We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad area”
Review of Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chic Hotel
Ranked #33 of 55 Athens B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Athens. The Hotel is neat and modern on the inside and the staff are relatively friendly. The rooms are a bit small but acceptable. It is close to Omonia station. The breakfast is very basic boiled eggs, ham, cheese and pastries.
What they do not tell you is that the area is very shady with quite a few characters around who are not shy to do their drugs right there in front of you. Not a nice scene for 2 female travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 334 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice for people travelling on a budget. It has a lovely breakfast, a very nice and helpful staff, and clean, spacious rooms. It is very close to a subway station as well. I was pleased with my experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for two nights late may, and found it decent. The area was certainly not the greatest, as there were some riff-raffs outside the hotel, with one couple even busy doing drugs! The inside of the hotel is neat, with the host very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, although limited, was good.its quite close to omonia square, with access to transport readily available. Its about 10 min walk to the main restaurant square, but was hardly a chore.
Would recommend, purely based on the look and cleanliness of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank El-Saato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel at June 2013, for a couple of nights. The room was at the entresol, very small with only a small window nearly to the floor!!!! Al thought it was clean enough just for a nap.
The breakfast was so poor, that i thought at the beginning that i wasn't at the right place. The place that is located is very good for someone who want's to explore city of Athens, but he can do it until 17:00. And i'm saying this because after 17:00 is too dangerous to walk alone around Omonoi Square.

Room Tip: I don't know what to say, because my room looks like a mini prison!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanDimitrakopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Chic for 3 days and found it to be ideal for getting around town. You are a 3-4 minute walk to Omonia Square and the subway, and a 10-15 minute walk to Monastiraki and the Plaka, and 15 minutes to the Acropolis. It can be tricky to find, but most hotels in Athens are tricky to find - the streets can be quite confusing!! The service was great, breakfast was good and the rooms were super clean. Small spaces, but super functional and modern. If you're coming to Athens to do some broad exploring, this is a GREAT place to do it from.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Chic Hotel may not be the easiest place to find- but when you find it you will love it. The rooms are small but cozy. The space was very clean and had everything we needed. We also found the front desk staff to be friendly and very helpful. My husband and I went exploring everyday and they always pointed us in the right direction and gave us ideas of what to see. The location is really what made the hotel so great for me. It is right at the train and only a 1-2 stops from everything. I strongly suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaStevetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having spent 2 separate nights at the Chic Hotel, in 2 different rooms, it's evident to see that this CLEARLY not a 4 star hotel. It's one of those classic situations in Europe where a hotel gets 4 stars for having a lift - rather than the quality of the rooms, breakfast etc!

Don't get me wrong, on the whole it was fairly clean and the staff were helpful, but having a tacky light panel above the bed - with a naff picture of some high heels that lights up by flicking a switch - plus two LED light box things, that change to various colours on rotation on the wall certainly isn't what you expect from a 4 star. It's also not 'Hi Tech' as they call themselves - perhaps having WiFi classes as high tech in Athens?!

The area surrounding the hotel is also really rough (people dealing & shooting heroin just outside) - so make sure you avoid if you're of a nervous disposition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Tiare Hotel
Athens Tiare Hotel
#25 of 282 in Athens
281 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,421 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#55 of 282 in Athens
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel
#114 of 282 in Athens
861 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
786 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic Hotel

Address: Pireos 25 | Omonoia, Athens 10522, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: $64 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic is the new boutique hotel of Athens, accommodated in a classical 19th century building, combining the atmosphere of the period with the technology of the 21st century. The building has been renovated completely and turned into a modern hotel unit that stands on a very privileged spot in Pireos Street.This beautiful boutique hotel located in the center of Athens allocates rooms that offer a perfect companion of functionality, comfort and modern design characteristics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing