We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What More Could You Want?”

Ta Bakaliarakia tou Damigou
Ranked #319 of 3,751 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What More Could You Want?”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having read a poor recent review I could not understand how anyone could complain about this place. It was quiet when we ate there, (although all places were quiet at this time of year), and we had first-rate personal, friendly service from the owner. Some others saw the decor as dated whilst I saw it as fitting, genuinely suited to the location and history of the venue. Our fish was excellent. The wine, which was delicious, was from their own family vineyard!! (How often is that found in Athens?) The after-dinner 'cognac' was large, tasty and cheap! The coffee was perfect. I cannot rate this restaurant highly enough. It deserves a much higher position in the ratings. I considered it to be the best of its type in Athens.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    107
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really wanted to like this place, but it didn't live up to its reputation on our visit. It was clean and attractive, service was fine, and it was nice to be in a basement away from street-pests. My partner's squid was tasty, but my fried battered cod wasn't well cooked, and less good than we would get from our local fish-and-chips shop!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Food,Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was in this restaurant in my honey moon, we liked it so much that we have been there 3 times already! It might be difficult to spot since it's an underground tavern, just a small door can be seen from the street. Even though there are many other very similar taverns in the same region, don't be mistaken - this is the best one by far!
The family has run this restaurant for many years. Service is very firendly!
The jewels of this restaurant are the atmosphere and the food!
A nice mix of people come to dinner evey night, some tourist couples mixed with local people - groups of friends and families...a bit of everything! Sometimes there is live music, very tasty!
The food is absolutely fantastic! Fresh selection of cheeses and seafood. I recommend the sea bass. The feta cheese appetizer is flawless. The wines are also very nice!
At the end, they also serve a small glass of plum wine as courtesy for all costumers. It's delicious! The family makes it themselves, I brought home 2 liters of it.
You can see the cook working through a glass window.
Prices are very good!

Really abosultely love this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Older than i am”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A historical place for the Athenians. Very tastful and cheap food.It operates for many many years.We live in the center of Athens and we have visit it many times in the past.It has no view because it is underground. Many taverns were undergroung in the old times in Athens

Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old fashion greek tavern”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Old fashion greek tavern (since 1864, they say), it's specialilty dish is well-known and famous: deep fried cod fish.

This taverna is run by the Damigos family and situated in the basement of number 41 Kidathineon Street, and maintains the same folkloric style since it first opened. For over a hundred and forty years it has served fried cod fish imported from Norway, and aromatic wine from Mesogeia. It's trade mark is an authentic ancient column in the middle of the main hall, which brings admiration from the customers.

The menu offers a huge variety of additional dishes giving plenty of choice for discerning customers.

The totally refurbished establishment has a new air-conditioning system, but continues the traditional excellent quality of food and wine, guaranteed to make an enjoyable and unforgettable outing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GabrieleRusconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Bakaliarakia tou Damigou also viewed

 

Been to Ta Bakaliarakia tou Damigou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing