We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Day Trip to Delphi & Meteora”
Review of Key Tours

Key Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.69*
and up
Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens
Ranked #47 of 290 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Day Trips, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KeyTours – expert tour company is your key to unravel the fascination of Greece, the ideal travel destination that combines a rich history and cultural variety of more than 4000 years, with a modern face of the post-Olympic infrastructure. It can offer something to everyone and suit all ages, tastes and backgrounds.We do offer you the best sightseeing in Athens, half-day excursions, full-day trips , fascinating cruises and multi-day tours in mainland Greece. Our aim is to help you experience the real Greek culture and everyday life. We also organise private sightseeing, groups and pre- and post-conference tours. Let us design for you, unique itineraries according to your needs. Let us make your stay in Athens exceptional!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“2 Day Trip to Delphi & Meteora”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Key Tours was great at helping me get to the tour office when I arrived at the airport that morning (although this did cost extra), which I really appreciated. My first tour guide to Delphi was great and the site is well worth the drive! We then got back on the bus to drive to Meteroa and my new guide was quite difficult to understand. He was speaking English, French and Italian (maybe one other, I'm not sure) and it sounded as if it was all in one sentence, which made it really hard to understand. This trip is a great value for your money and the places are worth seeing, but expect to spend a lot of time on the bus and bring your own food if you're on a budget! All of the places that the bus stops at are extremely expensive since they are expecting tour buses. Over all, great tour and I'm glad I did it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tayler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for your kind words for our guides and we are very happy to know that you overall enjoy our tour and you are very glad you did it !

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    125
    50
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable one-day tour of Delphi”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I did the Key Tours one-day tour of Delphi from Athens. While it was a long day on a motor coach (about 3 hours one way from Athens) it was worth it to see Temple of Apollo and other parts of Delphi. The guide was very knowledgable and did a nice job working with a very mixed group (different languages and nationalities). I'd recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't mind being part of a large group. The lunch that was included was actually pretty good (but did not include drinks).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank derbyking98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments and for recommended our tour. Moreover i would like to thank you for your kind words for our guide, we always try to use the best professionals and our associate restaurants.

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I loved this one day cruise, that covered the beautiful islands of Poros, Hydra and Aegina.The people on board, were warm, the day was perfect. Hydra is a small little island that can be covered on foot. You have nice cafes and small little souvenir shops in the island. In Aegina they also offered an optional land tour of one and half hours, which included a visit to the temple of Aphaia and Monastery of St Niktarios. Pistachio farms on the way were a sight to look out for! The traditional greek entertainment on board was also fantastic! Overall, a highly organized tour which i would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kritimaroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delphi full day tour - great day out”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked a day trip to Delphi and we were collected from our hotel to be taken to a meeting point to board our coach, which was clean and comfortable. Our lady guide was excellent and very knowledgeable, not only about Delphi but also the countryside we travelled through to reach the site. This made the journey very enjoyable and interesting. Delphi was amazing and the scenery in the surrounding area is fantastic, we were so glad that we decided to make this visit. We did not include the lunch in our booking, but instead spent the time in the Delphi village where there are nice restaurants in the main street with spectular views to the coast. From our experience, we would highly recemmond Key Tours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting this review. We always try our best to make sure that our guests stay happy with our service and the tours offered. We are very happy to know that you enjoy day tour to Delphi from Athens. Thank you for your kind words about our guide, and for recommended our tours

We thank you once again for your time and effort for sharing this information with us and remain

Best regards
Dimitris Bistolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Biggest mismanagement of time by a tour group ever!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am very dissatisfied with Key Tours. To begin with, they used two different transport companies to carry us between our hotels. Sometimes they used buses and other times personal escort taxis. It was a mix of good and bad drivers, some flat out lying about having a sign and waiting for us. Some of our drivers were late and some arrived an hour early, making us wait at the next stop for an hour or two. The communication between the drivers and Key Tours was atrocious. Key Tours expects the customers to call them if anything is wrong. Why should we pay for international charges to ask where our driver is when we already paid to have one there at a certain time?! An example of this miscommunication was on our one day-island day cruise to Hydra, Porros, and Aegina. The driver was 45 min EARLIER than the pre-set time and just expected us to be ready to go right when he got there. He gave us our ferry tickets for the latter part of our trip when he dropped us off at the port. However, after the day cruise, there wasn't anyone there to pick us up. We had to pay for a taxi back to our hotel. When I contacted Key Tours about reimbursing us, they said they wouldn't. When I inquired as to why not, they responded by saying there was a bus waiting for us there and we should have gotten on it. I informed them that we hadn't received any information in our packet or from our driver that dropped us off about the bus. This is another example of the headache caused by the total lack of communication between Key Tours and the transport companies.

Another cause for concern was the whole ordeal of Key Tours not informing the customer of the exact hotels they will be staying at during the four-day Ancient Greece tour. This made it very difficult to book hostels and hotels for the nights in between our multiple tours that we had booked through Key Tours. The full-day Athens tour was the biggest waste of money I have ever seen. The tour guide, Anastasia, was barely audible and she took us to only the "highlights" of the acropolis museum. The ticket for the acropolis gets you into five other places for four days. However, we didn't go to any of them. Key Tours should have said on their site that the ticket gets you into the other places, and if they didn't have it on the site they should have emailed us and told us about it to make sure we were getting our money's worth. What a complete waste of money and time! Not to mention the tour bus picked us up 45 minutes late, and the tour was a drive-by-everything tour, and just look out the bus window! At the end of the day they bused us to Cape Sounio, but it took an hour to get there and then we had an hour to stay there. It was a very small site and our whole tour group spent 20 minutes at the site and the other 40 at the gift shop and restaurant to kill time. If they had managed their time better we could have had an easy 20 to 30 minutes to see the temple of Zeus. Why was it anywhere near the price they charged?!

A couple of other things to note: the air conditioning didn't work well on the bus for the four-day tour and some of our hotels were sub-par-down to the standards of camping. The Delphi Palace was a prime example. When we first arrived we were informed there would be no electricity. After an hour, they got it up and running again. This was the first of many problems. The next morning we didn't receive our preset wakeup call and were pleasantly surprised to wake up late to no running water, due to a pump malfunction. We had an air conditioner, but were unable to use it. The control system for it was mounted on the wall, but the face plate was falling off the control system and didn't have any adjustment knobs. The hotel was crawling with grasshoppers and other bugs. The only saving grace of this hotel was its domed swimming pools. I would never stay here again, and feel that we should have been compensated, or fully reimbursed, for their errors.

The only saving grace for Key Tours was the four-day Ancient Greece tour guide, Anna. She had everything ready to go every day and was always keeping us informed about everything we needed to know. Anna had to break our tour group into two groups. She would translate for the English speaking group and then immediately translate for the smaller group of anti-social Italians in our group. The smaller Italian group constantly asked for breaks and made the tour late to almost every single activity and hotel. One night we were so late the hotel pool was closed and we almost missed our dinner at the hotel. She managed the tension between the two groups perfectly, all the while still managing to perform her tour guide duties flawlessly. I cannot stress enough how calm she was during all of this and how helpful she was. This just shows how much of a total professional Anna was to our group. I considered asking for a refund for some the hotels and for some of our drivers, but I wouldn't have traded Anna for the whole trip. If you get a tour through Key Tours, ask for Anna. She was one of, if not the best, tour guide I have ever had in my ten years of travel to over thirteen different countries.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vik12, General Manager at Key Tours, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for the extensive reviews and for taking so many tours with us, but I have to mention that you have mixed up so many thinks and for sure you have not read while booking through your online agent all details and program of our tours. So I would like to make it clear for you, since I believe your rating is unfair judging what you mentioned.

1) All our buses have a GPS system locator and recorder and based to our electronic files the bus arrived on time for the pick up. Most probable you mixed up the pick up time with the time of boat departure from the port which is 45 min later

2) In the morning cruise escort gave you a small paper written the number of the bus which would returned you back in your hotel in the afternoon. The buses were there and more than 400 people returned back safe to their hotels. I cannot figure out why you cannot find it.

3) For one day Athens tour it is clearly stated in our itinerary and in the description of the site which you buy all tours the archaeological sites that we are visited, and those are: ACROPOLIS, ACROPOLIS MUSEUM, and TEMPLE of POSEIDON. Furthermore it is clear that during our city tour of Athens we are passing by some major attractions of the city such Parliament and University. The entrance ticket that we bought for you is a combine ticket of 5 different site and temples. You need at least 3 days to visit all of them. our guide was kind enough to give you that information and let you know that you may visit during your free time other interested places with the same ticket. So again we believe you have not read correct the description and you misjudged us

4) AS far as the hotel is concerned I am waiting hotels owners answer to you review. but the main issue is why you have not inform Anna your guide, so highly recommend from you, about your issues. She could do her best to help you, as you recognize that she is one of the best guides you ever met.


At last I would like to thank for the great comment about Anna, but if you wanted to post an accurate comment you should mention also the quality of the other 4 hotels (MYKONOS, SANTORINI, OLYMPIA, KALAMBAKA) you stay with us, the impression you had from the sites visited and not only mentioned that you should have been compensated, or fully reimbursed. Even if you wanted a refund you should inform the online travel agent from whom you booked the tours.

Thank you again for your time writing those comments and I would like to apologize if the program and itineraries of the 4 tours you bought form your agent was not clear . Nevertheless you had our mail and our contact given by your agent from the first moment and if you have any questions you could contact us

Best regards
Dimitris BistoLas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Tours also viewed

 

Been to Key Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing