We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and reliable service”
Review of George's Taxi

George's Taxi
Ranked #1 of 296 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: George's taxi provides high quality service in Athens for more than 20 years.Our expert driver-guides will escort you in deluxe air-conditioned Mecedes vehicles (taxi/minibus).Whether you need a shore excursion in Athens,tours in the mainland or transfers we make sure that you have an unforgettable experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent and reliable service”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We first used George's Taxi a number of years ago, and due to the excellent service given I contacted them again to arrange a transfer from Athens airport to the central coach station so my daughter and her cousin could catch the last coach of the day across to Preveza. I emailed all the details and emphasised the importance of getting them to the coach station as quickly as possible as the timescale was very tight. I was extremely impressed ... not only did Nicholas get them to the coach station with plenty of time to spare, but he also went into the station and helped organise the tickets for them. Thank you Nicholas for a most helpful and impressive service, and I would most certainly highly recommend George's Taxi service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesun013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,857
    50
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Durham, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cape Sounion day trip with Markis”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I had read about George's Taxi online and while in Athens I emailed the website and set up a day trip to Cape Sounion to see the Temple for Poseidon. The driver we met was Markis. He was prompt, polite and knowledgeable. His cab was what appeared to be a new and very clean mercedes benz - very comfortable. He took us down the coast and stopped many times for photo opts. We arrived in Cape Sounion in time for the glorious sunset. On the way back we stopped in a fabulous restaurant and had lamb and pork that was grilled and was wonderful. Great choice Markis. We were with Markis for 5 - 6 hours including the dinner when he patiently waited for us. Wonderful trip. Highly recommend this as a fun trip while in Athens.

Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Make the most of your time; learn about great restaurants;prompt, local insights”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We only had two days in Athens so we had to make every hour count. We contacted George 's Taxis because of their excellent recommendations and could not have been more pleased. Our wonderful driver Makis (Mike) picked us up at the airport with a sign displaying our name and kept the personal service going for the next two days. He steered us to amazing restaurants, helped us negotiate museum hours, and entertained us with his stories gathered over 32 years driving in Athens. Our teen boys loved his adventurous spirit and I appreciated his safe, careful driving. Eight thumbs up --two from each of us. Thank you for making Athens so accessible and fun, Makis! You are the Best!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lduke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great tour company if you're short on time ...”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple made arrangements with George's Taxi prior to our arrival in Athens via cruise ship. Kostas was there to meet us and he promptly whisked us away. I was amazed at the itinerary and thought it would be a bit too ambitious to achieve within the time frame that we had but we managed to get to them all (at least 7 attractions). Kostas was great! Very enthusiastic and helpful, lots of knowledge and he left us with plenty of time to do the "photo op" thing at certain locations. All in all, a great day in Athens! It's definitely a great way to see all of the attractions if you're short on time. I would definitely contact George's Taxi if we return!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Prompt English-speaking Service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived at Piraeus on a cruise and wanted to make sure that we had a taxi there to take us to our hotel, so we booked with George's. We came out earlier than expected and he was waiting for us, which was a pleasant surprise. Our driver, John, had grown up in New Jersey before returning to Greece and spoke English like an American. He was friendly and helpful. When we left our hotel to go to the airport, we booked again with George's since our first experience had been so pleasant. John again arrived promptly and gave us a nice ride to the airport with plenty of commentary. Our rides were in a clean, non-smoking Mercedes. George's taxi service is a bit more expensive than the standard street taxi, but I thought the service, cleanliness, non-smoking, and English speaking were well worth paying more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeithVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Taxi also viewed

 

Been to George's Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing