We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to the moon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Avissinia

Cafe Avissinia
Ranked #123 of 3,640 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Monastiraki
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So close to the moon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you want a romantic night facing Athen'sAcropolis with a candle light on your table, an excellent taste of the best greek food, a superior service all in one, just try this place. During my several years of experience in Athens I reckon this is really the best you can find in this city and probably in all Southern Europe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodhopper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    166
    51
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty local specialities served with flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I dropped into this charming cafe in the furniture market for a rest after wandering around the streets all morning and after a chat with the charming patron decided to stay for lunch. I took the owner's advice and had two half portions of some of the house specials instead of a starter - stuffed cabbage leaves with chilli and a split pea purée. Both dishes were excellent and full of flavour. The split pea purée was especially good spread thickly on slices of dark bread and drizzles with oil and fresh lemon juice. I then moved on to a dish of slow cooked veal in tomatoes served on a smoked aubergine purée. This was fantastic - the meat was beautifully tender and the soft texture and subtle favour of the aubergine was an excellent foil to the rich stew. Given the quality of the food I couldn't resist some desert but settled for the light option of spiced fruit and nut compote served with rich, creamy and delicious Greek yoghurt. A delightful, laid back meal served by friendly and charming staff with a passion for food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuileann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food with great view at Acropolis.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a table for 6 on a Tuesday night and the restaurant seems quiet but when we got to the roof terrace it turned out it's packed. The view is spectacular and the food really tasty and authentic (according to my Greek friends). The service was very attentive but not intrusive. I would definitely recommend this place for a nice evening dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great view to Acropolis at night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great view to Acropolis at night (only from the roof).
The food is good quality but in small portions.
I would not go there for the food, overpriced

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zisis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food and great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Magnificent view over the Athens and specially to Acropolis. Great Food, Try Burger Thessaloniki, meat balls, Saganagi.... Service was little disorganized but the food was really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Timo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Avissinia also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Cafe Avissinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing