We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised day in Athens”

Private Greece Tours
Ranked #1 of 290 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our private tours are exactly what you need so as to avoid the monotony of typical tour itineraries and the chaos of big tour groups. Our private tours take you to places and areas that big buses can't reach and offer you the flexibility to stop anywhere, anytime for whatever reason (photos, lunch brake, health needs etc). We are happy to offer you the rarest luxury of our times, individuality, in very competitive prices. You will just sit back and enjoy the personal attention given by your guide who will be willing to satisfy your requests with professionalism and courtesy.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Well organised day in Athens”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were a party of 4 adults who were cruising the Greek Islands on board a Princess ship. Not wanting to join the hoards on a bus tour I found Nikos' company through Tripadvisor and was very pleased that I did! Nikos was very prompt with his replies to all my e-mails and very clear on the exact price we would have to pay and his instructions for us on how to meet his driver were very clear even though there is always a complication in Athens as to where the ship is going to dock on the day!
Spyros was our driver for the day and he was easy to find amongst the crowd which is always a relief. We left promptly for The Acropolis and he explained the history of it and what we would expect to see . He spoke English very well and he was very clear with instructions of where to meet after we were finished.The whole day was extremely well organised and well timed and we were never made to feel like he was rushing us. We did the whole day tour and enjoyed a great lunch in a cafe near the market . We also saw the changing of the guard near the Parliament building---that was fascinating and there were not many other tourists there. We followed Spyros' suggestions but at any time we could have changed the itinerary---the advantages of NOT being on a ship's organised bus tour! Spyros was very professional in his approach but at the same time a lot of fun---we really enjoyed his company.
We finished off at the new Acropolis Museum which was so interesting---and very cool, as by mid afternoon Athens was very hot! Spyros was well aware of the time we had to return to the ship and the timing was perfect---we made the most of our day in Athens. I would certainly recommend this company to anyone, especially if you only have one day in Athens.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Spasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,977
    58
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Greece tours - NIKOS LOUKAS”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Found Nikos' company at Trip Advisor. Everything everyone said about him and his tour guides was true and even better. The first day we took a "half day" tour of the City and Petros spent 7 hours with us. It was like he had nothing else to do. Petros was so knowledgeable, friendly and warm that we hated to say goodbye. The second day we spent with Alex for a coastal drive to the Poseidon ruins. Alex spent 6 hours with us and even agreed to have dinner with us. He choose the restaurant and the meal at our request. What a delightful young man. It was like parting with a good friend. I highly recommend Nikos Loukas' Company to anyone wanting a special tour in Athens.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch Tour of Athens”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our group of 16 recently stopped at the Port of Piraeus where we had booked (from home) a full day Athens tour through Nikos at Private Greece Tours. We were met promptly at our ship by our tour guide, Kalliopi. She very expertly guided us through the most important historic sites in Athens, yet was very flexible in altering her itinerary to suit our interests and wishes.

Kalli was not only very knowledgeable and professional, she was also very personable and charming. We spent a wonderful day with her!

Our bus driver, George, was also great - very polite and a master in maneuvering us through Athens traffic.

We would certainly recommend your tour company to others who would be visiting Greece.

Thank you again for all of your help.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Worth it!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived in Athens a day before our cruise was scheduled to embark. We really wanted to experience a bit of Athens, We knew hiring a private driver was really the only way to get in all the major sites. Private Greek Tours or Dimitri, specifically was recommended to us. After inquiring, and mulling over the price, we decided to go for it!
SOOOO WORTH IT! Dimirti met us at the airport in a very comfortable, clean minibus and dropped us at our hotel the night we arrived. He met us the next morning at the hotel, suitcases, bags and all to begin our tour of the city.
An early start and expert planning got us to all the major sites before the crowds! It was fabulous. Dimitri was so informative, fun and professional. Our children 13 and 10 enjoyed it as well!
At the end of the tour, which was totally modified to our liking, he dropped us at the cruise port.
I wouldn't go to Athens without him!! Thanks Dimitri!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robnkyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Athens Half day Tour”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We (myself, wife and another couple ) recently travelled to Athens on the Equinox and had booked a half day tour around Athens on October 22nd, 2012 with Private Greece Tours. We were impressed first of all by the speed at which Nikos, the owner, replied to questions - he obviously lives with his blackberry as it was 11pm Greek-time and I sent my email less than 20 minutes before then ! All follow on replies were just as speedily handled.

Our guide/driver was Sakis, in his air conditioned Mercedes, and he was very helpful and very knowledgeable on his city. This length of trip and the places we visited was just right for us and the amount of ancient history and the background on Greece in modern times and its current situation was perfect and helpful.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this company, this trip and Sakis to anyone visiting Athens as good value for money, interesting and worth doing for anyone who wants to get a very good overview of Athens.

We felt very safe and cared for at all times in case anyone is concerned about the protests that happen from time to time

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Greece Tours also viewed

 

Been to Private Greece Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing