We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip to Athens!”
Review of George's Taxi

George's Taxi
Ranked #2 of 289 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: George's taxi provides high quality service in Athens for more than 20 years.Our expert driver-guides will escort you in deluxe air-conditioned Mecedes vehicles (taxi/minibus).Whether you need a shore excursion in Athens,tours in the mainland or transfers we make sure that you have an unforgettable experience.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip to Athens!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just got back from our Med. Cruise and couldn't be more impressed with George's service. Email contact was prompt and his prices proved very competitive, far less than the impersonal ship's excursion experience. The ship arrived at port about 30 minutes later than scheduled and George was able to adjust the itinerary to get all of our interests fulfilled. Thanks George!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank odiethe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,727
    48
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“George's Taxi Service - Awesome (Kostas also Super!)”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Georges Taxi Service was key to making our recent quick trip to Athens and the Greek Island of Sifnos a smooth and enjoyable one. My husband and I put the trip together ourselves just five days before departure arranging for flights, hotels, ferries, etc. The night before we left, I found a link to George’s Taxi Service on the website of Greece Travel guide, Matt Barrett. I phoned George’s son, Nickolas to inquire about a pick-up at Athens airport the next day as well as options for a half-day tour in Athens. I was pleased that he was able to accommodate my request on such a short notice! He also emailed me options for a half day tour.

Kostas was our driver and was at Athens airport right on time holding a sign with our name on it. After a warm welcome he helped us with our luggage. He was professional, personable and with perfect English shared some interesting facts and history about Athens on our way to the hotel in Piraeus. He also provided some ideas for customizing our Athens tour. Kostas made sure we were checked-in at our hotel and we arranged for him to pick us upon our return from Sifnos. It was great to see a familiar face when we stepped off the boat and not to have to wait in the taxi lines. Enroute to our hotel, we firmed up our tour with a half day sight-seeing in Athens on Thursday followed by an evening tour of The Temple of Poseidon at Sounion.

Kostas hit all the main attractions (The Acropolis and Parthenon, Temple of Zeus, Changing of the Guard, Plaka, etc.) as well as some sites not normally seen on the big bus tours. He helped us get our tickets and got us from place to place with such finesse in the Athens city traffic. Best of all, he was extremely knowledgeable of the history of Athens and Greece and his use of pictures and diagrams of the historic sites helped us so much with understanding what we were seeing. We would definitely recommend George’s Taxi Service and Kostas in particular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smoakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Athens tour :)”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great time exploring Athens with George's Taxi!! Our plane was delayed in landing by 3 hour from the US and our driver still waited for us. We were extrememly tired when we arrived but the tour quickly helped us to forget how tired we were! Our driver, Dimitris was a pleasure to spend the day with. He gave us a very educational tour of Athens. He was very knowledgable and courteous. We only had one day to spend in Athens and felt we got a great flavor of the city. Overall, a very delightful experience for us. We will definitely recommend George's Taxi to our friends and family :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worthy of their ranking on Tripadvisor”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were met at Athens airport by Spiros who was with us for 2 days until our drop off once again at the airport. Not only was he a wealth of information, he was able to identify our interests within a short time. He was insightful, punctual, spoke an outstanding English, was professional and a sheer delight. I have no reservation in recommending George's Taxi Service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lydias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
167 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Day trip to Delphi was fantastic!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked by phone only a day in advance which was no problem. Our guide and driver was Tony and he was fantastic. Amazingly knowledgeable, friendly and nice. He showed us many sites in athens as we departed and long the way. We learned so much from him about Greece. He also took us to a great place for lunch. He made stops as we requested and also made suggestions also. This trip was highlight of visit to Greece. While not cheap, for a family of three this was less than joining a bus tour and all the hassles. We highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chesterchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Taxi also viewed

 

Been to George's Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing