We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of George's Taxi

George's Taxi
Ranked #2 of 284 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: George's taxi provides high quality service in Athens for more than 20 years.Our expert driver-guides will escort you in deluxe air-conditioned Mecedes vehicles (taxi/minibus).Whether you need a shore excursion in Athens,tours in the mainland or transfers we make sure that you have an unforgettable experience.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I had read about George's Taxi service on many travel blogs and knew we had to book their services. We first arranged to be picked up upon arrival to Greece and were met by Tony. Since we arrived from America at 9am, he was gracious enough to take us to our hotel so we could change then start our 1/2 day tour. He was very friendly, gave us great info, asked questions and also kept asking if we had any questions for him. This was going to be our only full day in Athens so I'm glad we did the tour because he took us to all the main sites giving us the history as well. I highly recommend this company!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mills19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,683
    48
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Day Argolis Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

My wife and I took George’s 5 Day Argolis Tour. Our experience was simply superb… a true 5 star adventure. From the moment we met George at our Athens hotel to the moment we part with hugs at the Athens airport five days later, it was a time of becoming friends and having a most memorable experience of ancient sites and related museums. George is so very engaging, both personally and professionally. His main concern was our enjoyment and discovery of Greece’s rich heritage. He would take us to a site and then allow us to spend as much time as we wanted exploring. In Olympia, we were getting a little tired and were going to skip the main museum, but George strongly urged us to visit the museum saying that we would regret it if we didn’t… and, was he ever correct!!! So, from then on we followed his guidance very closely. After the day of touring, we would get settled in our hotel and would have the rest of the evening to ourselves… George certainly respected our privacy. The hotels he reserved for us were within our price range and were very comfortable with great view especially Hotel Europa in Olympia and Hotel Varanos in Delphi. Ancient Greece: Corinth, Mycenae, Epidavros, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora, Thermopylae and more made their lasting impression, and we now carry these treasures with us. However, the best treasure of all is to have shared these 5 splendid days with George… his fame is well deserved. I suppose that is why there was sadness when we shared hugs at the Athens airport. Many, many “Thank You’s” George!! Leon & Kate Krier

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kalekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very professional tour company - Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

The driver we had, Tony, was terrific. He was sympathetic to my husband's disability and geared everything to our needs. He is very well informed and presented everything in a most interesting way. We felt that we saw more of Athens in one day than many people are able to see on their own in a week. We would certainly recommend this company to our friends who are in need of a knowledgable driver.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank puszek1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made Greece a Breeze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Our family recently had a 16 day vacation in Greece and we still can't stop talking about the great time we had touring Peloponesse and Delphi for 7 days with George's son, Billy. We're a family of six and needed a Van and Billy had the "mini tour bus". What we call a mini tour bus is a very comfortable, first class, 13-seater, all leather seats Mercedez Benz Van where my 5'10 son could stand with plenty of headroom to spare. Our four energetic kids had enough room to stretch out and wiggle in and out.

We went through several destinations (Athens, Nafplio, Mystras, Monemvasia, Olympia, Delphi) which Billy helped us plot the itinerary thru exchanges of emails prior to our trip. He booked our hotels in certain destinations and we were very happy with his choices.

He was never in a rush and always thought of taking us through scenic routes even if it meant longer driving hours for him. He took us to side destinations not part of our itinerary like the DIROS CAVES, MANI PENINSULA, GYTHIO and a lot more. We would stop at quaint villages for lunch or a snack or take breaks at picturesque spots which added a special dimension to our trip and made it even more memorable-

Despite booking at short notice (2 weeks prior to arrival), Billy's brand of excellent and personalized service made all the difference. We covered enough ground and his timing between destinations was perfect. He is very well educated, good mannered and fun to be with. This was very evident after we flew off to Crete and rented a van on our own. We all ended up crying "WHERE'S BILLY"!!!!

We also met his father George in Olympia and Delphi who was a very nice gentleman. My husband had some drinks with them and thoroughly enjoyed their friendship.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingbasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our recent Amazing tour of Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

My big family and I recently booked the full day Athens tour through George the famous taxi driver.We had a great tour with his son Billy.He is a wonderful young man (born in USA), spoke excellent English, well informed about Greek History, funny,a real gentleman ...a real gem! It became obvious pretty quickly that he knew his job very well, history of the Athens explained so beautifully I began to wonder if he was a historian, a tour driver or an economist (yes he has studied economics with masters degree in business).His beautiful Mercedes Van was very spacious and much better than going on a bus with a load full of people.We managed to beat all of the crowds everywhere we went. Athens is diffidently on my list to visit again. I wish we could have stayed longer. We had a great time with Billy.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AyeeKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Taxi also viewed

 

Been to George's Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing