We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens 4 Day Classical Greece & Meteora - Tourist Class”
Review of Key Tours

Key Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.46*
and up
Athens Airport Private Arrival Transfer
Ranked #48 of 289 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Day Trips, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KeyTours – expert tour company is your key to unravel the fascination of Greece, the ideal travel destination that combines a rich history and cultural variety of more than 4000 years, with a modern face of the post-Olympic infrastructure. It can offer something to everyone and suit all ages, tastes and backgrounds.We do offer you the best sightseeing in Athens, half-day excursions, full-day trips , fascinating cruises and multi-day tours in mainland Greece. Our aim is to help you experience the real Greek culture and everyday life. We also organise private sightseeing, groups and pre- and post-conference tours. Let us design for you, unique itineraries according to your needs. Let us make your stay in Athens exceptional!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Athens 4 Day Classical Greece & Meteora - Tourist Class”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first visit to Greece and after a day in Athens we embarked on our 4 day tour. Out guide, Evangelia Bandu, was excellent. She is very knowledgeable, friendly, very accommodating and helpful when some personal issues arose for some of the group. The tour was well paced and relaxing with sufficient time at the ruins to enjoy the relics. Like all tours we stopped at their "favourite restaurant" but you could easily go elsewhere for lunch. Not all the group stayed at the same hotel but our hotels were great value for money and we would stay at them again. All in all a great tour. Many thanks the Evi, she is the best

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouse046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. Evi is really one of our best guides. AS far as hotel is concerned we try to use always the best each area has to offer.

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    131
    52
    35
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good tour content but terrible coach”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked the Classical Greece 2/3 day tour departing on 14 May. It was operated on behalf of Greece and Mediteranean Travel Sydney by Key Tours Athens.
The tour was advertised as "First Class" however given the standard of the coach and meals, it was probably 4 th class. The vehicle was an older Mercedes 22 seater. The seats were spartan, more suited to maybe a 3 hour half day tour. We travelled around 12 hours on the first day and it was extremely uncomfortable, spoiling the otherwise interesting tour. Two seats ( row2) kept falling back in people in next row. The included evening meals were small with not much selection.
I would advise anyone contemplating such a trip to make inquiries to ensure they don't endure the discomfort that we did.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not that great but it was our only way to see Delphi”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Two of us did the "Delphi One Day Trip from Athens"

They pick you early and drive you around Athens picking everyone else up for an hour and a half. Then you meet at their depot and everyone has to switch buses. It was pretty confusing, especially for those who did not speak English.

You really don't get that long at Delphi.

We specifically booked this tour because I email them and asked how long we would get at Delphi and they said "45 minutes in the site, 1 hour at the museum and 45 minutes free time"

I am not sure where this free time was supposed to be. You only got about an hour at the site which is not a lot since about 40 minutes of it is a tour. Then they say you have about 20 minutes to look around on your own and then head to the museum. The tour doesn't actually bring you to all of the site, so you have 20 minutes to run up a mountain and see the view and the stadium and take photos. It was pretty stressful.

Then, like most tours, you spend most of you time driving and stopping at restaurants and stores that you don't want to be at.

What was most disappointing is that they don't bring you to "Delphi's most celebrated building: the Tholos" That is the round temple that you always see when you google Delphi. They say you see it, but you can just see it from the bus over 100 metres away. I got one okay photo of it with my 22x optical zoom camera using all of the zoom.

Ideally, Delphi isn't the best place to do a day tour but I imagine all the tours are exactly the same. The tour guide was pretty good and everything was great except for the time limitations and not going to the Tholos temple.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I would like to answer to some misunderstanding of yours. The free pick up service starts from 07:30 and ends 08:30. This is a free service and all our customers can meet our buses at our offices where all tours stars at 08:30. Depending the distance of your hotel from our offices the pick up service may last maximum one hour.
Thank you for mentioning the correct time visiting the site. Our guide show you during the first 45 minutes , the major monuments like Athenian treasure and temple of Apollo as well as the ancient theater and not only. At the archaeological site someone has so many thinks to see so we have to choose those of really importance. You choose to visit at your free time 20 minute the tallest part of the site the stadium. Not all travelers are capable to climb so high up to the hill. then you visit the museum for one hour. You have to calculate at the time sent to you (45min free time) the stop to buy tickets as well as the time given between site and museum to use the rest room outside the museum. So i believe the total stay of the site is always around 2 hours and 30 minutes.
Furthermore I believe you should read our description more carefully since we mention the coffee break stop and lunch break stop during the day. I have to add that in our description we never mentioned a visit at tholos.
Maybe it is a well known monument based to internet photos and reviews but it does not mean that it is the same importance with that monuments our experience professional guides choose to present to you.

In an organised tour we have to follow and meet the needs and interest of people with different culture and philosophy. I understand that you may needed more time to explore in more depth the magnificent site of Delphi. For people like you we are offering two other options, PRIVATE TOURS TO DELPHI and TWO DAY TRIP to DELPHI

Thank you for your very nice comments about our guide. All the tours are not the same, the only common is that you are visiting in a day trip DELPHI site and museum. Exceptional guides, luxury buses, stops at restaurants with local flavors and even the 2.5 hours stop at the site are inclusions that only few companies with awarded history like ours can offer

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“2 Day Trip to Delphi & Meteora”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Key Tours was great at helping me get to the tour office when I arrived at the airport that morning (although this did cost extra), which I really appreciated. My first tour guide to Delphi was great and the site is well worth the drive! We then got back on the bus to drive to Meteroa and my new guide was quite difficult to understand. He was speaking English, French and Italian (maybe one other, I'm not sure) and it sounded as if it was all in one sentence, which made it really hard to understand. This trip is a great value for your money and the places are worth seeing, but expect to spend a lot of time on the bus and bring your own food if you're on a budget! All of the places that the bus stops at are extremely expensive since they are expecting tour buses. Over all, great tour and I'm glad I did it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tayler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for your kind words for our guides and we are very happy to know that you overall enjoy our tour and you are very glad you did it !

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable one-day tour of Delphi”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I did the Key Tours one-day tour of Delphi from Athens. While it was a long day on a motor coach (about 3 hours one way from Athens) it was worth it to see Temple of Apollo and other parts of Delphi. The guide was very knowledgable and did a nice job working with a very mixed group (different languages and nationalities). I'd recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't mind being part of a large group. The lunch that was included was actually pretty good (but did not include drinks).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank derbyking98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments and for recommended our tour. Moreover i would like to thank you for your kind words for our guide, we always try to use the best professionals and our associate restaurants.

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Tours also viewed

 

Been to Key Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing