We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with added bling!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Diamond Homtel
Ranked #59 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Diamond Hotel is well-designed with an eye for a little indulgent opulence. Obviously themed around diamonds, much of the hotel is white and sparkles -- even the grouting in the shower has glitter! My room was beautiful and clean and all white, the shower was hi-tech and the bathroom was of a decent size. The breakfast buffet was good and featured a wide variety of Greek and European foods. The bell boy and cleaner were really friendly and happy to help, but the receptionist on the first day was a little rude. On the whole, a very good experience and I would go again.

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitedragonCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 656 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at the Diamond Hotel for two nights early in May this year, before meeting with a group, where I was booked into accommodation at the Titania Hotel. ( see that review )
I caught the Metro from Athens Airport, got off at Syntagma Square, and after a 2 to 3 minutes walk (200 metres?) found the Hotel, which was easy to find despite reviews to contrary. ( The entrance is on Voulis St, not Mitropoleos St.) On arrival at about 4pm, was met by friendly young man at the entrance who carried my bag up the 5 or 6 steps to reception. The receptionist, another young Greek man, gave me a warm friendly welcome, and was really most helpful with any request I made during my stay. My room was a deluxe single on the 8th floor, and overlooking the street as requested, with a small balcony. Not a huge room, but adequate for a single, with very modern furnishings (Décor sort of hybrid Boudoir? ) and very comfortable bed. Bathroom also very modern, especially the hi-tech shower, and all spotlessly clean. Free wifi throughout hotel a real plus, which is something that some of the big hotels should take notice of. I notice some reviews complain that it’s noisy, yet I had a room overlooking Voulis Street, and found it to be very quiet, especially considering it’s city centre location.
Self-serve breakfast, on top floor, was very good by Greek (Athens) standards, and each morning I made myself a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. Also available was usual continental fare, as well as bacon, scrambled eggs, beans, potatoes etc, as well as boiled eggs. I found the seating arrangements and decor in breakfast room a bit weird, with clear plastic chairs and tables, as well as some barstool/tables, and if you get a seat near the windows, the blinds don’t block out the morning sun, so will be very warm (hot) in summer I should imagine.
I have to say that all the staff I came into contact with at the Diamond were very friendly and helpful, which is not always the case in Athens Hotels, and for 110 euros a night I considered good value. As others have stated, the location of this hotel is ideally situated right in the centre of Athens, and easy walking distance to all the major sites and tourist attractions, restaurants, shops etc.. I would certainly stay there again, (which is not something I could say about the Titania Hotel, where, unfortunately, I had to move to next ! See that review)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vendepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A shiny gem in the heart of Athens. Location was great as mentioned by other fellow travellers in trip advisor.
Stylish and clean rooms with great facilities such as the jacuzzi in a spacious tub.
Fantastic service from the hotel staff. We were upgraded to the penthouse suite, maybe cos our stay was in mid may but nevertheless we really appreciate this kind gesture. It made our romantic dream trip even more beautiful!
Another great example of great service, when we had our coffee craving at night and requested for hot water, it was sent up in a jiff.. with cookies! Thanks dude! What a lovely and endearing surprise =)
Breakfast was good too especially the freshly made tropical fruit juice!
Big thanks to Athens Diamond Hotel ..which in fact is called Athens Homtel. Indeed, we felt like home on a holiday =)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priscelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in the new section of the hotel, just across the street from the main building. The newly decorated rooms have just opened and they are amazing....totally OTT white with gold highlights. Bathroom wasn't huge, but the shower was fairly state of the art with multiple jets. A lot of care has gone into the design and if you're looking for a boutique hotel with a great, central location, then this is your place. The staff were all really helpful, polite & pleasant. Breakfast was excellent. Good choices (hot & cold), freshly squeezed orange juice & nice coffee. Free wi-fi.
Only slight hesitation was the light outside the window that the blinds/curtains & decorative textiles didn't block out. The laminate floor in the corridor was a bit noisy as was the traffic outside. But you are in a city centre, only 2 minutes from Syntagma Square!
Would definitely stay there again though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We booked this hotel for a stay in September 2010 when there were only architects impressions on their website - and were anxious about the rooms after having had bad experiences in other central Athens hotels. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel when we arrived.
Everything was clean, polished and sparkling.

The hotel is very central - and on the good side of central Athens. Close to shopping streets, Plaka markets, Acropolis and Syntagma Square.

The X95 bus is 2 minutes walk away and is the best way to and from the airport.
The only minor issue was the limited seating in the breakfast area on the roof. If you time it wrong you'll be waiting for a table.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guyh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We have just come back from the Athens Diamond Hotel. We stayed in the new building, in a completely white room – an interesting experience! The hotel is nice. We paid EUR 115 per night for a double room B&B, it was very clean and totally white, with a comfortable bed and nice pillows. If you do not mind quite a compact room and a small bathroom, this is the place to stay. The location is unbeatable, right off the Ermou street, which is the biggest shopping street in Athens. 2 mins walk from Syntagma Square, where X95 bus to the airport stops. The Hotel is close to the main sightseeings (we always walked), and the Kolonaki area is only 10-12 mins walk away – we liked walking there, and it is an area for a nice shopping for those who do not like Zara and similar shops. Do not waste your time on the Ermou street, go to Kolonaki.
We enjoyed the breakfast at the Hotel, which included fresh juices. Note a self service.
I would specifically mention the place Brettos. It is actually a Bar & Taverna, which are located on the Kidathineon street (a narrow shopping street in the Acropolis area, opposite to Hadrian’s Arch). Their homemade liquors is smth to remember! Nice place to stop by for a wine tasting and buying smth to take back home. One more place to visit is La Pasteria, an Italian place in Kolonaki area. Their host Anastasios is a great person, delivering a great service, and their Caesar’s salad is worth a visit – it is one of the best we ever tried.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nika_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel has very comfortable beds. It looks glamorous in the photos but is not as plush in reality. Dimitri on reception was very friendly and helpful. His nearby restaurant recommendation was great. On our first stay the shower was tiny. No room to move. On our second stay we had a much bigger shower. Some of the fittings are not finished in the rooms which takes away from the look of the place. However the beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#67 of 282 in Athens
994 reviews
Syntagma
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#17 of 282 in Athens
1,809 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#36 of 282 in Athens
1,004 reviews
Syntagma
InnAthens
InnAthens
#3 of 282 in Athens
326 reviews
Plaka
Emporikon Athens Hotel
Emporikon Athens Hotel
#71 of 282 in Athens
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Homtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Homtel

Address: 24 Voulis | Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $86 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Athens Diamond Homtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATHENS DIAMOND HOMTEL is located in Athens city center that opened its doors in May 2010. It aims to attract people who appreciate quality and provide high standards for the demanding guest. The Athens Diamond hoMtel consists of 20 luxurious suites and rooms with unique character, elegantly decorated, for guests who seek stylish and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Diamond Homtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing