We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #23 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Acropolis and the stop for both sightseeing bus tours, about 10 minutes walk away.

The hotel is very modern and the breakfast buffet was good. The view of the Parthenon is great.

I didn't notice anyone in the swimming pool or besides it, I wasn't particularly keen on the location of the pool as it is overlooked by all the rooms and feels a little crowded by the surrounding buildings.

I got to the hotel easily by metro from the airport but a word of warning it is a 10 minute walk up a steep hill from the metro stop including steps at the top so if you have a lot of luggage and don't fancy carrying it up the hill its best to take a taxi.

At the bottom of the hill is a good selection of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top (6th floor) for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    302
    79
    23
    23
See reviews for
147
292
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I can't compare this to other hotels in Athens in terms of price and expereince as it's the only one I have stayed in there. It was fine. Another reviewer has pointed out the need for sunshades on the terrace and I agree: it's lovely to sit there and admire the view of Athens and the Parthenon but not everone wants to sunbathe at the same time! Breakfast was OK - the cold selection is better than the hot selection, which is very limited. Someone also pointed out the waist-level showerhead, which is a bit strange in a new hotel, but not a real problem. A taxi from the airport cost 35 euro if you hail one in the street and ensure you ask for the fixed price: it's a bit more if you get the hotel to order it for you. There'a a metro stop nearby (Fix) and then you walk for 10-15 minutes up a street with lots of nice places to eat, although it's a bit of a trek if you have lots of luggage and includes steps. I didn't go in the pool but it looked clean and wasn't as small or poorly situated as I had expected from some of the other reviews.

Room Tip: When I was there they were building something next door and there was some noise early in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Janeathome,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Acropolis Hill! We are glad to read that your experience at our hotel was positive and thank you for your suggestions for improvement. Regarding your comment about the taxi, in Athens when you call a taxi, the taxi companies charge a little more for the arrangement, whereas if you hail one in the street they charge you exactly the fee indicated in the taxi meter. For the airport as you mention there is a fixed price.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My first hotel in Greece, and i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located walking distance from Plaka- the most lively street in whole of Athens and the Acropolis Monument. From the room, you can have a good look at the Parthenon. The hotel staff was very warm. My stay was from 20th August to 22nd August. The hotel was well made and it was a good stay.
The only problem which I had was with the room size. The room size was a little small and while getting up from the bed, one can easily bang their head in the TV. So, that needs to be taken care of. Otherwise, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshitijkapoor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear kshitijkapoor90,

Thank you very much for taking the time write a review about our hotel Acropolis Hill. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and thank you for the compliments to our staff!

We hope to see you again
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great rooms, much larger than typical "European" rooms I have stayed out on trips. Showers and bathroom was really nice as well. Hotel pool was a bit chilly but felt great after a long day walking around Athens.

Location-wise it was great, just a walk up a hill(kind of steep) from a metro-station and a 10min walk to the Acropolis.

Breakfast was good, not great, but compared to many other places I have stayed a cut above most.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a good view of the Parthenon, I think we stayed in 313
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Three things immediate come to mind with this hotel.
1. Best value for money compared to all the other European hotels we stay at. Price per night considerably lower than comparable hotels elsewhere
2. The location. You can see the Parthenon from your balcony & you can easily walk to all the sites on the Acropolis
3. The hotel is new & fresh, and stylishly fitted out

The staff spoke english & were friendly & accommodating.
Breakfast was a typically European breakfast bread/spreads/cheese & meat slices/cereal/fruit/coffee from a machine.

The hotel comes with a pool, but the pool is located between hotel buildings, so it is not that inviting.

The hotel is near "Acropolis" metro station, but getting to "Acropolis" requires a transfer from the airport train, to another train. After all that, you still need to do a 15 minute walk up a hill, dragging a bag over cobblestones, to reach the hotel. So a cab is probably a better choice (45 Euro fixed cost fare from airport). The hotel is so new that our cab driver did not know how to find it.

One peculiar negative was the fact that the hose & shower head assembly, in our new bathroom, was mounted at waist height. So you needed one arm to hold the shower, whilst using your other arm to wash. So much better if they mounted it at head height.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelYfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear MichaelY from Sydney,

Thank you very much for your kind comments which I have shared with our staff. As we are trying to offer the best to our guests at a competitive rate, we are happy to read that we are the “Best value for money compared to all the other European hotels”. Also thank you for your suggestions for improvement. In our attempt to improve, we surely value all the feedback from our guests. Hope to see you again on your future trip to Athens.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great hotel, extremely close to the Acropolis. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were modern, and chic, although a bit small, but as expected for the budget. There's a pool which is slightly small but overall this was a great option including free wi-fi and breakfast. The area is touristy so no concerns about safety and we walked around at night without any problems (we are two women)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smita S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Located in a quiet residential street on the south side of the acropolis. Very convienient but away from the tourist crowds. 10 minute or less walk to the acropolis. Well designed boutique hotel. Was a bargain when booked online but their rack rates seem a little high. My room which looked in the courtyard, was smallish and perfect for one person. Across the hall there are larger rooms--which have an acropolis view (i think) and would be ideal for 2. Service was friendly--if slightly uneven (wrong bus number to the inter-city bus station, bit of a mix-up about the rate when I stayed an extra night--minor issues). Wifi worked perfectly. Didnt use the pool. There is a roof deck, but no furniture or shade--that might be room for improvement. Also there is some constrcuction going on next door as of september 2012. Still, I highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the acropolis. Besides the view, they are larger (and of course more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthebusagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear wsg3,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We thank you for your kind words as well as for your suggestions for improvement and we are sorry for the deficiencies you experienced such as a wrong bus number… We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best Regards
The whole team at Acropolis Hill Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing