tables and chairs to sit out to enjoy the view.
The staff were friendly and helpful and there is free wifi.
The breakfast was lovely- lots of choice continental, cereal and hot options.

The only down sides were the small size of the room although this doesn't matter if your out and about all day as we were. Also, we found the shower a bit difficult to use as there was no shower head holder above waist height so you have to hold it up if you want to wash your hair etc
Also important to know is that the pool is in a tight courtyard area surrounded by tall buildings so I imagine its always in shade and not the most picturesque of surroundings!

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floors have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Catherine M,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TA and for your kind comments. Customer satisfaction is our primary concern; therefore, we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Acropolis Hill Hotel and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
Hope to see you again on your future trip to Greece!

Kind regards,
The Acropolis Hill Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 755 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent hotel at 10 minutes by foot to Acropolis hill !
On fifth floor the roof terrasse offers a fantastic view on Athens city and Acropolis.
Modern and comfortable rooms, recently renovated.
Unfortunately the pool is located in a dark yard without any sun and is not heated, water is cold in consequence.

Room Tip: Rooms on fifth floor and south side offer a fantatic 180° overview on Athens city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PacMan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

1.The Hotel is located close to the sites. It is a 5 Minutes walk to the bottom of the Acropolis and the museum and aprox. 10 Minutes to reach the Plaka. You do not need a car to get around.

2. The Hotel can be reached by bus, metro or taxi. From the airport: take line 3 and get off at Syntagma Square or take the bus X95 to its final Station on Syntagma Square. (Turn right outside of the airport. Do not cross the lanes.) From Syntagma either you take a taxi (max 5 Euro) or you change trains and get on line 2 and get off at Fix station or Acropolis station. It is a 400 to 500m walk.I recommend to take the taxi to avoid climbing the steep hill.

3. Rooms and bathroom are small but new and stylish. To have the best view over the city I recommend to ask for room no. x06, x07 or x08 on the 6th or 5th floor. In other rooms, especially on the lower floors, you may find yourself looking at a wall without direct sunlight.

4. Breakfast is good (fresh fruit salad) and satsifying. There is free wifi available in the rooms which sometimes does not operate. There is also one in the lobby.

5.Swimming pool is on the lower level. Unfortunately without direct sunlight.

6. There is a terrace on floor 5 from where you can see the acropolis and enjoy our own wine.

7. The neigbourhood is very quiet. Still, if you have a light sleep, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is strictly a functional hotel - Really small, more like a motel. The room was small with just enough space for a double bed. The bathroom was tiny and the shower a squeeze. Breakfast is basic but wholesome. What works for the place is its staff. Reception was really helpful with directions and booking tours. One night my daughter broke a glass in the bathroom. They do not have round the clock housekeeping, but the receptionist came and cleared up the glass shards. Location wise, it is in an isolated residential area. The taxi driver from the airport had trouble finding it. Walking back from Plaka at night is a bit scary, though nothing ever happened to us. The Acropolis is 5 minutes away, while the Plaka 15 minutes. Another issue we had was that though we could book tours from the hotel, we had to walk a 10 minute distance to another hotel to be picked up. There is no pick up at the hotel. It's a small, compact, clean place to stay with an efficient, gracious staff.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ANJUGOELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a very good stay in this hotel recently built/renovated in modern style
Location:
- it is at the bottom of Filopappou and at 5 minutes walk from the Acropolis. Plaka is a bit further 15 minutes walk; be ready to climb a final steep to reach the hotel, which may be better reached by taxi. The surroundings are not great (as Athens outside it Acropolis core) but we never felt unsafe.
Rooms:
- not large but more than enough for 2 persons; the bed is very comfortable although also not large (I guess around 140 cm wide). There is also a coach, TV, safe (enough for a 13" laptop), balcony with view on the acropolis (on the street but not particularly noisy) or on an inner court with view on Athens.
Breakfast:
good with a wide choice of food
Nothing really to complain about.

Room Tip: 508 (not ours) was close to elevator shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinturicchio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at the Acropolis Hill hotel - room 603. I was there only for 1 night (April 11) unfortunately, but still enough time to appreciate the hospitality. Why did I enjoy my stay at the Acropolis Hill? For several reasons:
1. excellent location close by the Acropolis, the historic center and Plaka
2. excellent comfort:very clean room, comfortable bed, well furnished, modern stylish room
3. good breakfast
4. staff very friendly and extremely helpfull
5. good price, not expensive.

1 negative point though: most of the TV channels didn't work, but it didn't really matter to me because I was in town most of the time and I didn't come to Athens to watch TV.

Conclusion: I definitely recommend the Acropolis Hill Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank De Grauwe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Acropolis Hill is a small hotel good located close to Acropolis. The rooms are small but nice. There is a small bar, nice to bring drinks to the roof room with a wonderful view to Acropolis. Walking home after a long day with sightseeing could be tough cause of the location at the top of a hill.

Room Tip: The rooms are nicer with a view to the swimmingpool or to Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCC981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#19 of 282 in Athens
1,088 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,437 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#46 of 282 in Athens
617 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#50 of 282 in Athens
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Address: 7 Mousson, Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $44 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing