We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant environment”
Review of Diogenes

Diogenes
Ranked #1,229 of 3,971 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant environment”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We liked the setting here so much that we returned for a second visit during our short visit to Athens -- a rare thing for us since we usually tend to sample a variety of places. No complaints about the food and service either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    196
    122
    88
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location under the trees in the square at The Plaka. Good selection of well prepared, sensibly priced food and wine. Enjoyed the visit and would return......but be patient, service is very slow.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robtoon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monemvasia, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been coming to Diogenes for nine years, and I am never disappointed. Come for a cold draft beer or a coffee and sit under the shade of the willows and vines that stretch over the entire terrace, which faces out into the periphery of Athens' Plaka. Just in front of Diogenes is the famous Lysikrates Monument, which commemorates the producer of a winning entry in a theatrical competition, which was a regular element in the Festival sacred to the god Dionysus. The restaurant is divided between the cafe/bar and the full-sevice restaurant. The food is delicious, mostly traditional Greek food, and the prices reasonable. I make a point of going here every time I am in Athens.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Diogenes has a beautiful terrace setting, the food is typical Greek fare but unfortunately nearly everything we ate was poor to awful. This was the worst meal we had In Athens, give it a miss

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Return Visit!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Athens in two years. Our first experience at Diogenes was excellent and we kept talking about a return trip. We love the Plaka area and, although it's at the base of the Acropolis with lots of tourists (as are we), the food is authentic and delicious. On our first visit, I had the best grilled sausage - 2nd visit it was no longer on the menu. I asked the waiter and they made some for us! Hopefully they won't be upset by my writing this but it's that good! Love the house wine from Santorini in the copper canteen and greek meatballs, among other dishes. Wonderful tree-covered outdoor setting - very attractive and great prices. We'll be back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieH406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diogenes also viewed

 

Been to Diogenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing