We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was excellent . great service. Within walking distance of the acropolis.spectacular view at nights. nice eating pla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great experience. rich history and culture. spectacular views . Great arcitecture. Corinth canal is a must see.We had the best tour guide ever. She was very knowledgeable o f the history of Greece.The old olympic stadium, the museum, were all facinating and interesting places.The very small cares, electric buses and the cleanest subways.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Valerie W,

Both from the title of your review as well as from your comments I can say that you enjoyed the hotel, as well as the location and your experience in Greece as a whole! I am very glad to read such beautiful remarks and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Athens and the Acropolis Hill hotel in the near future!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 749 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is nicely situated and the terrace has a wonderful view of the city, and of course the Acropolis. To get there one must climb some stairs, but some really nice restaurants are closeby. My 1 person room was a bit small but everything was clean. Breakfast was nice and fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarijeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Do not stay anywhere else!! This 3 star hotel is a 10 min walk up the road from Everything! The rooms are VERY clean, very smart and modern in style .Rooms are small but lets face it ,do not need to be huge if you are in Athens you're not going to be inside except to rest your full tummy and tired feet,
You are right in the middle of everything!Our rooms were on the fifth floor and when you stood on the balcony and looked right, the Acropolis could be seen quite easily! Beautiful especially at night when illuminated against the sky.The fifth floor roof terrace was also a lovely place to relax after a long day and you can buy a drink and take it up to the terrace with you..there is nowhere to buy a drink in the hotel and no facilities in the rooms to make one..so take a travel kettle if this bothers you! Plenty of little kiosks on the street stay open till late and sell cold drinks,stamps etc! Rooms are air conditioned and have a hairdryer and a fridge to store drinks in.
Breakfast is lovely.great selection of bread,rolls,cheeses olives, salad and fruit. The breakfast room is by the pool and is clean and bright and airy! I'm a veggie and was quite happy.Scrambled eggs were good too!
If you leave the hotel and turn right ,walk to the end of the road,you will see some steps among the trees. Cross over and go up the steps and you will be on the main road to everything,Which you will be so grateful to know..if we'd known this we could have saved ourselves from walking the long way round on a dodgy pavement! If you follow the path down it takes you to all the restaurants,Museum,Acropolis,etc.At the end of this path turn left for the Plaka and right for some more restaurants!
This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in!They were more than happy to look after our luggage whilst we went out on our last day so we did not have to lug it round with us until our taxi came at 4pm! Wonderful!!

Room Tip: Room 503.shower room is not for big people,502 and 503 balcony faces Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torchythetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Torchythetourist,

Thank you very much for your high score as well as for your recommendation. Word of mouth is our best friend and we are very happy that your experience at the Acropolis Hill Hotel was excellent. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the roof terrace, which is open to all our guests. Guests are welcome to take a drink from the hotel’s bar, located in the lobby, and enjoy it at the roof terrace. Thank you again for your detailed review and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked this hotel on the recommendation of TripAdvisor and stayed for 3 nights in Oct12. A lovely place, just a short 10-minute (but very steep - do keep that in mind if you have lots of luggage) walk up from the Sygrou-Fix metro station and within easy walking distance from the Acropolis. It is located in a decent and safe residential neigbourhood. The hotel is newly renovated, the rooms are comfortable, clean and fresh (it look just like the pictures). Some reviews suggest that the rooms are small, but I think they are normal/decent by the standards of hotels near the centre/main tourist spots in European capitals. The staff are friendly and accommodating - requested for a room change in the middle of my 3rd night due to an insect (no fault of theirs, I think it just came in from the hills across the road when the balcony door was opened) and they did it right way without any fuss. Plenty of eateries and small stalls around the Sygro-Fix metro station, though there are none immediately next to the hotel. Would stay there again and highly recommend it as a base to explore Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taniel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear taniel78,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel Acropolis Hill as well as for your recommendation. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our team to be friendly and accommodating.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of the TripAdvisor recommendations and were not disappointed at all! Hotel has a spacious and plush looking reception with friendly and helpful staff. 6 floors (teeny lift is my only criticism but as I am claustrophobic it's not their fault at all!) and we were right at the top in a twin room. Lovely clean rooms, small bathroom but spacious shower/wet room, comfy single beds with clean cool sheets and a little balcony with a view of the acropolis. The real clincher for us was down on the 5th floor where there is a huge balcony with 360 degree views across the whole of Athens. Because the hotel is on a hill you can see right from the Parthenon all the way across to the sea. Absolutely stunning and a lovely place to sit (chairs and tables provided) with a book and just chill. Breakfast was pretty standard European fare with hot eggs and delicious little frankfurters, selection of cold meats and cheeses, fruit, Greek yoghurt (of course!) breads and cake as well as hot drinks and orange juice.

Location was excellent as it is on a quiet road (up a little hill but nothing too taxing in the heat) and is only a 5 minute walk from the base of the acropolis and 10-15 minute walk from Thissio which is a lovely district with lots of stalls selling jewellery etc, and Plaka which is best for restaurants and cafes.

Also in case it does get too hot to stay outside, our room had a tv mounted on the wall with several English channels including news and MTV. Definitely recommend and would come back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will have the best view, i recommend Floors 5 and 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniMF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear DaniMF24,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Acropolis Hill hotel and for your very positive feedback about our hotel, the staff, location and more. I will ensure to pass all of your great compliments back to our team.

It's wonderful to hear that you had a great time in Athens and that you went through Plaka and the also very nice neighborhood of Thissio, which is just a short walk from the hotel via Apostolou Pavlou pedestrian street.

Also we have uploaded a picture on our facebook page with the 360 degree views across the whole of Athens. A guest emailed us the picture he took from the 5th floor rooftop terrace and we thought it would be nice to share it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next year.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Positive: The Acropolis is literally at the end of the street, which was very convenient. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when I was trying to plan my outings and in contacting a tour operator about an upcoming trip.
Negative: The only complaint I have, and it's minor, is that the shower was slightly awkward. The handle to turn the faucet on/off was right at my hip level, and I kept hitting it either turning the water off, or making it hotter or colder.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc111872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear doc111872,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Acropolis Hill hotel.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our team to be welcoming and friendly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Clean hotel, comfort beds and great price. The only problem was the breakfast. We stayed for 2 nights. On the day we arrived, the day front desk guy was not too helpful informing about the acropolis site, because that day many public places was on strike and he said: "just go there and you will find out...". We were surprised, since the acropolis was only 10 minutes from the hotel, and he had no ideia if it was open or closed. This was the front desk guy during the day. On the day we left at 4am there was a really nice guy that served us breakfast while we waited for our cab. He was very nice! Overall, it is a good hotel, nice view from the terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fons2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear fons2501,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel Acropolis Hill as well as for posting a picture! Regarding your comment about the the Acropolis site opening hours, i can imagine your surprise but as you have realised that day many public places were on strike and we had no official information about opening and closing times, that's why you were advised by the front desk to go on site. Additionally, you say that "The only problem was the breakfast." I would kindly ask you to contact me on: christos@tourhotel.gr as I would like to know what you didn't like and how we might improve.

Thank you very much for your time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,411 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#20 of 282 in Athens
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,818 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,138 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Address: 7 Mousson, Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $72 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing